We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Discover Iceland
from $1,143.35
More Info
from $922.76
More Info
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveler rating
1,134
82
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,134
82
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road super jeep northern lights tour golden circle south coast private tour minibus tour driving skills first night weather conditions great guide hot chocolate his knowledge these guys beautiful country driver guide highly recommend this company
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2016

We did three trips with Discover Iceland - Northern Lights (with Haukur), Golden Circle (with Orri) and South coast (with Gummi). I've spent a week trying to find the words to describe just how wonderful they were. Everything from the communication with the support team, to the enthusiasm and knowledge of the guides was wonderful.

They went above and beyond for us and the ability to take us off the beaten track meant we saw more of Iceland than the standard traveler. This was my first trip to Iceland and as someone who likes to travel, I would say that it's the best trip I've ever done. We saw the Northern Lights. climbed into an Ice cave and drove to the top of a glacier. I had the best birthday ever and fell completely in love with this beautiful country and its people.

Yes the trips are more expensive than the coach tours but they are worth every penny. Thank you Discover Iceland, you are amazing!

Date of experience: January 2016
4  Thank Vanesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you for the great review, makes us proud knowing how much you enjoyed your day out with us. Touring out in small groups in a very capable SuperJeep which can take you to places where other 4x4 can´t go is our thing :) We hope to see you soon over again :)

Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

This private tour is a great way to get off the beaten path and experience Iceland all to yourself. But make sure to choose a tour route that attracts less tourists like the Snaefellsnes peninsula. Mainly in sealed roads, 4wd not really required but was reassuring to have on the icy and snowy roads.
After a to-and-fro booking process we eventually were confirmed on this tour the night before. Note that this company requires a minimum of three people for certain tours to proceed. If not they have the right to cancel or invite you on another tour( if that tour has the right number). So be prepared to be flexible and contactable by email, for any last minute changes or confirmations.
The tour itself was five star, led by passionate guide Orri who just wanted to share his beautiful country. Lots of knowledgeable insights into the country. Very comfortable jeep with lots of flexibility, and stops as you desire. Stunning countryside with colorful sunrises and sunsets, snow topped mountains and volcanic lava fields. Passed through quaint fishing villages with views of the famous Snaefellsnes volcano.
The stunning scenery and peaceful surrounds of this peninsula made us start planning our next trip here in the summer.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you for the great review, makes us proud knowing how much you enjoyed your day out with us. Touring out in small groups in a very capable SuperJeep which can take you to places where other 4x4 can´t go is our thing :) We hope to see you soon over again :)

Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Everyone was so friendly, accommodating, and informative. Starting with Anna, with whom I was communicating with A LOT prior to our trip. She was always very pleasant and responsive. Always keeping our best interest at heart when scheduling for forecast of Northern Lights.

We had the privilege of Kiddi as our guide twice on our trip. First, we did the Golden Circle tour. The weather was less than cooperative for most of the journey, not letting us see most of the country-side, but Kiddi was so knowledgeable about Iceland's history and geology the weather didn't matter. In fact, we were meant to head out snowmobiling on the glacier and the weather cancelled that on us. However, Kiddi made the best of this and took us along to see Kerid - a collapsed volcano lake. The Icelandic Horse Park Fakasel and arranged a private tour - we learned about the Icelandic horse and were able to pet them. Lastly and I recommend, he brought us to the geothermal power plant for a tour. WOW!

For the Northern Lights Hunt we were paired up with Johannes, Joi for short, we unfortunately only got to see a glimmer of the lights. He felt genuinely bad so lowered his tire pressure in his Super Jeep and took us on an off road adventure. Making the night memorable.

Anna arranged us a second night for the Northern Lights, which we failed to find but were back in the story telling company of Kiddi.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2016

Thank you Jonathan for this great review, glad you enjoyed your tours out with us. The weather can be unpredictable so it happens that we need to adjust the tours according to the weather, there are so many places to visit around in Iceland especially on the Golden Circle route, we call them secret stops and we throw them in according to our customer interest :)

Hope to see you over again soon
Georg @ Discover.is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

My wife and I had the pleasure of taking tours with Discover Iceland the last three Decembers while visiting Iceland.

We did the Golden Circle Tour with Flossi in 2013, the South and Northern Light Tours with Birgir in 2014 and in December 2015 we did the Snaefellsnes Peninsula Tour with Kiddi.

Each trip was memorable and exciting in it’s own way.

The guides are awesome. Each one was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. They are excellent drivers in the difficult terrains and extreme weather off road in Iceland.

Georg and the staff are very helpful as well.

We will definitely do another tour with Discover the next time we return to Iceland.

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2016

Thank you Gregory for this great review, it is so great to see that you are coming over again and again, makes me proud to be an Icelander because for many countries people just travel to only once but you are coming over and over :) great. Hope you keep coming over and hope you keep getting the experience you have been getting before because we have a bit increase in tourism so it is important to us that travellers don´t get think it is overcrowded here.

So see you hopefully soon for the 4th time :)
Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016

We took the Northern Lights tour with this company & had a really memorable trip. In fact this made our trip.

Our friendly guide took us to a few locations whilst we were searching for the lights & found some great spots!

It was -7 so the hot chocolate towards the end of the trip was most welcome!

Thank you!

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank sjandsj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2016

Thank you for this amazing review, great to know how much you liked it. There is nothing better than a hot chocolate in -7 for sure, keeps you warm and cozy :)

All the best and hope to see you again
Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews