We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
EXTRAORDINARY PRIVATE TOUR!

An absolutely amazing tour with our great private guide, Hallbjorn. He was magnificent... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Destination310310
Fantastic two day tour with our driver/guide Fannar

The tour and Fannar were both awesome; Fannar was knowledgeable, friendly, flexible, and fun... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
bionicmidget
,
menlo park, CA
Read all 1,277 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $55.58
More Info
from $84.50
More Info
from $95.27
More Info
from $134.00
More Info
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveler rating
1,147
82
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,147
82
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road super jeep northern lights tour golden circle south coast private tour minibus tour driving skills weather conditions great guide hot chocolate his knowledge driver guide highly recommend this company highlight of our trip own pace black sand beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Went for an all day tour with my mum and two others with Haukur (Hawk). The day was incredible, we not only got to see the true, raw beauty of Iceland but we were well and truly in it. Hawk took us over rivers, hiking up a mountain, into a canyon, we scaled a rockface over a deep, deep pool of glacial water to see an awesome waterfall. It was amazing, a salute to Hawk's brilliant knowledge, enthusiasm, activeness and friendliness, we were super grateful for his warmth and how much he was able to open us up to loving the unruly Icelandic landscape. Very, very worth it! Bring good boots!

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank GraceW1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Haukur (Hawk) was an excellent guide. Not only did he drive our group of four women safely, and share interesting information about Iceland, he patiently answered every one of our questions. (Imagine being quizzed by four women for 8 hours!) We only had a few days in Iceland and were delighted that we spent one of our days on this excellent tour.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank weeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

We stopped in Iceland for 2 days at the start of our 3 week European vacation, and this tour stands out as a real highlight of our trip! We saw the highlights of the Golden Circle, then ventured into off-roading territory for an exciting ride! This huge Jeep went places that amazed us. Our guide, Orri, was extremely knowledgeable and told us all about the country and the sights we were seeing as well as answering all our questions. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to experience something beyond the ordinary tourist attractions.

Date of experience: May 2016
6  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

We did a 2 day custom tour with Discover. Since we have only a few days in Iceland, we wanted to get the most out of it and hence decided to do Golden Circle but instead of coming back to Reykjavik, stay somewhere on/near the South Coast so that we can cover more in 2 days. Our original plan was to go to Landmannalagur but weren't able to due to road conditions but instead went a bit into Kjolur highlands (from Gulfoss) and then to Thorsmork on Day 2. A super jeep is needed at this time of the year to drive across many streams and the scenery is fantastic. After Thorsmork we completed the Southcoast tour before returning to Reykjavik. Our drive/guide Arnor was very knowledgeable and friendly. He took us to some places that are not usually covered by standard tours, off the beaten bath but really beautiful.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank rrjini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

After a lot of research before our trip at the end of May, we decided to go with Discover Iceland for our private 4x4 Tour to 'Landmannalaugar & Hekla Volcano' for our group of 4. It worked out a roughly the same price we would have paid individually, with the bonus of having a spare couple of seats for all of our 'stuff'.
We were picked up promptly by our excellent local guide Haukur 'Hawk Son Of A Brave Stone' for the day- this guy is full of local knowledge and was great to spend some time with. He also has the look of a historical Viking at first meeting!
Our superb day took us through some truly wonderful scenery, over the lava fields on an epic 5 hour journey through the metre deep snow- if off road driving is your thing, then you'll not be disappointed here. Buckle up and enjoy!!
Along the way we visited the stunning Þjófafoss waterfall and the large crater of Krakatindur Volcano- the backdrop throughout was of endless snow capped mountains, with not a soul about in this wilderness apart from ourselves.
Our destination was the geothermal pools at Landmannalaugar, where we had the privilege to be able to swim and relax in 37 degree water, surrounded by the snow in our little winter oasis.
We had so much fun throughout the day and I can thoroughly recommend this trip at any time of year- make sure that you ask for 'Hawk' to be your guide though!!

Date of experience: May 2016
5  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews