We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Babalu

Cafe Babalu
Ranked #4 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We ducked in here for hot chocolate on a cold day.
There's a short enough food menu, but what everyone had looked tasty.
The setting is lovely - it's like being in someone's sitting room. It's so cosy I'd imagine you could stay for hours, and there's plenty o board games available if you feel like settling in.
Definitely worth popping in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CorkTouristOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    361
    87
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Although the menu isn't big you can surly find something to eat while you sit down to read a book or look into a paper.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArcherReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“My favourite cafe, anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

There are some places that get good reviews because their coffee is great. Others get good reviews for the food. Babalu, however, gets good reviews for a completely different reason; it just 'works'.

It's located on Skolavoroustigur, just down from the magnificent Cathedral. This street has more than its fair share of cool, artsy type places and seems to be a popular hang out for Reykjavik's student population. Cafe Babalu is difficult to miss. As soon as you enter, you see walls covered with posters and adverts for local events. The atmosphere in the cafe is fantastic, probably the most comfortable place in Reykjavik to relax. Nothing matches and there are books and board games lying around. It's fantastic.

The baked goods were really excellent and obviously home made. We ordered herbal teas on our many visits during our week in Reykjavik. It was all very reasonably priced. The free WiFi is also a bonus. Babalu attracts a wide variety of people, and we found it interesting to listen to all the different languages being spoken around us.

No visit to Reykjavik is complete without spending an hour or so relaxing in Babalu. I just wish there was a place like this in my own city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Cute, cozy and very tasty food! I really recommend it to chill out a bit after some walking along the streets of Reykjavik. It's definitely one of the most authentic cafés I have ever been to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnitogorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A warm welcome is to be found here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This cafe was interesting to say the least it was warm welcoming and comfortable with sofas and chairs all different the decor is to be seen to be beloved the coffee and hot chocolate and cheese cake was out of this world as was the beer and wine, we sampled it all.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and you could spend as much time as you liked there highly recommended.

Pauline and Kate

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lydesvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Babalu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Babalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing