We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TOP CLASS QUALITY TOUR !!!!”
Review of Discover Iceland

Discover Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER is a dynamic adventure travel operator in Iceland offering wide range of day and multi day tours and adventures to suit your desires with luxury. We are here to help you discover all the amazing things you can experience in the Icelandic nature. Our experienced driver guides will take you on a true adventure journeys around the most spectacular Icelandic hotspots in our modified luxury 4x4 Off Road Trucks. We provide you with personal service and make sure you have a memorable trip with us. Discover Ltd is registered tour operator by the Icelandic Tourist Board and cares about your safety on our trips.
Reviewed April 28, 2016

I just wanted to thank Discover Iceland and the driver /guide Stefan for the 2 wonderful days spent (Golden Circle and south coast).The tours were very exciting, well organized and different. We enjoyed the jeep because we can leave the roads and drive on the tracks. Alone and just the nature for us. Stefan was very kindly, interesting, and professionnal. He did his best to satisfy us (well done !!!) and make us just happy.
At the end of the days, we were very tired but so excited !! I really recommend this agency. Do not hesitate. Choose the option of originality and just enjoy.
We are looking forward to visiting Iceland with them again!!

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank patrick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your tour out with us. Having the luxury of a modified SuperJeep with big tires can get you further with better comfort and touring out with small groups makes sure you have personal tour. It was a privilege to get to take you around Iceland. Hope you decide to come over again some times soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off road"
in 113 reviews
"super jeep"
in 123 reviews
"northern lights tour"
in 126 reviews
"golden circle"
in 306 reviews
"south coast"
in 111 reviews
"private tour"
in 87 reviews
"minibus tour"
in 31 reviews
"driving skills"
in 15 reviews
"first night"
in 46 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 34 reviews
"great guide"
in 46 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 45 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 30 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 12 reviews
"these guys"
in 36 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 31 reviews
"driver guide"
in 25 reviews
Filter

507 - 511 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2016

My wife and I visited Iceland at the end of March and we booked two excursions with Discover Iceland. The first excursion was to see the northern lights. Our guide picked us up and headed out north of the city as soon as we were an hour out of the city, the lights just diminished and almost immediately we could see the northern lights dancing across the sky. Our guide was clearly knowledgeable because he took us to prime viewing. We were able to get out of the jeep and set up our cameras with no one around so that we could observe the northern lights as long as we could stand to be out in the cold.

Our second excursion was their Golden Circle Tour. Again, our guide picked us up at the hotel and led us out of the city. Our first stop was Thingvellir National Park. He took us to several parts of the park and allowed us to stroll between different locations. From there we visited Geysir and had lunch after checking out the hot springs and geysers. After lunch, we headed up to Langjokull Glacier. This was the most exciting part of the trip. The driver knew how and where to drive, which we found amazing since we were driving in a blizzard. It felt like we were headed to the South Pole. But he managed to follow the signs and take us off road on to the glacier. On the way back, we stopped at Gullfoss waterfall to take in its stunning beauty before heading back into the city.

We were extremely pleased with the tour with one small exception. Since my wife and I were the last ones to be picked up for the trip, we were relegated to the very back of the jeep and we had difficulty hearing some of the things that our guide was sharing with the others. I debated about making a stink about switching seats and decided against that. I would recommend that the guides be aware of the challenges presented by the back seat and arrange for the seats to be rotated at various places along the excursion. But, other than that, we would recommend this company very highly!

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your tour out with us. Having the luxury of a modified SuperJeep with big tires can get you further with better comfort and touring out with small groups makes sure you have personal tour. It was a privilege to get to take you around Iceland. Blezzards are not a problem for us and gives you a bit of a dash of more fun. Hope you decide to come over again some times soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

My cousins and I booked a Golden Circle tour w/ Discover Iceland and had a blast! Amazing scenery, and a great guide. Our guide Hawk (Haukur Þorsteinsson) loves his country and shares that enthusiasm with his customers. Breathtaking landscapes and fun cultural stops. And we'd say Hawk was AWESOME!

Date of experience: April 2016
5  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your tour out with us. Having the luxury of a modified SuperJeep with big tires can get you further with more comfort and touring out with small groups makes sure you have personal tour. It was a privilege to get to take you around Iceland. Hope you decide to come over again some times soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I decided to do the golden circle tour with discover after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we're glad we did.

The booking process was simple and we were picked up on time by our cool tour guide Gummi.

We were sharing the jeep with another couple but there was more than enough space for us all. The jeep was huge.

On route to our first stop off, Gummi was full of information AND FUNNY at the same time - key to being informative whilst keeping everyone's attention! He taught us a lot about Iceland's history and modern day Iceland.

The sights were phenomenal and we have some great photos to treasure - the sights were made even more special due to the fact that we went way off road to see them. Untouched landscapes make beautiful photos!

The off roading was so much fun and a good part of the tour - far more enjoyable than sitting on a crowded bus on Tarmac.

The price tag is quite steep (discovery is cheaper than others though) but it is definitely worth the money. We had an absolutely fantastic day where we met new friends and witnessed some incredible sights. All down to Gummi our awesome guide.

Thank you.

Date of experience: April 2016
4  Thank Iain U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your tour out with us. Having the luxury of a modified SuperJeep with big tires can get you further with more comfort and touring out with small groups makes sure you have personal tour. It was a privilege to get to take you around Iceland. Hope you decide to come over again some times soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2016

My friends and I did 3 different tours with Discover Iceland. We wanted tours with some excitement and adventure plus sightseeing and that's exactly what we got. We definitely recommend this tour company. My one piece of advice when picking a tour group is to pay the extra money for the small group/super jeep tour. It's worth the money to be able to go past the other buses and off-road up mountains/glaciers/volcanoes!!

1. Golden Circle with HAWK!! So much fun. Hawk is an true energetic Viking with fun facts and a sense of adventure. We had a blast off-roading to the top of a glacier plus he added a secret stop (can't tell :) of something we did not see on any other tour we took. All of the sights are quite beautiful, especially after some snow fell. We lucked out and had perfect weather conditions the whole day. The waterfalls and mountains were beautiful. No words or pictures do it justice....you have to see for yourself.

2. South Coast Tour with FLOSI.--Flosi was more laid-back but had a great sense of humor and fun stories. Just wait for the joke about the forests :) This tour was just as incredible for off-roading to the top of a glacier where there is blue ice under your feet and you're as high as the clouds. Once in a lifetime experience and we lucked out with perfect weather once again. We also saw the black sand beach, waterfalls, and other cool sights. Again--pics don't do it justice.

3. Northern Lights Tour---Ok I hate to do this because I love this company but I'm going to be honest---I didn't love this tour- but I think it was just a random experience and not the normal experience. We did end up seeing the northern lights so it was amazing but I might recommend a super jeep tour that takes pictures for you. I didn't have a good camera and it would have been great to have a way to have a picture no matter what and I know other tours do that. Maybe you can ask them if they would do that because everyone is so accommodating.

Overall, you will love touring with this company!!

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank travelforfunNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Thank you for the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your three tours out with us. Having the luxury of a modified SuperJeep with big tires can get you further with more comfort and touring out with small groups makes sure you have personal tour. It was a privilege to get to take you around Iceland. You mention honesty, it is important part of operation, we want to make sure people get what they expect and enjoy it :) Hope you decide to come over again some times soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Discover Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing