We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Building site noise next door! .. and check your bookings!”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beware! Building site noise next door! .. and check your bookings!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Travelled to Iceland once again with Discover the World. Had a 2 day stay either end of the holiday in Reykjavik and was booked at Hotel Klettur. Was told in advance of the building work next door, but was assured was Mon-Fri and finished at 5pm. Don't believe it! Fairly constant pounding drilling to remove heavy rock until 7pm and also Saturday. In fairness, as we spent so much time away from the hotel, it didn't bother us unduly, but a staff member told me that many guests had complained. Another problem was that on the return from Northern Iceland for our 2nd stay of 2 days, we had not been booked in for a room on the first night! This was eventually sorted out with us being allocated the ONLY remaining room in the whole hotel, a superior room, which was nice, but just what they would have done if there hadn't been a spare room I'm not sure, as Reykjavik was pretty much full due to peak season. Check your bookings! Staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms very nice and clean. Breakfast the usual fare. A good basic hotel, but check your booking!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    769
    286
    39
    15
See reviews for
201
835
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We didnt book this hote, it was suppose to be Hotel Cabin. We had booked 2 twin standard rooms for 3 adults. When I was checking into Hotel Cabin, I asked if there were bigger rooms and was willing to pay for an upgrade. The reception lady told me that there were fully booked and that the rooms they had for us was internal windown facing. Basically the windows were facing the corridor. Anyway she offered us Hotel Klettur and said the rooms were bigger. Hotel Cabin paid for a taxi over to Klettur and whisks me and my parents within mins of me saying 'Yes, OK'!

This hotel is very close to downtown, around 8 mins walking. The location of the hotel is amongst a building site, as next door was building and opposite had some guesthouse and old office/warehouse type of building. I expect this area will be pretty well built up and bustling in a few years time. For now, its nice and quiet and tucked away just off the main roads towards downtown.

The reception was small but business like. Two lifts available and the restaurant for breakfast was downstairs (1st floor). Our rooms were massive. It's the biggest rooms I ever stayed in, in Europe side of the world. We had a room on the 5th and 6th floor.i think these were deluxe rooms. Room on the 5th floor had two single beds, plenty of space and a bathroom with shower, toilet and sink. I stayed on the 6th floor and it had 2 double beds, plenty of space, 32 inch TV and bathroom. There were kettle for tea and coffee and fridge. Bathroom has toiletries like shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, soap and hairdryer. It was well equipped.

The stay included breakfast and was was a nice selection, with eggs, ham, cheeses and plenty of bread and hot and cold drinks. It was a continential breakfast but it was decent enough.

I had to change all the tour pickups to this hotel and the reception guy helped me here. Not a problem with the tour pickups. At the end of one of the tours, the coach came right up to our hotel to let us off. So no problem with drop offs either.

if you are too tired, then there is a supermarket within 3 mins walk from the hotel which is open till 11pm. There is a pizza take away the other direction and also within 3 mins from hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if my husband and I come next time, as its so close to downtown and ideal to venture around downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in March as part of the deal in the Iceland Air website (amazing value so maybe look there if you haven't yet booked anything) and we really liked it.

The room and all areas of the hotel were immaculately clean and by chance it seems we got upgraded to one of the superior rooms on the top floor - this was really great as it meant the room was bigger; especially the bathroom which had a really nice walk in shower - really great for warming up!

The breakfast was included and truthfully was a bit of a mixture of things but they had cereal and toast with fruit so from my perspective I always found something really nice.

It was about five minutes walk to the centre which was perfect as it was easily accessible but nice and quiet at night.

Overall would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I can not actually review the hotel as i did not actually stay there. After arriving at KEF on the midnight flight from JFK we drove the hour to Reykjavik only to be be told that despite having prepaid for three nights and emailed a confirmation note the day before there were no rooms. The night manager said that the needed the room to accommodate a German group. He then gave me directions to the Grand Hotel where we got bumped to saying it was a nicer hotel - so it was a win win. I understand business - but my problem was that my day before email went unanswered. I should have been made aware of the issue before my 1:00AM arrival with a tired child.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Helmut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, General Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Helmut B

I am sorry to hear that you were relocated to another hotel. This is very unfortunate but this happens very rarely. When it happens we always try to let the guest know before and we relocate to a higher class hotel such as Grand Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not notified and we will look into what went wrong.

Hope that this didn´t affect your stay in Iceland and that you had a good time.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

first: they gave us a room directly at the lift - I argued with the receptionist to get another room
second: there is significant excavation and construction work going on behind and on one side of the hotel, means you can hardly stay in the room betwenn 8am and 7pm

Room Tip: avoid the rooms around the lift
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MeinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear MeinMuc

Thank you for your review and for your stay. I am sorry to hear that the receptionist was not able to get you another room.

Regarding the construction work that is being done next to the hotel then we are sorry if it has disturbed you. They are building an apartment building next to our hotel and they have been drilling in the rocks in the ground in june. That drilling is now over so it is now much less noise. This is a part of staying in a growing city such as Reykjavík but we try our best to talk to the contractors so they will not disturb the guests and therefor most of the work is being done while most of our guests are out on trips or exploring the city.

I hope you had a good trip and hope to see you in Iceland again.

Best regards,
Geir G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

just returned from 4 Nights in Iceland -the Klettur is a typical Scandinavian Hotel- nice and bright -very clean- nice bar (which not many used)- breakfast is continental -good choice -but to the Brits dont expect a full English- very near to the City Centre -there is building work going on next to the Hotel but they dont start till 8 am- which by that time most are up anyway to go on tours etc- the staff are very helpful in anything you ask them - i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I don;t think there is anything else to say. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Klettur, and would recommend it. From the moment we entered the door, we felt welcome and at home. There was a minor issue with the broadband which was handled with patience and humour.

Room Tip: We were more than happy with our room on the 3rd floor overlooking a quiet road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,648 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
993 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
658 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing