We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good position”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good position”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 night at the end of January 2013. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was continental style with a good selection of breads. The rooms were quite small but very clean and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. We were able to control the heating with the thermostat in the room or by opening the windows. The location of the hotel is excellent, just 5 minutes from shops and restaurants. Only problem I had was with the " free Internet", which I had assumed was available in the rooms. It is only available in reception or the bar. Overall the hotel is great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    755
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
195
825
83
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
218 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel, located just outside of the downtown area, but a short enough walk... Rooms are very clean and well presented, but they do get very warm... We slept with the window open every night... And evn when we turned the heating down, the maid had turned it back up every day... Breakfast is very basic, but adequate to start your day... Reception staff all very pleasant and English isn't a problem... And very helpful when directing us where to head out the evening out northern lights tour was cancelled...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from staying at the Klettur for 3 nights.
The staff were excellent - their English was impeccable. The breakfast had a limited choice but perfect enough for a good start to the day.
The location is a short walk to downtown where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.
The downside for us was that we were booked on lots of tours which involved getting in late and getting up early.. Clearly the town has an excellent nightlife (which we didn't really experience as that wasn't the point of our trip) however the people in the rooms either side of us would get in at all hours. The walls are extremely thin and we could hear everything causing us to either not get to sleep or waking us up in the middle of the night. I think that we were probably extremely unlucky having such unthoughtful guests next door.. But worth bearing in mind if you plan sightseeing to the full on your stay and therefore want to catch your zzzz's when you can.
Overall a good hotel.. But for me the thin walls put a real downer on our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From check in to leaving, the staff were always so helpful, from providing me with extra pillow to booking us on a whale watch trip, and offering recommendations for eating. We were on the 5th floor & the views are amazing. A good sized room in excellent furnishing and the whole place was spotless. Breakfasts were excellent, buffet and some nice breads and pickled herring, as well as usual bits. Nice to have happy hour and we enjoyed local beer or two and that little bit cheaper as part of happy hour. Good location, just 2 mins from main street and buses. I'd recommend this to anyone for convenience, service and price, and decent room size and views.

Room Tip: Make sure on higher floors, some reviews suggested lower floors less nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The best thing about the hotel (other than the cheap rates) is its location! 5 mins away from the buss station, 4 mins away from the nearest supermarket, 10 mins away from the downtown area where all the night life is. The hotel is one of the known ones in Reykjavik, so if you have any planned tours, busses are always picking travelers up to the tours "HQ". Breakfast is complementary, not a big variety, but it's great considering this is a 3 stars hotel. Staff is amazingly friendly, english proficient and pretty helpful. I had a pretty spacious room, very clean, the beds are comfortable. There's a desk you could use, along with a couple of comfortable chairs you'd use while having tea or coffee you've prepared with the available kettle and complementary drinks. Internet is available for free in the room through wired connection, while through wifi in public areas. To sum this up, it's a great hotel with almost nothing to complain about. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A fantastic hotel, with great staff situated a short walk from the start of the main shopping street in Reykjavik – Laugavegur. A walk to the harbour straight down this street (without stopping to look in shop windows) would take approximately 20 minutes at a steady pace.
We arrived after midnight on the 24th January and were very warmly greeted by Gunnar who kindly provided us with extra pillows on request. All of the staff are friendly and helpful as are all of the Icelanders we encountered. Our room was deluxe and on the 5th floor, the only other floor that has deluxe rooms is 6. Floors 2, 3 and 4 are standard rooms and I believe a little smaller than the deluxe version (the hotels website gives information on the room dimensions). Reception is also on floor 2 which is street level and the breakfast room, bar, conference facilities and toilets are on floor 1. There are 2 lifts that service all of the floors.
Room access is via a chipped plastic card which is then inserted into the wall to obtain the necessary lighting. The room is set up with 2 single beds which can be pushed together (very comfy mattress). The 1 pillow each provided wouldn’t have been enough for us so I am glad I thought to request the extra 1 each when checking in. Even 2 pillows were a little on the squidgy side for us but that’s down to our personal preference and liking a firmer memory foam pillow, folding the bottom pillow in half easily rectified the issue. The shower is great, spacious, always hot, with 3 different spray options and good water pressure, the jet is pretty powerful, complimentary shampoo and conditioner is provided and replenished when used. A hairdryer is also provided, as is an ironing board and free, very easily to use safe. The TV in the room is also very good, perfect reception and it provides plenty of channels, including BBC1 and ITV. There is also a telephone and port for internet, wifi is available but we could only access the internet in the breakfast/bar area so if you want to use it in the room I’d suggest you pack an Ethernet cable just in case wifi doesn’t reach you. I was happy to see a kettle in the room too as I like my coffee 1st thing. Tea bags, coffee sachets and whitener are provided. For the 1st couple of days no sugar was left but I thought this was perhaps the norm so I purchased a bag from Bonus (the cheapest supermarkets in Iceland, the closest is situated on Laugavegur , right hand side as you walk into town, open until 6.30pm week nights 7.30 Fridays, more info on Bonus can be found at www.bonus.is I am informed that they don’t sell whale, I certainly didn’t see any and this pleased me!), the next day sugar was left but it really didn’t matter that it had been forgotten beforehand. Obviously the this time of year has lots of darkness but even in the summer the curtains looked as though they would have been perfectly good at keeping the light out.
The view from the room (501) is nice, looking over to the bay and Esja volcanic mountain range. All rooms on the one side of the corridor have this view (back of the hotel), the other side of the corridor (front of the hotel) have their own balcony and a not so nice view of the buildings opposite and street below. For rooms without a balcony there is a communal balcony opposite the lifts with a table and 2 chairs, this is also the smoking area as the hotel is completely non smoking in all other areas which isn’t unusual. Floor six is set up in the same way however it has a much better view at the front of the hotel, at this height The Pearl and City light scape can be clearly seen over the buildings opposite. There is a bit of a land around the hotel still under development which looks a bit scruffy but if you’re looking at that and not the better view then there’s something wrong !
Maid service is spot on, the towels could have been changed daily but to help the environment we used ours a couple of times before leaving them on the floor for washing. Sheets were changed ½ way through the week , bedding is soft and warm, heating in the hotel was also comfortable.
Breakfast is simple buffet style served 7-10am, nicely laid out and plentiful, a choice of bread, crackers, Icelandic pastries, jams, peanut butter, fresh and dried fruit. Ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cucumber, tomatoes, peppers and a type of fish (possibly herring). We were left satisfied each morning. The hotel doesn’t provide evening meals but there are plenty of great restaurants, cafes in the area. We ate at Grillhusid - www.grillhusid.is (massive portions), Vegamot - www.vegamot.is, Icelandic Fish & Chips - www.fishandchips.is, American Style - www.americanstyle.is and Devitos pizza which is less than 5 minutes away (around the corner to the left of the hotel entrance for a quick fix. Very nice, fresh pizzas and reasonably priced too). I researched restaurants before leaving the UK to be sure that none of the restaurants had whale, puffin or horse on the menu.
We used a company called GTI (Gateway to Iceland) for our tours and they were brilliant (I have reviewed them separately). The hotel is advised by tour companies if there are to be any changes made to tours, for example cancelling the Northern Lights tour if the forecast doesn’t look promising. The staff at the hotel are efficient when advising of any such changes, Nicole on reception was also very helpful when it came to re arranging a tour for us, she also advised us that it would be possible for us to use the hotel printer for our online flight check in (a very small charge applies for this service 150kr each).
All in all we had an amazing stay in Iceland and as soon as funds permit we will be returning !!
I think I have covered everything, if you have any questions about the hotel, area, tours (we did the Golden Circle, South Tour, West Tour all with GTI - www.gatewaytoiceland.is, ATV experience – www.lavatours.is, Whale watching – www.elding.is and Blue Lagoon transfer with www.grayline.is) or restaurants please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Go deluxe for a better view and larger room, but really I can't see that any room would be bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tbrown2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The good first - the reception staff are great very knowledgeable and able to suggest various excursions and places to eat depending on what you are after as was the bar man. They end up having to deal with people who are disappointed that they are not going to see the Northern Lights and handle it very well.

The bad - I was told by reception when I complained that the extractor fan in our bathroom did not work that we were lucky that we had a window we could open. After two showers the condensation was running down the inside of the windows and pooling on the window sill. My friend and I were shattered so we relaxed on our first morning and left the do not disturb sign on until 12.15 this resulted in our room not being cleaned. When I went and spoke with reception on getting back that evening they told me there was nothing wrong with the extractor (there clearly was) and I was given towels and the extra pillows I asked for. Unfortunately my friend on found a large black hair stuck in one of the towels.

The breakfast is your basic fare that you would expect to see in most European countries - sliced cold meats, boiled eggs, sliced cheese, vegetables and fruit with bread to make toast. It was perfectly reasonable though nothing special.

The rooms on the fourth floor got so stuffy that someone opened the fire escape and a number of people left their bedroom doors ajar so that they could get some sort of ventilation in their rooms.

The day our room was not cleaned it looked really grotty when the cleaners swept the dust and dirt from each room out into the corridor but it was some time later before they hoovered it up.

As others have said it is on a par with a Holiday Inn or even an Ibis. They need to sort out their ventilation issues which will mean people will have a more pleasant stay.

It is about a 20 minute walk to the harbour at full kilter, a more leisurely stroll will get you there in about 30 minutes. Harry's Bistro is close by and is reasonably priced. Do try and grab a hotdog while you are down by the harbour.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
447 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,613 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing