We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Small Group Glacier Experience from Solheimajokull Glacier
344

Book in advance
from
$90.73
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Arctic Adventures
from $90.73
More Info
from $157.97
More Info
from $117.41
More Info
from $92.86
More Info
Reviews (9,306)
Filter reviews
9,306 results
Traveler rating
7,285
994
299
222
506
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,285
994
299
222
506
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier hike blue ice tour golden circle day tour northern lights ice climbing dry suit south coast silfra fissure the bus lava tube super jeep small group hiking boots tectonic plates diamond beach the black sand beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,551 - 5,556 of 9,306 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2017

We did the south coast tour with a glacier hike. Our tour guide Ásmír was exceptional. She gave great information along the road and kept us safe on the glacier. I would definitely recommend the south coast tour. The buses were well maintained but my seat had very little leg room. I'm 5'7" so not exceptionally tall. The stop at the cafe at the black beach was great. Definitely get a cappuccino and a snack. They serve lamb stew and turnip soup as well as tons of other choices.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank DeNeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Overall good experience. Would love to go back in the summer to see the change in scenery. Our guide was great! Did not see the Northern Lights but the stars were wonderful. We were a group of five and the only people at the huts/hiking. Enjoyed the hiking. It was not too strenuous. The second day we could not get across the river so it was a shorter hike than expected. The equipment (crampons, poles, boots) were all in excellent condition. If you rent boots, you do not get to try them on until you get there so if they do not fit you are out of luck. I ended up using my boots with my feet in plastic bags since my boots are not waterproof. That actually worked fine. No electric at the hut so have a headlamp to go to the outhouse at night. Wish I had taken wet wipes for hygiene. Bring an extra charge for phone/camera if you plan to use it alot. Slippers for use in the hut are needed as your boots come off at the door to keep the floor clean and dry. If you try to wear socks they can still get wet. Cabin heated with an oil stove and was very comfortable after it warmed up. Gas stove for cooking and unlimited water from the stream. Plenty of food on the trek but more cooking and doing dishes than I expected. First day on the drive we had lamb soup with bread for lunch and then did not eat again until after we got setup in the cabin and could cook. Have snacks with you if that is an issue. We stopped at gas stations with food and restrooms along the way so you can purchase snack/drinks if you want. We had plenty of time to see the waterfalls, glacier hiking etc. It was surprising to see how many tourists were at those locations in Feb.!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank elizabethm477
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Elizabeth M,

thank you oh so much for taking the time to write us this great review and some excellent tips. We will be sure to pass them along to following participants. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope you enjoyed Iceland as a whole.
Kind regards,
Ragnheiður.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Expect this to be an all day event (11 ish hours) but well worth it! Bring a water bottle, camera, comfortable walking clothes, swim suit, and towel (recommended since all lagoon towels look the same and could be accidentally taken).

Tour guide was super knowledgeable and accommodating to everyone's needs and would let people walk through things or take the car with him to go from one side of the park or the other (perfect if you are getting tired, have kids, or just wanted a taste of nature).

Tour sizes don't surpass 16 people per tour so you can easily ask questions!

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank mcpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear mcpollard,

It is nice to read your experience. We´ll keep it in mind to let customers bring their own towel to the Secret Lagoon. Our guides are great and want to make sure that everyone is having a wonderful time. Thank you for those lovely words!

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile

Picked up promptly by our guide Kiddy(don't know Icelandic spelling) we were taken through the main sites of the golden circle-the positives to being on a small tour was that we were never waiting for others to return to the coach and could fit more in-by the end of the day we had visited gulfloss waterfalls-geysir and pingvellir national park, as well as the geothermal power station, a thermally powered tomato plant-an earthquake simulator. The piece de resistance however was the off roading on top of a mountain/ glacier-it was expertly driven and our guide really gave us an incite into Iceland-highly recommend spending the extra money for the more exclusive tour.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Giulietta34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

This was a really great tour! You don't actually get to touch the two fissures at the same time but the water is so clear it makes up for that. The volcano hike is definitely worth it and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. If you have the time to spare during your vacation this is definitely something to do!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank KatyGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ragnheidur H, Director of Social Media at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear KatyGirl84,

I am happy to read your lifetime experience during the snorkeling and hiking tour! We are glad to have such great guides in our team who knows a lot about Iceland. Thank you for these kind words.

Kind regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews