We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long day tour at Landmannalaugar (Brennisteinsalda volcano)”
Review of Arctic Adventures

Arctic Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arctic Adventures is an Icelandic adventure and activity company. We are a bunch of outdoor and adventure fanatics committed to the mission of mixing business and adventure! With an emphasis on eco tourism and environmentally friendly trips, we want to offer the best for our customers to experience in the unique Icelandic nature. We provide tours ranging from exciting River Rafting and Snorkeling in one of the world's clearest waters to Glacier hiking and trekking in some of the most beautiful sceneries Iceland has to offer. Additionally a wide range of other activities is offered to adventurous travelers. Our main office is located in Reykjavik and our two base camps are located close to Geysir and Gullfoss (western Iceland) and in Skaftafell (southeastern Iceland). Go home with a story worth telling!
Reviewed September 16, 2016

If you are not prepared for a 4+ hour drive to reach this place, then this might be a bit annoying for you. But the drive is definitely worth it, this place is amazing. Just look up some pictures.
Our guide was Norris, he was helpful and experienced. When climbing up at the steepest part of the trail upward, he talked with us in Hungarian. This was such a good surprise that I even forgot to worry about the difficulty I was going through while climbing upwards.
Hiking boots are necessary, and I would definitely recommend some trekking poles because there are some steep parts when climbing up and down as well. It can be done without it, but there were some parts when my girlfriend, who has some fear of heights, would have benefited from a supporting pole. Make sure you a rested before the tour to have a chance to enjoy the afternoon when the actual hike takes place.

We used a different bus to get back to Reykjavík, and I could not sit next to my girlfriend which bothered me a bit, but we were almost the last to get on, so with the full bus we occupied the seats we found. If you can, bring a neck pillow for the way back because you will be probably tired and this is a long drive.

Thank Oldblackjoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your Landmannalaugar hiking tour. You sure were lucky having Norris not just because of his knowledge and experience but there aren't many people in Iceland that speak Hungarian. Too bad no one offered to switch seats to let you guys sit together and a neck pillow is a good idea for the bus ride, we might just add that to our list of suggested items.

Thanks again for sharing your experience as it is greatly appreciated and for the kind words!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice climbing"
in 169 reviews
"blue ice"
in 135 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 165 reviews
"blue tour"
in 61 reviews
"grand slam"
in 18 reviews
"river rafting"
in 17 reviews
"golden circle"
in 222 reviews
"northern lights"
in 171 reviews
"lava caving"
in 45 reviews
"day tour"
in 112 reviews
"silfra fissure"
in 49 reviews
"dry suit"
in 83 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 37 reviews
"lava tube"
in 31 reviews
"super jeep"
in 59 reviews
"tectonic plates"
in 50 reviews
"small group"
in 61 reviews
Filter

1,490 - 1,494 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2016

This hike was amazing! They provide pickup and drop off from your hotel which is very helpful because it is a 2.5hr drive from Reykjavik. During the drive the guide pointed out points of interest and told us stories about the area. We stopped about an hour into the drive at a shop so people could buy lunch to take away and use the bathroom.
Once we got to the glacier there was a cafe to use bathrooms there also if you need to as the hike is quite long.
They say to have "good hiking boots" but I highly recommend renting their boots as they are proper boots for ice climbing. We saw many people struggle with the climbing because their soles were bendable.
The hike itself is not that difficult. It is quite steep for the first ten minutes (which obviously means for the last ten minutes too) but once you're past that part it is pretty much flat from there with very slight inclines here or there. They stop to take lots and lots of breaks which makes the hike fairly easy. The ice climbing is very fun, it is tough but I suggest trying it. Don't worry too much about the crampons as walking in them is very easy and after a while you will not even notice them.
About 20 minutes into the drive home we stopped at a beautiful waterfall for about 15 minutes and then we stopped in the shop again for bathroom/food breaks. The entire trip took a total of 11hours.

1  Thank Saidhbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for telling us about your amazing hiking and ice climbing experience. It is a very good point about the hiking boots, because it is important that they have a stiff bottom for the ice climbing part. Your description of the tour is both encouraging for us and for those that don't know if they should try this to let go of their fears and give it a try!

Thanks again for joining us on this adventure and the kind words. :-)

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Great tour! Did the black and blue tour which included the lava tunnel and snorkeling. The tour was amazing, loved every moment of it. Group was nice and small with wonderful tour guide. Would definitely recommend doing on your trip to Iceland.

Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time and telling us about your Black and Blue experience. We are so glad you had an amazing time exploring these unique landmarks with us.

Thanks again for joining us on this adventure and for the kind words!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I took the day trip your from Reykjavik for the glacier hiking and climbing tour and it was by far the best thing I did in Iceland. Not only was the glacier beautiful, but Helga and Norris were fantastic guides. The climbing was difficult but it was such a cool experience that I'll never get to experience again. Thank you for all the rest information and laughs, you guys are amazing!!!

Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time and telling us about your Blue Ice experience. The combination of glacier hiking and ice climbing at Sólheimajökull is always fun but with guides like Helga and Norris I know you had a blast.
Thanks again for the kind words, I will be sure to pass them on.

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Our group took the inaugural 6 Day Circle of Iceland Guided Tour. The company is known more for shorter adventure trips so this was new for them as well. Our guide Frimann was very knowledgeable about everything Icelandic. you get to experience a wide variety about Iceland including all the major waterfalls, glacier hike, whale watching and a number of natural wonders. The bad is the amount of time spent in a cramped 16 person van. in order to do this in the future they need to save the van we used for shorter trips and allocate a larger vehicle with more leg room.Iam 6'5" and at time it was rather uncomfortable.

Thank marktS5189DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time and telling us about your 6 day around Iceland tour with us. I will be sure to pass on the compliments to Frímann and am glad you enjoyed the tour. I'm sorry that the leg room wasn't sufficient and we will be looking into what changes need to be done.
Thank you again for joining us on this trip around Iceland and telling us about your experience.

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Adventures also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Arctic Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing