We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Discover Iceland

Discover Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER is a dynamic adventure travel operator in Iceland offering wide range of day and multi day tours and adventures to suit your desires with luxury. We are here to help you discover all the amazing things you can experience in the Icelandic nature. Our experienced driver guides will take you on a true adventure journeys around the most spectacular Icelandic hotspots in our modified luxury 4x4 Off Road Trucks. We provide you with personal service and make sure you have a memorable trip with us. Discover Ltd is registered tour operator by the Icelandic Tourist Board and cares about your safety on our trips.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

I booked a 6 day private tour for myself and three children aged 18 - 21. I had asked for the tour to be busy with plenty to do. We were met at the airport by our guide Georg Arnar and from the moment the tour started until it finished we had a fantastic time. I can't speak highly enough of Georg. He was great company and very professional. He knew exactly where to go for activities and sights to keep the family entertained. Activites included snowmobiling, horse riding, ice lagoon, crampon walking on the glacier, geothermal pools, swimming and whale watching all of which were great fun. The free sights that nature offers of waterfalls geezers mountains volcanoes lava fields glaciers hiking trails were indeed magnificent. We covered 1400 miles in 6 days with numerous stops every day to explore the best locations and participate in activities. I sat back to relax and learn about Iceland with Georg sharing his knowledge as he drove. I particularly enjoyed the remote 4x4 mountain roads that the super jeep easily managed. Thank you Georg and Discover Iceland for a great holiday.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Rowena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Thank you Rowena for writing the review, glad to know how much you liked the tour out with Georg Arnar. Iceland offers so much variety for everybody to enjoy when touring out for so many days, not only the amazing nature with glaciers, rivers, waterfalls, mountains, lava and sea but also the activities with snowmobiling, ATV, Offroading in the SuperJeep and more and more :)

So hope we see you again over in Iceland :)

Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off road"
in 113 reviews
"super jeep"
in 123 reviews
"northern lights tour"
in 126 reviews
"golden circle"
in 306 reviews
"south coast"
in 111 reviews
"private tour"
in 87 reviews
"minibus tour"
in 31 reviews
"driving skills"
in 15 reviews
"first night"
in 46 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 34 reviews
"great guide"
in 46 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 45 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 30 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 12 reviews
"these guys"
in 36 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 31 reviews
"driver guide"
in 25 reviews
Filter

722 - 726 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2015

We ordered online before our trip to Iceland with Discover Iceland. If you want to do the Landmannalaugar tour and enjoy the view on the very top besides other fantastic nature stops. Don't rent your own car and drive yourself. Sit back and relax.
On the way, two cars did not make it uphill to see Hekla's close up but have to turn around.
Fantastic guide and very experienced driver (ask for Gummi) that took us up to 1003 meters to the highest point that any four wheels driver had ever done.If we are not mistaken his tire tracks were still visible when we were up on the volcano mountain.
It was very windy (bring windbreakers and thick wool sweaters) and scary on the top with 45 degrees angle stop but it was worth it. The breathtaking views of snow capped mountains around.
Gummi also stopped us at a farmland after we said we love horses, we got close enough to touch the pure bred Icelandic horses. Just so beautiful!
Overall, we enjoyed our tour with Discover and thanks to Gummi who also guided us to another volcano climb and gorgeous waterfalls.
Jessica, Anna and Eva

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank JT88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Thank you for the great review. Landmannalaugar is one of our favorite places to visit as it gives you an opportunity to see the authentic highlands of Iceland. It is also a great area to make the most out of the SuperJeeps with big tires where we are able to cross deep rivers or drive through the deep snow in the winter.

Hope we see you again soon :)

Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

My family and I traveled to Iceland for one week this August. I was very excited about the trip, as I had done some research ahead of time and discovered what seemed to be a vibrant, thriving, small country with a beautiful culture. I was not wrong. On our first day in Iceland, we were picked up by Leo, an engaging, intelligent, and kind man. We spent 10 hours with him, climbing Mountain Hekla and venturing all the way out to Landmannalaugar in the spacious, comfortable, off-road ready Nissan Patrol GR. Not only was Iceland's nature spectacular, the conversation on the road was as well. Leo enthusiastically answered question after question about his country, his culture, and his experience. The conversation flowed fluidly through all sorts of topics throughout the day, and we all very soon felt like we had made a new friend. On our third day in Iceland, we were picked up by Gummi for the Golden Circle tour. Gummi and I are both drummers and photographers, so it's needless to say what a terrific day we had. Shared interests aside, Gummi is one of the cheeriest and most interesting people I've spoken to. We all talked of life and all of its mystery with the pristine backdrop of Southern Iceland. Definitely make Discover Iceland your number one choice if you want to truly discover this astounding country.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Niko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Thank you Niko for the great review, the fact that you liked Iceland so much makes us proud of being host for our country. The Golden Circle is by far our most popular tour as it offers so much variety in a one day with the big glacier Langjokull being the highlight. Landmannalaugar is also popular where you get to know the highlands of Iceland. Having the comfort of a SuperJeep where you can travel across rough landscape in a comfort due to the large and soft tires.

Hope we see you again over some times very soon :)

All the best
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

this guide are the best & "fill" the trip with all explanations we needed about the tour spicy with stories & jokes
unforgetable & very very recommended

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Thank you Joseph for the great review, glad you enjoyed your day out with us. Good jokes and great stories is a large part of each tour and make sure you learn allot about Iceland and our culture. Hope you join our tours again some times later on :)

Best Regards
Georg @ Discover Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2015

We booked a private trip for four after looking at most of the trips on offer we chose Discover Iceland and we weren't disappointed. If you have any doubts about the cost dismiss them right now if we had paid double it would have been totally incredible value for money. Adalsteinn collected us from our apartment right on time and we headed off for what has to be the most Incredible! Amazing and Fantastic road trip we've ever had! it's the only way to describe this day out.

This guy is an excellent guide and so knowledgeable, you feel totally safe on and off road too. Adalsteinn is fascinating listen to and it shows how much he loves the nature and history of his country by giving you facts, sagas and history of places that we went, we saw beautiful country, waterfalls and breathtaking scenery, crossed rivers and streams and everywhere we went his knowledge bought history and nature to life.
We took the Southern trip to the Black Sand coast, I won't say exactly where we went I don't want to spoil the trip for others. We stopped for lunch at a quiet farm restaurant away from the tour busses and had a relaxed meal, it was superb value and all fresh farm food. The rest of our trip was as breathtaking as the morning, it's us memories that will last forever it's an experience that we wouldn't have missed for the world. Iceland is such a beautiful and surprising country Discover Iceland's road trips take you to out and show you places that will leave you wanting to see more .......... So we'll be back for a winter visit and guess who we'll book with?
Thank you Adalsteinn and thank you Discover Iceland we'll see you again soon.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank JohnF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg T, Owner at Discover Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Thank you John for the great review, makes us proud knowing how much you liked your time with us and in Iceland. I agree that Iceland is full of surprises with so many different sights to visit where you have waterfalls, rivers, glaciers, lava fields, mountains, green fields and amazing sea sights.

Hope we see you again over some times very soon :)

All the best
Georg @ Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Discover Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing