We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness we chose Hotel Klettur.”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thank goodness we chose Hotel Klettur.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently returned from a fabulous 4 night break at Hotel Klettur. We had an early flight but our room was available when we arrived - a bonus! Room was spacious, warm and spotlessly clean. Beds extremely comfortable. Nice bathroom also. As per other reviews the hotel is 5 mins away from the main shopping street with numerous bars and restaurants. Breakfast was really nice and on our last day there was no problem going for breakfast at 6am due to our early flight. Hotel staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    747
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
195
819
83
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on a northern lights tour . The location is excellent , near to all main shopping area, restaurants, waterfront . Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet, cold meats cheeses cereals etc , plenty to eat excellent coffee. Having read some negative comments about building site next door, yes there is a very large building site but we had no problems at all . There is a lot of building work in Reykjavik at the moment and it didn't cause us any problems. If you want a good comfortable hotel i can recommend this one

Room Tip: There are a few restaurants nearby , can recommend Harrys which is just around the corner, very frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritamillinchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and as the hotel is a 3* thought we would pay for an upgrade. £50 for the 3 nights so not too expensive. However, the only difference from the standard room seemed to be that we were on the top floor (6) but at the back of the hotel overlooking a big building site with the sea in the distance.
Staff were very pleasant when we asked for extra pillows and towels. They also serve breakfast at 05.00 if you have an early flight.
Would suggest asking for a room at the front with a balcony and views of the town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandsparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

when I booked this hotel I was told by the agent for ALL ICELAND that I could get an ENGLISH breakfast and pay for an evening meal if I needed to,neither were available(not the hotels fault).the hotel is very nice,the staff are very friendly and helpful the room was nice ,the beer in the bar was always FLAT (the room had underfloor heating which is very good)

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back for a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a recent visit to Reykjavik. The hotel is clean, our bedroom was fine - fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board included (kettle would have been a bonus), breakfast buffet of a good standard with plenty of choice (no cooked items), not far from the main shopping street and easy to walk to some nice restaurants in the evening. There is still building works going on at the back of the hotel but this didn't disturb us. The best thing about the hotel was the customer service by all staff and a special mention to Maia, the hotel receptionist, service with a smile and any request dealt with in a professional way. Being able to enjoy a coffee and breakfast at 3.30 a.m.before being picked up by the flybus for an early morning flight was a nice touch. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel if we travelled to Reyjkavik again. Thank you Hotel Klettur.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank s1n8ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Large spacious room, well furnished and with a good modern bathroom too. A fridge, hairdryer, television and basic toiletries were all provided. Only complaint was that wi-fi does not work in the rooms.
The breakfast room was also large, spacious and nicely furnished. There was a lounge area where wi-fi could be accessed. Breakfast itself was quite generous and well serviced so food was topped up frequently.
The hotel is a very easy 5 minute walk to the central shopping area and being 5 minutes out provides an opportunity to eat away from the touristy areas.
All in all an excellent hotel for price in 101.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We echo all the comments made in recent reviews but want to add something about the staff. We arrived, tired, to find we had taken the wrong suitcase from the bus which dropped us off in the dark. Dismayed, we told the receptionist and she picked up the phone to the bus company. Twenty minutes later I had my bag back and somewhere a Finnish man must have been pleased to get his bag back too. On our third day, my husband was ill and hotel staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. I had to cancel his place on that day's coach trip and I expected to simply lose the money as it was last minute. Not a bit of it. Again the receptionist picked up the phone, said something in Icelandic, then opened the safe and returned the cost of one ticket to me in cash. No sweat. He seemed surprised at my gratitude. A good word for breakfast too. There was a lovely array of healthy cold foods, including boiled eggs, salads, fruits, dried fruit, fresh bread, honey and limitless good quality coffee. On our last morning we had to leave at 5am and after various British experiences of being refused an earlyish breakfast I didn't even ask about one. However, at 4am, there was breakfast laid out for everyone catching the bus. It made such a difference to our early start, and again the staff seemed to think that this was no more than could be expected. A special word of thanks to the lovely Basque receptionist who spoke ten languages and could not have been kinder. She is destined for great things. Thank you Hotel Klettur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartramn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing