We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with good access to main shopping area and sea but the Lights were out!”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent with good access to main shopping area and sea but the Lights were out!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just returned from Reykjavik on a 3 night Icelandair package including flight ( very good), hotel and Northern Lights trip. Unfortunately, the Lights were out on our chosen night and the offered next day trip was cancelled due to non appearance of Lights! Very hit and miss. The hotel was excellent - close, easy walking to town and the sea. The staff were lovely, very friendly and extremely helpful. Very clean and functional hotel; breakfast was very good - typical Scandanavian with fruit, ham, cheese etc. Only one real observation ( not a criticism) - the bar was open from 4pm to 10 pm - too early if out for trip, sightseeing - too early if coming back in evening and want late drink. How about 5pm to 11/12pm? We want to return to Iceland and would certainly stay at Klettur - if not full as very busy/popular. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Corner room 206 was excellent. Large room with good bathroom with excellent walk in shower. On same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPB5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    762
    283
    37
    14
See reviews for
198
830
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have just stayed at Hotel Klettur for 3 nights as part of an Icelandair offer that included flights, accomodation and a free Northern Lights tour.

The hotel is located just outside the main area of Reykjavik - where the majority of shops, bars and restaurants are - but is only a 10-15 minute walk away from this area. There is a supermarket, bus station and a couple of take-aways nearer if you need them.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern, with a minimalistic style. Staff are all friendly and answered any questions we had about places to go and estimated journey times by car etc. We were also able to purchase a beer after hours when we asked which was much appreciated.

The rooms are spacious and basic, but very clean and modern. My only complaint would be that the double bed was infact two singles pushed together, which isn't too bad, but duvets are also 2 x single duvets rather than one larger double duvet. Oh and as others have mentioned, the towels are very small! Other than that, everything else was spot on.

Breakfast is a basic continental style which includes cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, bread and pastries as well as coffee and juice as you'd expert - again nothing exciting, but enough to keep you fuelled for the day.

Whilst in Iceland we also hired a car so that we could make the most of our time, and in my opinion if you're a confident driver, this is well worth doing. We hired a 6/7 seater Nissan Patrol from Ice Rental 4x4 which cost just over £400 for the weekend. But when you consider the cost of airport transfers and excursions, this was a much cheaper option for our party of 6.
If you are looking to hire a car, I can highly recommend Ice Rental 4x4 - the service was fantastic and we were given a Sat Nav, snow tyres and a roof rack free of charge - the majority of other hire comapnies charge for these extras. The car itself was also of a very high quality and was perfect for the snowy weather we encountered. It's also worth noting that Hotel Klettur has a large free car park that you can use, which made life easier!

The Northern Lights tour was unsuccesful, we went out with the arranged excursion, but didn't see anything - the second night we went looking ourselves as the sky was perfectly clear - but again, nothing - The Northern Lights seem to do as they wish, so don't be disappointed if you don't see them - Iceland has plenty more to offer than just the lights.

If you do hire a car, I would ask where the best places to see the lights are rather than go on the excursions - we were stuck on a bus for the most part, and it was a bit of chore to be honest - much better to do your own thing if you can.

During our weekend we drove the Golden Circle including stops at the Geysirs, Gulfoss waterfall and various other photo stops, drove to Vik via the 1 ring road and saw beautiful mountains and waterfalls and finally visited the Blue Lagoon at 7:30pm - in my opinion this is a great time to visit, there was hardly anybody else there and we were bathing under a beautiful clear moon lit sky - if the Northern Lights had made an appearance at that moment, it would've been beyond perfect! But alas, they didn't - The Blue Lagoon closes around 9pm, so we had to be out of the water by 8:30pm, but for us it was enough.

Anyway, back to the Hotel - all in all, Hotel Klettur was perfect for our needs and I would stay here again. Staff are all helpful and you can get out and about easily enough to most destiantions from here.

As ever, I'm happy to offer any advice or answer any questions you may have about Hotel Klettur or Iceland itself.

It's an amazing country, and I will be going back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkymonkeyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel Klettur had the honor of being my first Icelandic hotel experience, and here are my impressions: Overall it was modern, minimalist, and aesthetically appealing. Lobby area is tight if you have several guests trying to check in/out, but they do have a large, locked closet to keep store your luggage if you arrive too early. The elevator is quick.

Standard rooms are smaller than in the USA, but we weren't expecting anything beyond a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Our king-sized bed was actually 2 beds pushed together, and we each had our own twin-sized comforter. No sheets besides the fitted sheet, which we found to be typical at all the other 4 Icelandic hotels. My only complaint is that the comforter's duvet was not breathable- I awoke both mornings drenched in sweat even though the room temperature was normal. Bare, clean floor; the bonus is that it's heated in the bathroom, which has a glass shower with no curtain.

Reception staff is knowledgeable, but they seemed a bit harried and impatient every time we spoke with them. Breakfast in the morning offers a variety of choices that are typical at most of the others, and the large, sleek dining room is on the bottom floor. Most breakfasters bussed themselves.

The location is convenient for the able-bodied. A quick walk will get you to the main shopping district, but because of the construction next door, you might walk in the street for a little section to get from one place to another.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited Iceland in November with my best friend. We had a standard room but had a view of the sea/mountains. Unfortunately, there are some building works taking place outside which did start early on the Saturday and Monday mornings that we were there.

Room itself was a twin, incredibly large with a fridge, safe and wardrobe. Room met our needs nicely, even the bathroom was huge! No tea or coffee facilities in the room though.

Breakfast is a little simple, not a huge amount of choice. For anyone staying longer than a weekend it may get a little tiresome.

The hotel is a few streets away from the town centre, very clean, spacious and on the tourist trip pick up points.

Only downside(s) was lack of wifi in rooms (only in reception area), no computer to print off boarding passes and the reception charged for the printing service. Otherwise, it was a very good hotel that served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room avoiding overlooking the building works as they start early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Klettur for the second time in November. When booking we upgraded to a deluxe room and requested a sea/mountain view. We were given a room on the 6th floor which had the sea view.

The hotel is a bit out of town but is still a good quiet location, it is very clean and modern. There are a few restaurants and supermarket a short walk from the hotel. Also it is not far to the sea wall where you can sit and watch the Northern Lights if they are out.

The room was very clean and tidy, had tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, iron and ironing board, dressing table, wardrobe with a safe inside, bedside cabinets, the bed was 2 singles pushed together. The bathroom had a really good shower with shampoo and conditioner provided and a hairdryer. The temperature of the room was fine and could be adjusted on the radiator and we also had an opening window.

Breakfast is continental style but well presented and plentiful.

The staff were really friendly and helpful with booking trips and return pickup to the airport.

A few minor points if I’m being really fussy, Wi-Fi does not extend to most rooms, a bit more drawer space in the rooms would’ve been nice for people who do not want to live out of a suitcase, the bath towels are a bit small although useable. The building site didn't cause us a problem, a short time of noise one morning.

If I was to go back, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison123Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was very small, but clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Reception staff very helpful. The area is not the best with a building site next door, however we did not experience any noise from the building site. The hotel was a little out of town, but a brisk 10 minute walk got us to the centre. Bus station was about 5 minute's away. All tour buses picked up and dropped off at the hotel, including the airport buses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently returned from a fabulous 4 night break at Hotel Klettur. We had an early flight but our room was available when we arrived - a bonus! Room was spacious, warm and spotlessly clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Nice bathroom also. As per other reviews the hotel is 5 mins away from the main shopping street with numerous bars and restaurants. Breakfast was really nice and on our last day there was no problem going for breakfast at 6am due to our early flight. Hotel staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,103 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing