We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

this hotel is central,clean,staff very nice.they were helpful in booking trips and arranging breakfast for people leaving early for flights even though they wernt entitled to breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astromads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    762
    283
    37
    14
See reviews for
198
830
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were meant to be staying at Hotel Cabin (having booked on the net two months ago), but upon arrival at Hotel Cabin we were told that they were 'full' (!) and we would be 'upgraded' to Hotel Klettur (same owner apparently). We didn't mind too much as Hotel Klettur is nearer to town, although after a long day of heaving our luggage around it was a little irritating.

As we had booked a deluxe room at Hotel Cabin we were told we'd have the same at Hotel Klettur. Initially we were told by the receptionist (at Klettur) that they had no deluxe rooms available however the standard rooms at Klettur were the same standard of accomodation as the deluxe rooms at Hotel Cabin. That may well be the case, but after explaining that the receptionist at Cabin had said we'd be given a deluxe room at Klettur one miraculously became available afterall.

The room was exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. Although a deluxe room it wasn't particularly spacious, but it was big enough and it had quite a large bathroom.

The most annoying thing about this hotel is the paper thin walls. We were awoken at 5am both mornings of our stay by people slamming their bedroom doors shut (it takes a while to work out how you're supposed to shut the door). You can also hear people flushing their toilets and showers running in the other rooms. I don't think this hotel is built to last.

The hotel decor is very bland and there isn't a lot of atmosphere. Breakfast was a nightmare as there was a bus load of school children staying in the hotel who turned up just before us. There was just one toaster............suffice to say the queue was very long.

The reception staff were very helpful. Although it says there is wifi in the rooms you need a cable but this can be obtained from reception.

The hotel location is good - it is close to the centre of Reykjavik. I think we were spoilt by having spent the first week of our trip staying at a lovely, much smaller hotel on the outskirts of Reyjkavik which had so much more atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

visited iceland from the 5th feb - 9th feb and stayed at the klettur hotel booked through icelandair.

hotel is rated as a 3star hotel. me and my partner found the hotel was very clean, hotel room was spacious, warm and very modern with flat screen TV (loads of channels), fridge, free safe, hair dryer and walk in shower. the staff were the friendliest of people who you could talk to like you had known them for ages and were always very helpful. when ever a trip was cancelled i would only have to ask if there were any other tours available and they would around to find one for us. a member of staff was available on reception 24/7.

i would certainly recommend this hotel to any one. it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a perfectly good base to spend a few days in Iceland, located very conveniently for a stroll into the shops and restaurants of Reykjavik. We stayed as part of a package with Icelandair, which seemed to be the case for most if not all of the other guests. Our room was a reasonably size, modern and clean, with a good shower room and a thermostat to allow us to turn up the temperature when we returned from our (freezing!) excursions to see the Northern Lights. On the downside, furnishings were very bland - just a little colour would have made it much cosier, something that we would really have appreciated as Iceland was experiencing its coldest winter in 27 years when we visited! Breakfast was not particularly plentiful. We arrived 45 minutes before the end of service, and my husband got the last of the Danish pastries. Bread ran out and was slow to be replenished. But these are pretty minor grumbles. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and I'd happily return for a short break in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogwart214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a how many times can you type good in to a review? What a hotel the Klettur is. The Hotel is GOOD. The receptionists are GOOD The Rooms are GOOD the food is GOOD whilst not on the main street the town centre is a short walk away there are good restaurants locally we tried the Pots & Pans twice and also the old harbour area. There is a Ruby Tuesdays locally if you are desperate. The hotel will give you directions on where to go. The whole experience was very pleasant. Thank you Hotel Klettur

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is new (opened summer 2011) hotel in a quiet area just off the main shopping street in Reykjavik.

It's location meant that we could walk to all of the places we wanted to visit in Reykjavik and easy for coaches to collect us for excursions.

The rooms were of a good size and very comfortable.

The staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilliCaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone -singles, couples and families. Great location (only 10 minute walk to main centre of town), immaculate warm rooms and great buffet breakfast. Above all, the staff were exceptional. Our fight had been cancelled and the staff took responsibility to chase the airline and booked us on the next flight. They also organised all airport transfers and were always willing to go above and beyond with any questions we had. Excellent value as well. We were truely grateful for their service in our trip and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
913 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
641 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,334 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing