We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel was clean, bright, modern. Not far from centre of town, easy walk to all the major sites. We had problems with the first room we were given (no heating), so went to another one. The breakfast was adequate, basic with cold cuts. A request for a different pillow was ignored, so be prepared for that. The lobby does get crowded but we waited downstairs for our bus and it wasn't too bad. The night we arrived the town was still thawing from a snow they'd had and it was very treacherous to get to a restaurant. Construction at the site next door was still ongoing when we left.

Room Tip: You might inquire about the construction next door and see if there is a room farther away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    762
    283
    37
    14
See reviews for
198
830
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd trip to Iceland in 18 months and we chose to retirn to this hotel. Compared to some the rooms are quite spacious, heating is excellent and we really like the location. Situated about 200 metres from the bottom end of the main shopping street is has a Thai eating house (Yummi Yummi?) 100 metres away and is just 20 minute stroll to the bottom of town, 10 minutes from waterside etc. A good small supermarket is also nearby.
For places to eat cheap see seperate reviews on Noodle Station etc.
Breakfast is standard but fresh cold buffet which although 7-10 when we were leaving early staff put it out early (6.15) for us.
Staff were knowledgable and helpful with trips, transfers etc and Yule lads shoes outside rooms for Christmas a nice touch. Our 2nd Christmas here. Would no doubt return here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

In a place like Reykjavik where pretty much everything is expensive most people need to economise somewhere and we happily did this with our choice of hotel.

The Hotel Klettur is a good mid range hotel, just a little way off the main shopping/tourist in Reykjavik. Everything is clean and the hotel receptionists were reasonably efficient, although two separate requests for more pillows in our room were seemingly ignored.

Breakfast is of the standard cold buffet type and is served between 7-10am which is rather handy, although with building work taking place from around 8am during the week it's unlikely that you would be able to sleep in at the moment anyway.

We paid extra for a superior room on the fifth floor and we were rewarded with a great view of the sea. This gave us more than adequate space and also a kettle for those that are interested.

The hotel also played along with the Icelandic Folk Story of the 'Yule Lads' who at this time of year either leave a gift or a potato in the shoes of children who leave their shoes outside the door. We duly received chocolates and Satsuma's - a nice touch!

Overall, a fair choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend for the Northern Lights and Whale Watching package (both of which we didn't see anything) in mid December.

It has stylish, minimal and modern decor throughout the hotel - nothing is dated or tired. The reception area is quite small and does get rather claustrophobic when a large group of people are checking in.
Our room was spacious and clean. Free shampoo, conditioner and soap was available but unfortunately no kettle which we really missed after the cold days trekking outside.

Comfy and thick bedding, never cold inside (in fact, sometimes it was just like being on holiday in a more southern country because it became stiflingly warm!)

You get a good selection of the main British TV channels, but no free Wifi to connect to.

A fantastic, hot, powerful shower which didn't smell of sulphur like we anticipated. After a long day of hiking about in the wind, this was greatly looked forward to.

The included breakfast was basic. Toast, cold tomatoes and boiled eggs, cheese and ham slices, a selection of cereals and jams. A help yourself style buffet served 7-10am.

At the reception, all of the staff speak brilliant English. On the first and last night, our key card didn't open the door and a polite and friendly technician was sent out. She couldn't fix it so we were offered either a room change (which we declined as we were already unpacked) or to have the housekeeping key, which was very kind.

Views of snow-capped mountains and brisk blue sea are spoilt somewhat by the surrounding construction work. The echoing sounds of drilling and hammering began at 8am one morning - not a very pleasant alarm clock.

Also, with regards to noise, the hotel room walls appeared to be very thin. We could hear the conversations of our neighbours, hallway doors slamming and even, quite imposingly, the man urinating in his toilet!

It is a very short distance to the main centre road, bustling with shops selling gifts, clothes, music, sweets and a Christmas market at the end. Cafes, bars and restaurants saturate the area and so there is no shortage of places to eat. We definitely Vegamot restaurant. However, EVERYTHING is expensive over here so keep that in mind. A beer or cocktail can easily work out at £10!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Icelandair northern lights package for four nights. It was one of the cheaper options available but it was great for its purpose as a base for various tours and sightseeing.

The staff are very friendly, can book you on tours and recommend restaurants etc. The hotel was very clean, and the beds comfy. Breakfast was continental style with cereal, breads, spreads, fruit, meats, cheese. There was always somewhere to sit and food was plentiful even just before the end of breakfast. We were able to get breakfast at 5am too, before our early flight.

The only negative is the noise. I am quite a heavy sleeper but the building work next door is very noisy and woke me up from sleep between 8-8.15am every morning. Its fine if your going on a tour that day but iafter getting back from the Northern Lights tour at 1.15am one night it was slightly irritating. The crane of the building works actually goes over the top of the hotel! Not the hotels fault though.

All in all it was a pleasant stay and served as a good base, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it especially when the building work has finished.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVA26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed as a couple for nights in December 2013 and had no complaints.
The hotel is situated less than five minutes walk from the main shopping street which leads straight to the downtown area.
The receptionists were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, 10 out of ten.
Breakfast was continental with a selection of cereals with milk or yogurt, various breads, rolls and croissants, meats and cheeses, fruits and veg, fruit juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. We never had trouble finding a seat in the dining room although it was fairly busy.
The room, although basic had plenty storage space, an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. There were lots of UK stations on the TV. The twin beds were comfortable but not very wide, The duvets were excellent and toasty. The shower was great with power and lots of hot water.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dondeeflugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in October. We had absolutely no issues. The room was larger than I expected. We had no issues with the building works next door. On our last morning the reception staff volunteered to have breakfast available early so that we could have it before getting picked up for our early morning flight. Location is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants and the tour companies pick up from it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvH0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
913 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
641 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,336 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing