We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay, good price, very friendly and helpful staff, great beds, good, clean rooms, great location for the city - very enjoyable. My only small complaint was I couldn't turn the heating down in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Have a room facin towards the sea and not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    727
    267
    35
    13
See reviews for
184
796
80
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a very basic hotel. Breakfast was a continental buffet which was good. We were disappointed that there where no hot drink facilities in the room. Although you could get a brew from the bar area this was 300ISK per cup which we thought was penny pinching and should have been complimentary. The reception staff were helpful and cheery. The location is good for the city centre but it is not a pretty location at all, we were on the 3rd floor so perhaps you get a better view from the deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: Hire a car. Go dog sledding - this was a fantastic experience -www.dogsledding.is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeniVidiDormivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My friend and I had originally booked two rooms at the Best Western Hotel Reykjavik for a three night stay to see the Aurora and a bit of Iceland. It was pouring with rain and blowing a gale as we drove from the airport, but we found it ok and were soon parked in the dry indoor car park. When we tried to check in however, we were told they had been overbooked and we had been booked into the Hotel Klettur. I hate it when this happens as it had taken me quite a bit of research to decide to stay there and now we were going to a hotel I knew nothing about. Expedia are investigating to see if I qualify for a refund as the Hotel Klettur is slightly cheaper. Best Western did give me my reward points which was good, but I had to ask for them.

We put the address into the SatNav and were directed to a piece of waste ground behind what looked like an apartment block. The wasteland was uneven black gravel which was hard to drive on and in the far corner was landfill resplendent with a cast out broken toilet and other rubbish! Lovely!

Our hearts were sinking, but we drove round the front of the apartment block and found it was the hotel so we drove around the back again and parked on a small gravel patch before the waste ground which was a car park for the hotel, but only held three cars. If it is full, you must park on the street or on the waste ground. The entrance to the car park is very uneven so be careful.

You can get in through the back door if you don’t arrive too late at night. Otherwise you have to walk around to the front. (Note the lift at the back beneath the fire escape is a red herring. It just cuts the corner off a bit. Once inside if you enter through the back you are on floor 1. Walk past the bar/breakfast area and go up the stairs or use the lift to get to floor 2 where Reception is. As mentioned in previous reviews, there are only lifts to the upper floors, but these worked fine.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and check in was very quick. It is very clean and modern hotel inside so don’t be put off by the very drab, shabby, litter ridden area that it is in. The rooms were very clean although there was a small stain on my sheet. It wasn’t anything to worry about though as you could tell they had been washed. You only get one pillow each, but you can ask at Reception for more. The double bed is two single boxes which is quite common in European Hotels. You also get individual duvets. The bed was very comfortable.

The room was warm. It was under floor heating controlled by a thermostat so you could set it to whatever temperature you wanted. The windows did open if you wanted them too. The curtains were very good and there was no noise from outside or from the hotel. There is a fridge (not a mini bar) in the room and this made a slight noise, but nothing it worry about. There were plenty of European style mains sockets and some Japanese ones in the wardrobe.

The room was very minimalist Scandinavian Ikea in design, which I quite like. No sign of any strange pillars as mentioned in other reviews. Storage and wardrobe space were a bit limited. I had the double room to myself, but if there were too of you, you may struggle. There was an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The room had a big TV with lots of channels on it including lots of UK Freesat ones including several BBC and ITV ones. Also there were Icelandic, French, German, Italian and Spanish TV on there so more than enough to watch, although why you would come to Iceland just to watch TV I don’t know.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the electronic locks are tricky. After about 15 seconds they try to lock themselves whether the door is closed or not, so it I possible to go out without shutting your door properly. The battery went flat in mine, but the staff were marvellous in sorting it out.

There is free WiFi. Just connect, open your browser and create your account. It works well in the Reception lobby and is ok in the Bar/Breakfast area, but I thought they could make it better here. It is patchy in the rooms and works best by or in the corridors. If you don’t use it for a while, it times you out and you may have to reset your device to clear it.

Breakfast was adequate. It was the usual range of cold meats, cereal, yogurts, cake etc. Things do run out though and the replenishment was a bit hit and miss, although they will happily do it if you ask. It finishes at 10am, but they don’t chase you out. The bar closes at 10pm in the evening, which seems a bit early, but they must have their reasons. Plenty of places in the town to eat and drink anyway and it’s only a short, if somewhat uninspiring walk away. The Reception staff can give directions and provide maps. They can also book trips. We had a car so we did our own trips.

Room servicing was good and apart from the last morning, they were not banging on the door. Even then, they were quite happy to come back.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. Not because there was anything wrong with it. I would just preferred my original choice. I would recommend it though as a good place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed much of a muchness. I was at the back and my friend was at the front and neithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

There is no escaping this is a budget hotel but it does everything so well you could be forgiven for thinking you were in a more expensive hotel.
The place is spotlessly clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Rooms are small but bright with with a huge window letting in loads of natural light, beds are on the small side but are comfortable.
Breakfast is continental cold buffet style, but food is plentyful and good quality and is ample to keep you going until dinner, dining room is nice.
We got a free night booking through expedia and averaged just over £30 per night including breakfast so amazing value overall. There is also free parking less than 2 minutes walk away.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigJon-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Well its noy going to be really cheap its Iceland but as part of a package booked with Icelandair this was pretty good value.

I am liking the cheerful staff at reception very much- yes its true everyone does ask what time the Northern Lights get turned on. The hotel is central ( you are unlucky not to be central in a small city like Reykjavik but it does happen) though the immediate surroundings are a bit drab but at least parking is good. Breakfast was better than expected & perfectly adequate- good coffee.

The rooms are functional & not all the windows open. Mine did which was handy as some say the hotel is over warm.

There are random columns in the rooms - in my room this was beside a bed- elsewhere they might restrict tv viewing from parts of the room.

The locks on some of the doors are a bit tricky but the staff were excellent at sorting out . Rather weirdly there are no internal stairs (external fire escape) but the lifts were fine.

Did i like? Yes. Did they turn the Northern Lights on for me? No. But i suspect there is still more to do here than in Tromso so its a positive vote from me for Reykjavik in March. & the hotel anytime

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

A very nice and cosy hotel, perfectly located - near main tourist street and Hlemmur bus station, 15 minutes of walk to the city centre. Distinctive spartan Scandinavian design combined with luxury duvets, warm floors and hot shower.The personnel is truly helpful and friendly. Very clean rooms. Great choice of TV channels. To be honest my "fast-growing" son was missing hot breakfast in the morning but anyway there was food enough to feel quite safe till lunch). All 7 nights that we spent in the hotel we felt perfectly at home. The hotel is like Reykjavik itself - cute, friendly, cosy and not snobbish. I would like to stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlatta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very very clean rooms though room got hot at night.

Showers were great but wished they gave you a kettle and tea and coffee in you room. (everywhere else does?!)

Breakfast was good but need another toaster. Good coffee.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing