We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value and super helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Light, bright, modern, clean and airy rooms
Helpful and friendly staff who helped book all our tours (which pick you up from outside the door)
Breakfast a bit basic boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, bread, cereal, juices, teas and coffees but perfectly adequate
Well located with a 7/11 type shop, takeaway pizza, Thai restaurant, noodle bar all within a few minutes walk, one evening we were short of time and reception ordered us pizza from dominos to be delivered, they even delivered it to our room.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, not luxurious but for a good value base absolutely ideal

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loubird1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was OK, not good, not bad, just OK. The breakfast was OK, the bed was OK, the room was OK. The staff could have leaned to be a bit more courteous and the building was way too overheated but it was in a good location, close to the city centre, even if the area surrounding the hotel was unimpressive. Oh, and it would have been better if we could had opened the window so that we could get some cool fresh air into the room. I wouldn't be coming back here again, it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Modern design. Friends were upgraded to deluxe room however did not think it was worth paying for. Clean and central to city centre. Excellent breakfast, cold food not hot although plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey125690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Myself and a friend shared a twin bedroom with ensuite for one week at this hotel. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk (if you know where you are going- ask the reception staff!!) from the main street Laugavegur. It's staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. All the trips we booked collected us from the hotel which was very handy especially after a long day of glacier hiking! The breakfast is a nice buffet with tea and coffee on tap. The hotel is very clean (rooms are cleaned daily). I noticed some reviews saying the rooms were too hot; however I don't quite understand as our room was hot but I just turned the heating down/off and opened a window if necessary. A nice warm room is welcomed if you've been out for a day trip in -12 up in the north! I will stay here on my next visit to Iceland and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day package with Icelandair, staff were very helpful and recommended places for us to eat. Bar was fine - especially when happy hour is on which is extended if northern lights tour is cancelled, they also served complimentary snacks which was a nice touch. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice - toaster if you wanted warm food i.e. Toast, fruit bread. Clean, very warm 3 star hotel close to town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0therdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel Klettur is a good hotel in which to base yourself on your tour of iceland.

easily located in Reykjavik you are capable of walking to all areas of the city and accessing the comprehensive bus network in the city.

The hotel was a free car park to base your hire car.

The hotel is clean and modern. Although it is basic so don't expect too much.

The rooms have a kettle, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, a TV with access to major British TV channels and a few european.

The wireless wifi unfortunately doesn't extend to the rooms, but is accessible in the public areas.

The staff are a little passive when it comes to requests and information, instead they rely on the leaflets that are in the public area.

Room Tip: It is a cold breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hood_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at hotel Klettur. As previously stated, it is a very minimalist hotel but well situated, quiet and certainly clean. We were very fortunate to be on the 6th floor at no extra cost but we did book independently and not as part of our package which had been an option. Would have liked the option of something warming for breakfast as the idea of cold meat, cheese and cold salad vegetables does nothing for me at 8 am. There is a good selection of bread and toasters but they are very very very slow! Excellent value for money and I would recommend and return. Sadly purpose of the visit was to see the Northern Lights and other than a glimmer on our second trip nothing doing.

Room Tip: 6th floor offers excellent views to the sea and mountains (if you twist your neck)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollywolly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
22 Hill Hotel
#27 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,052 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,165 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
836 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $152 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing