We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Arctic Adventures
from $1,551.23
More Info
from $142.89
More Info
from $203.48
More Info
from $345.23
More Info
Reviews (4,252)
Filter reviews
2,357 results
Traveler rating
1,829
281
96
59
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,829
281
96
59
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice climbing glacier hike blue ice blue tour river rafting golden circle northern lights day tour lava caving silfra fissure dry suit south coast hiking boots lava tube the bus super jeep small group
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 2,357 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Overall good experience. Would love to go back in the summer to see the change in scenery. Our guide was great! Did not see the Northern Lights but the stars were wonderful. We were a group of five and the only people at the huts/hiking. Enjoyed the hiking. It was not too strenuous. The second day we could not get across the river so it was a shorter hike than expected. The equipment (crampons, poles, boots) were all in excellent condition. If you rent boots, you do not get to try them on until you get there so if they do not fit you are out of luck. I ended up using my boots with my feet in plastic bags since my boots are not waterproof. That actually worked fine. No electric at the hut so have a headlamp to go to the outhouse at night. Wish I had taken wet wipes for hygiene. Bring an extra charge for phone/camera if you plan to use it alot. Slippers for use in the hut are needed as your boots come off at the door to keep the floor clean and dry. If you try to wear socks they can still get wet. Cabin heated with an oil stove and was very comfortable after it warmed up. Gas stove for cooking and unlimited water from the stream. Plenty of food on the trek but more cooking and doing dishes than I expected. First day on the drive we had lamb soup with bread for lunch and then did not eat again until after we got setup in the cabin and could cook. Have snacks with you if that is an issue. We stopped at gas stations with food and restrooms along the way so you can purchase snack/drinks if you want. We had plenty of time to see the waterfalls, glacier hiking etc. It was surprising to see how many tourists were at those locations in Feb.!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Elizabeth M,

thank you oh so much for taking the time to write us this great review and some excellent tips. We will be sure to pass them along to following participants. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope you enjoyed Iceland as a whole.
Kind regards,
Ragnheiður.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Expect this to be an all day event (11 ish hours) but well worth it! Bring a water bottle, camera, comfortable walking clothes, swim suit, and towel (recommended since all lagoon towels look the same and could be accidentally taken).

Tour guide was super knowledgeable and accommodating to everyone's needs and would let people walk through things or take the car with him to go from one side of the park or the other (perfect if you are getting tired, have kids, or just wanted a taste of nature).

Tour sizes don't surpass 16 people per tour so you can easily ask questions!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank mcpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear mcpollard,

It is nice to read your experience. We´ll keep it in mind to let customers bring their own towel to the Secret Lagoon. Our guides are great and want to make sure that everyone is having a wonderful time. Thank you for those lovely words!

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

This was a really great tour! You don't actually get to touch the two fissures at the same time but the water is so clear it makes up for that. The volcano hike is definitely worth it and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. If you have the time to spare during your vacation this is definitely something to do!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank KatyGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear KatyGirl84,

I am happy to read your lifetime experience during the snorkeling and hiking tour! We are glad to have such great guides in our team who knows a lot about Iceland. Thank you for these kind words.

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Snorkelling in Silfra with my 13 yo son - a fabulous experience. Being February I was worried about the cold but the equipment was good quality and this wasn't an issue. The staff were A1 - professional, friendly and reassuring. The only improvement would be to have a sheltered changing area - we had to change outside leaning against a bench which, being in my 50s, wasn't easy. But don't let that put you off, this truly is a must-do experience when in Iceland.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Shelagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Shelagh B,

snorkeling during the winter period is no problem because we indeed have the right equipment. Although, I´m happy to read that you had a great time with you son. I am sure he had a wonderful time as well! Thank you for your suggestion, we will keep this in mind,

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

We booked several trips with Arctic Adventures as we were only in Iceland for a week and wanted to do as much as we could fit in.

We went riding across the lava fells, snorkelling in the Silfra rift, down the south coast to see the waterfalls, basalt beaches, iceberg lagoon, ice caves and glaciers and finally round the golden circle to see the beautiful national park, the geysers and the secret lagoon.

It was brilliant. Iceland is so full of awesome things to see and do and Reykjavik is a great city to poke around in. I'd recommend Artic Adventures to anyone. They pack loads in and the guides are really friendly and professional ( Especially Adolf who is a really good egg, just don't get him started on musicals! )

The only downside was the prices, which were a bit steep for us poverty-stricken Brits, and the Northern Lights which sneakily eluded us ... But we're definitely coming back again so perhaps we'll get lucky next time!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Ann O,

Thank you so much for those kind words, we really appreciate them! You have done lots of tours and I´m sure that you will never forget. Our guides are great and they love to share all their stories with you. I am sorry you didn´t had the chance to see the Northern Lights, they aren´t always visible, it depends on the weather. Thanks again for your review!

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews