We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Arctic Adventures
from $70.92
More Info
from $87.93
More Info
from $145.04
More Info
from $194.14
More Info
Reviews (3,641)
Filter reviews
2,417 results
Traveler rating
1,875
284
99
60
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,875
284
99
60
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice climbing glacier hike blue ice blue tour river rafting golden circle northern lights day tour lava caving silfra fissure dry suit south coast hiking boots the bus lava tube small group super jeep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,346 - 1,351 of 2,417 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Tour guide Tate picked us up right on time. Drive 30 minutes to where we got our suits for snowmobiling. They were hilarious to wear but kept us warm and we had a fun photo shoot! Continued to drive another 30 minutes to the glacier. Got on the snowmobiles and drove around for an hour. Driving was so fun and the amazing views were even better. Such a fun day, great for groups or couples. Definitely a must if in Iceland.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Snowmobiling tour on Langjökull Glacier. The orange jump suits can be funny to warm but they keep you warm and help our guides keep track of you on the white glacier. :-)
The snowmobiles take you into and up on the glacier for some great views over the area.

Thanks again for the kind words and joining us on this adventure!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile

Writing this review on behalf of my boyfriend as he doesn't have a TripAdvisor account. He booked the dive between tectonic plates with artic adventures through our hotel and was so glad he did! Very professional tour guides and divers. Great equipment. He absolutely loved the dive-the water was crystal clear. He will definitely be recommending to his fellow divers.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank foxypops1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your boyfriends experience with us diving in Silfra! We are happy to hear he had such a nice time and noticed our high quality equipment. Water doesn't get much clearer than at Silfra Fissure as the glacier water slips through the tectonic plates into this mini-river wonderland.

We greatly appreciate you sharing this with us and send your boyfriend our warmest regards!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We booked for this trip in advance and made our own way to the glacier. If you are coming from the west there is a sign to the café where you meet the coach from Reykjavik. This doesn't quite tally with the satnav so research the venue first.
The equipment provided was clean and well maintained. We had crampons, harness, ice axe and helmets. There is a short walk to the glacier then a climb up steps cut in the ice to the plateau . The trip is quite magical and our guide certainly knew the history and geology of the area. We were so impressed with his knowledge.
I visited with my son. daughter and her boyfriend. It was not at all strenuous for them but if you are older with arthritic knees it is tricky. Having said that it is well worth a little discomfort to see the basalt stacks, crevasses, sink holes and ice ridges.
Be prepared for every kind of weather and dress up warm with thermals and decent boots and waterproofs. We had hail, snow, a blizzard, sunshine- the weather changes in an instant. What a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Janwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your brilliant experience and sharing your photos from our tour! There is much to see and learn about this area as it is surrounded by mountains, glaciers and volcanoes. Like in Iceland and especially when hiking on a glacier its always best to dress for all types of weather as like you said it can change in an instant.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and love your photos on the glacier!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

My tour was absolutely amazing. The scenery is like nothing else in the world and the hikes were challenging in parts but very fun and worthwhile. The accommodation is basic but nice and it’s wonderfully quiet in the mountains. The guides were excellent; they are very experienced and know a great deal about the country and its history and were also very funny and entertaining. My guides Linus and Inga were wonderful to travel with and they went above and beyond expectations to ensure that I got the most out of my trip. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank LucyB3148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Northern Lights - 4 day trek with us! It is great to get such positive feedback from our first trip of the season. Linus and Inga are very passionate and have a vast amount of knowledge of the country to share. Thorsmork is one of the wonders of Iceland with truly unique scenery and makes it one of the best places to see the northern lights.

Thanks again for the kind words and joining us on this 4 day adventure!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went for a Glacier hiking day excursion today at Solheimajokull glacier and were guided by Artic adventures guides, Piggi and Ravi. Although it was a dream come true for me, I was really nervous initially as I had no knowledge or experience on glacier hiking. However the fears soon have way to exhilaration.
And this is mainly due to the professionalism exhibited by the two guides. They placed our safety as the top priority. The friendly guides cared for our safety at every step of the way.

The magnificence of the glaciers was awe inspiring and it is an adventure that everyone shoukd experience when visiting Iceland.

Thank you Piggi and Ravi for making my dream come true.

With thanks always,
Uma

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 458shantid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your day tour "Glacier Experience" with us at Sólheimajökull. Glacier hiking is something you can only do in a handful of places in the world so our highly trained glacier guides are used to helping people overcome their fears of going on a glacier for the first time.
We are lucky to have Biggi and Ravi on our team as they are true professionals.

Thanks again for the kind words and joining us on our adventure!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews