We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Discover Iceland
from $920.87
More Info
from $1,141.00
More Info
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
1,132
82
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
82
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road super jeep northern lights tour golden circle south coast private tour minibus tour driving skills first night weather conditions great guide hot chocolate his knowledge these guys beautiful country driver guide highly recommend this company
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2016

All the other reviews of Discover Iceland are very accurate. The 4x4 Golden circle tour was the highlight of our visit. We had Haukur as our guide and he was great. One of our favourite guides we ever had. I'd love to go back and do another tour with him. And if Haukur is reading this, I picked up a Skalmold c.d. in Reykjavik like he suggested and like it a lot!

Date of experience: February 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank KStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you for the great review, makes us proud knowing how much you enjoyed your day out with us. Touring out in small groups in a very capable SuperJeep which can take you to places where other 4x4 can´t go is our thing :) We hope to see you soon over again :)

Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

This was our main reason for going to Iceland, so I paid the money and off we went in a giant 4x4. We were picked up promptly at 8.30pm by Gummi who was friendly and good fun. We picked up only 3 other people, so we had 5 in our group in total.

We drove out of the city and within the first hour we were treated to the attached photo and our first glimpse of the northern lights. We were thrilled and excited about the rest of the night.

We drove off to our second destination which we could have only got to because of the superjeep used. We again found the lights but they weren't as bright as before. We met up with another jeep and guide, I'm unsure if it was the same or a different company but we were offered hot chocolate which was a lovely touch considering the setting.

However for the next two hours we continued to follow the other jeep and continued to get stuck in the snow, helping the other vehicle get out. This was a little frustrating but we couldn't complain as we had seen the lights and that's what we came for!

Overall a brilliant and fun experience!

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank 341staceyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2016

Thank you Stacey for writing the review. Glad to know you liked the tour out with us and glad you saw the Northern Lights as it is not guaranteed when you visit Iceland. 4x4 experience is a large part of what we do and getting stuck can happen to anyone driving a 4x4 into remote areas, it is part of the fun :) Hope so see you over again some times soon, perhaps summer next time :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016

What a fantastic way to experience the northern light!!! We booked this trip as we didn't fancy a coach trip to the national park to stand around and wait for the lights to show. We wanted an interactive experience, which we certainly got!
We were picked up from our hotel at 8.30 pm by Ivar, who was a lovely, chatty guy. There were 5 of us on the trip, we were sat in the back which wasn't the most comfortable place to be, but we volunteered to sit back there so can't complain!
We drove to four different locations which were very remote and isolated. The lights only showed up at our last two locations. We had plenty of time to take photos and were provided with hot chocolate and biscuits. Throughout the tour we were given information on the locations and the history of Iceland.
We didn't get home until 2am, so be prepared for a long night, well worth it though.

Date of experience: February 2016
3  Thank Z1909WAcharlotteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2016

Thank you Charlotte for this great review. The advantage of our tours is that we have small groups and it is easy to chat to your driver/guide and other guests. We are a group of local hosts that love showing our guests Iceland, as we are proud of it :) Lucky you saw the lights, it does not always happen as we are dependent on the conditions with the clouds and NL activity level. Hope we see you again over soon :)

Georg @Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

It is an amazing experience to see the Northern Lights, it is just a shame our camera could not capture them. Our guides were very friendly and we went to remote areas in the glacier where there was nobody else. Journey was very bumpy, but probably the best bit of the tour. The snowmobile experience was incredible. Km & km of glacier to go accross with nobody to be seen. I would really recommend it.

Date of experience: February 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank laurablancoalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2016

Thank you for this great review. Glad you liked your 4x4 offroad tour experience with us in Iceland. Our SuperJeeps are very capable to take you off the beaten path up the the glacier where the fun start. As you mention a great idea is to go even further the snowmobiles. Hope we see you over again some times soon : )

Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

Very friendly and knowledgable guides (Ivar and Flosi). Took the golden circle tour and the northern lights tour, both of which were excellent; unfortunately, we didn't get a great glimpse at the northern lights, but not for lack of trying - we traveled to multiple locations, looking for openings in the partly cloudly sky. Riding in the Jeep is a bit bumpy, but that was part of the fun!

Date of experience: January 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank PeterZ1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2016

Thank you for the great review, glad you enjoyed your tour out with us. The Northern Lights can not always be seen as it is conditions dependent but we want to make sure all our guests get a great local 4x4 experience in a small groups. So as you say bumpy ride is a part of the fun :). Hope to see you over again soon :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews