We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for coffee and a pastry”
Review of Sandholt

Sandholt
Ranked #2 of 11 Bakeries in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stop for coffee and a pastry”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We came here for breakfast, but we ended up having some pastries and coffee, as we thought the breakfast menu was a little limited. None the less the pastries were divine and all handmade. The setting of the bakery is lovely and they also do a wide range of breads and sandwiches, we didn’t try any of these as it was out last day, but they looked very good. Defiantly worth a visit. It cost us around £12 for 3 pastries and 2 coffees.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    350
    60
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery and good food for either sit-in or take-away”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Scandinavian countries have an excellent baking tradition, unlike other northern European countries like the UK, and Bakari Sandholt is a prime example of this tradition. Its basic staple, bread and pastries, are excellent, and its 'extras' - coffee and cakes, as well as sandwiches - are also delicious. The bakery has small seating areas so you can enjoy in or take out, but either way it's a refreshingly good experience after the masochism of trying to buy decent bread in the UK.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KlimtEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast place”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

That bakery / coffee house is open from early morning and it's definitely the best bakery in Reykjavík. Croissants are delicious and you can taste the butter in them. I love the colourful macaroons from that place.

Helpful?
Thank Simon_Singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Danishes to kill for”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We walked in early morning to the smell of fresh bread and pastries. Got the flakiest, most delicious cheese Danishes I've ever had. The cheese was not too sweet, but the flaky puff pastry was golden crispy and perfectly sweet to balance the whole thing. I could eat a boatfull of these and love every minute of it. The girlfriend, however, didn't like them. (I blame that on her not liking flaky pastries). Go get one and you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmart134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had this bakery just below a flat we have rented and visited Sandholt every day. Pastry and bread sre amazing. No matter what you pick. Even coffee was really good.

Helpful?
Thank PeteHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandholt also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sandholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing