We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base in Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent Location in Reykjavik Centre, easy walk into town with all the bars & restaurants.

The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and styled in typical Scandinavian style, and the hotel is exactly what I expected, nothing more and nothing less.

I would recommend this place for a short stay in town.

Room Tip: Top floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Emu72

Thank you for staying at Hotel Klettur and for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel and the location. Many of our guests do indeed like the location and the fact that it is a downtown location with the benefits of restaurants and bars close by without the noise.

We hope to see you again in Iceland

Best regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our second visit to klettur hotel and just as great as the first time if not better. Hotel is clean, modern, close to main strip and staff are ever so friendly. Staff helped with any query. They would ring up, enquire and book any trip/experience u were Interested in. To me and my partner it was certainly the staff that makes this place special.

If was to visit iceland again, would certainly come back to this hotel for a third time.

Thanks guys for a fantastic experience

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear maccyj

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us, again. We are very happy to hear that you like our hotel and the service from our staff. We are indeed very lucky to have these talented employees at Hotel Klettur.

Glad to hear that you liked Iceland enough to visit again, and hopefully again and again :-)

Warm regards,
Geir G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Iceland and staying at Hotel Klettur. The Hotel is clean and modern and the rooms basic, but comfortable and all you need for a base hotel. We spent most of the day and evening out and about so this was good base. The hotel is about a 5minute walk to the main street in Reykjavik, so not the most central hotel, but its nice to be outside the hustle and bustle. The harbour and Harpa building is a 15-20 minute walk. We felt very safe walking around and back to the hotel in the evenings when it began to get dark and roads seemed well lit.
Our room (302) had a big pillar in the middle of the room, which wasnt a problem, but seems not the nicest of rooms when you compare to other reviews. We went on an Icelanair travel deal, so perhaps we had a discount room. It was fine and didnt disadvantage us in any way.
Rooms have a safe (Free of charge) hair dryer and small toiletries.
The flybus and tours pick up from this hotel and seems a very popular hotel. Recommend booking the fly bus plus ticket which takes you to the hotel rather than buying the standard fly bus ticket as the BSI bus station is a bit of a walk from the hotel. (we did this in advance as well as booking other trips and everytihng ran smoothly and easily - very impressed!) Others have mentioned the hotel being cold, but we found it to be quite the opposite. The thermostat didnt seem to lower the temp and we couldnt open the window. This was our only critique but did not spoil our holiday as it was lovely coming in from the cold to a nice warm room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunworshipKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from an Icelandair package to this hotel. We had booked the 3 night with Golden Circle tour. As expected we got the basic room without the kettle, balcony or view but it did not detract at all from our stay. The hotel is very clean everywhere. Our room had twin beds, TV with BBC etc and a fridge. The shower room was big enough but not large. There was a hairdryer supplied which saves the need to bring one with you. Breakfast was juice, coffee, cold meat, boiled eggs, cheese and salad. Plus museli, flakes, bread, jam, fish and danish pastries.
The hotel is geared up for these packages and everything goes very smoothly. Bus for tour turned up when it was expected, also the flybus for the return trip to the airport. Cannot fault anything.
The hotel is a stones throw from the harbour walk, which is very nice to do (if it's not really bad weather) could be a bit wet and windy!! The main shops etc are only a block away from the hotel. I would not call it central, but certainly not on a limb. I would go back again to this hotel if I ever go back to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliveasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Part of Golden Circle package with Icelandic air. Hotel situated about 15 min walk to the old town along shopping street. Building site next door but we never saw anyone working!
Room with en suite clean with TV and fridge. Car parking.
Breakfast was good.
Free wifii in lobby and in bar downstairs.

Room Tip: We had top floor 603. could look out to mountains and could see the sea to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M00nm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights on an Icelandair package (very good value).The Hotel is situated at the far end of town from the more picturesque harbour area but, given the size of Reykjavik, everything is in walking distance. The building itself has been spruced up externally and internally. Rooms are all of a good size, clean and, on the sea side, have a good view across the bay. They are warm - very welcoming if you've come in from being outside in sub zero windy Iceland. As others have noted, the showers are particularly good.
Breakfasts are continental style, the only minor niggle being the availability of small cups resulting in lots of visits to top up. Good, helpful staff as others have commented and no problem giving us a very early breakfast at 4h10 to catch a plane back.
We had room 401, next to a lift on the sea side and were never disturbed either by noise from outside or in the corridor. There is a building site next door but it never caused any problems of noise or smell.
We'd have no hesitation staying here again. We'd strongly recommend the Golden Circle Tour too as well as using the Laugervagur pool complex at 550 IKR.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights the week of April 2nd, 2013. It was part of a package we had with Iceland Tours. I agree with all of the previous reviews... clean rooms with fridge, safe and hairdryer. Friendly, helpful staff, close to shopping and fine restaurants, fair buffet that won't leave you hungry. Weirdly, there is only WIFI in the small lobby or in the bar. I find this particularly strange since the hotel is in the capital city where over 70% of the country's population live.
I do have an additional comment. Missing from the room were facecloths and clocks. Now, I know these days everyone uses their phone for time and alarms but mine doesn't function out of the US so I didn't bother bringing it. Being disoriented from travel and waking up on my bodyclock it would have been very nice to just glance at a nightstand clock.
It was my first time in Iceland and I only stayed in one other hotel which also had neither a clock or a facecloth so maybe it's a Scandinavian thing??
I took off a star because of the WIFI. Really, all the little cafes in town had it. There's no good reason Hotel Klettur shouldn't.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skullingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,142 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,737 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $147 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing