We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible!!”
Review of Arctic Adventures

Arctic Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,818.00*
and up
6-Day Small-Group Adventure Tour Around Iceland...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arctic Adventures is an Icelandic adventure and activity company. We are a bunch of outdoor and adventure fanatics committed to the mission of mixing business and adventure! With an emphasis on eco tourism and environmentally friendly trips, we want to offer the best for our customers to experience in the unique Icelandic nature. We provide tours ranging from exciting River Rafting and Snorkeling in one of the world's clearest waters to Glacier hiking and trekking in some of the most beautiful sceneries Iceland has to offer. Additionally a wide range of other activities is offered to adventurous travelers. Our main office is located in Reykjavik and our two base camps are located close to Geysir and Gullfoss (western Iceland) and in Skaftafell (southeastern Iceland). Go home with a story worth telling!
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We signed up for a glacier hike on Sólheimajökull. We expected it to be cool; however, we didn't realize just how spectacular it would be!! Our guide (I wish I remembered her name), was so knowledgable, and this adventure really felt like an otherworldly experience--truly one of the highlights of our week in Iceland. I highly recommend anyone visiting Iceland sign up for this trek!

1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Ben B

These kind words mean a lot to us, thank you! We are doing our best to show the most wonderful places. We hope to see you again one day and show you more of Iceland.
Thank again for this lovely review!

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice climbing"
in 174 reviews
"blue ice"
in 139 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 171 reviews
"blue tour"
in 65 reviews
"golden circle"
in 237 reviews
"river rafting"
in 19 reviews
"northern lights"
in 181 reviews
"lava caving"
in 49 reviews
"day tour"
in 115 reviews
"silfra fissure"
in 50 reviews
"dry suit"
in 86 reviews
"secret lagoon"
in 44 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 38 reviews
"lava tube"
in 33 reviews
"super jeep"
in 60 reviews
"tectonic plates"
in 53 reviews
"small group"
in 66 reviews
Filter

1,090 - 1,094 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2017

Overall good experience. Would love to go back in the summer to see the change in scenery. Our guide was great! Did not see the Northern Lights but the stars were wonderful. We were a group of five and the only people at the huts/hiking. Enjoyed the hiking. It was not too strenuous. The second day we could not get across the river so it was a shorter hike than expected. The equipment (crampons, poles, boots) were all in excellent condition. If you rent boots, you do not get to try them on until you get there so if they do not fit you are out of luck. I ended up using my boots with my feet in plastic bags since my boots are not waterproof. That actually worked fine. No electric at the hut so have a headlamp to go to the outhouse at night. Wish I had taken wet wipes for hygiene. Bring an extra charge for phone/camera if you plan to use it alot. Slippers for use in the hut are needed as your boots come off at the door to keep the floor clean and dry. If you try to wear socks they can still get wet. Cabin heated with an oil stove and was very comfortable after it warmed up. Gas stove for cooking and unlimited water from the stream. Plenty of food on the trek but more cooking and doing dishes than I expected. First day on the drive we had lamb soup with bread for lunch and then did not eat again until after we got setup in the cabin and could cook. Have snacks with you if that is an issue. We stopped at gas stations with food and restrooms along the way so you can purchase snack/drinks if you want. We had plenty of time to see the waterfalls, glacier hiking etc. It was surprising to see how many tourists were at those locations in Feb.!

1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Elizabeth M,

thank you oh so much for taking the time to write us this great review and some excellent tips. We will be sure to pass them along to following participants. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope you enjoyed Iceland as a whole.
Kind regards,
Ragnheiður.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Expect this to be an all day event (11 ish hours) but well worth it! Bring a water bottle, camera, comfortable walking clothes, swim suit, and towel (recommended since all lagoon towels look the same and could be accidentally taken).

Tour guide was super knowledgeable and accommodating to everyone's needs and would let people walk through things or take the car with him to go from one side of the park or the other (perfect if you are getting tired, have kids, or just wanted a taste of nature).

Tour sizes don't surpass 16 people per tour so you can easily ask questions!

1  Thank mcpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear mcpollard,

It is nice to read your experience. We´ll keep it in mind to let customers bring their own towel to the Secret Lagoon. Our guides are great and want to make sure that everyone is having a wonderful time. Thank you for those lovely words!

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

This was a really great tour! You don't actually get to touch the two fissures at the same time but the water is so clear it makes up for that. The volcano hike is definitely worth it and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. If you have the time to spare during your vacation this is definitely something to do!

1  Thank KatyGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear KatyGirl84,

I am happy to read your lifetime experience during the snorkeling and hiking tour! We are glad to have such great guides in our team who knows a lot about Iceland. Thank you for these kind words.

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Snorkelling in Silfra with my 13 yo son - a fabulous experience. Being February I was worried about the cold but the equipment was good quality and this wasn't an issue. The staff were A1 - professional, friendly and reassuring. The only improvement would be to have a sheltered changing area - we had to change outside leaning against a bench which, being in my 50s, wasn't easy. But don't let that put you off, this truly is a must-do experience when in Iceland.

1  Thank Shelagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Shelagh B,

snorkeling during the winter period is no problem because we indeed have the right equipment. Although, I´m happy to read that you had a great time with you son. I am sure he had a wonderful time as well! Thank you for your suggestion, we will keep this in mind,

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Adventures also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Arctic Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing