We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Small Group Glacier Experience from Solheimajokull Glacier
344

Book in advance
from
$90.73
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Arctic Adventures
from $90.73
More Info
from $157.97
More Info
from $117.41
More Info
from $92.86
More Info
Reviews (9,306)
Filter reviews
9,306 results
Traveler rating
7,285
994
299
222
506
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,285
994
299
222
506
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier hike blue ice tour golden circle day tour northern lights ice climbing dry suit south coast silfra fissure the bus lava tube super jeep small group hiking boots tectonic plates diamond beach the black sand beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6,114 - 6,119 of 9,306 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

World is really a giant playground. The boat was as picked from a James Bond movie. Oh, did we mention it was a good sightseeing, despite the speed by which we blasted through the canyon.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank marcus13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We did 2 tours with this company in early August. The 1st was the Golden Circle and Snorkeling tour. We were told to be ready for pick-up between 9:30-10am. The driver didn't show up until 10:45am, and there was no communication from the company that the driver was running late. About 10 minutes into our drive we got pulled over by the police for a broken tail light on the bus. It also turned out that our driver did not have a valid driver's license with him (shouldn't that be the primary thing a driver of a tour group should have???) - so we had to wait almost an hour for a new driver to arrive before we could begin our tour. The tour guide barely spoke and gave only a few facts/highlights of what we were going to see, and when he did speak it was so quick you could barely understand what he said. We felt incredibly rushed at the Gullfoss waterfall, 30 minutes is barely enough time to quickly walk through the throngs of tourists up to the waterfall and turn right around and get back on the bus. The group that outfitted us for the snorkel part of the tour was pretty organized - and it was a pretty cool part of the trip. Keep in mind though that there is no sea-life to see on the Silfra Fissure.
The 2nd tour we took with this group was the Landmannalauger hiking tour. We left on time for this tour - however I did not realize that it would be a 5hr drive to get there. If you googlemap the distance it should only take 3hrs - however the bus we rode was essentially a shuttle that made many stops along the way to pick up people hiking on their own. And there is only 1 restroom stop during the 5hrs - so don't drink a lot of coffee before you go. The hike itself is beautiful - but the trails are very well marked - so you could easily do it yourself instead of with a huge group of 24 people (note the group size could be up to 32 people). The 2 guides were very nice - but honestly I would recommend finding a more direct shuttle that goes there and doing a hike yourself, then relaxing in the hot spring,
I would definitely pick a different tour group than Arctic Adventures. We did a couple of tours with GeoIceland - and one with Goecco that were awesome. Their organization and tour guides were so much better.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time and telling us about your experience.
I am sorry for the delay on the Golden Circle trip, it was unfortunate that our driver lost his drivers license as this is something that should not happen on our trips.
We do not operate the transportation for the Landmannalaugar trip but the guide is from us. One restroom stop adds 30 minutes to the trip and that is their reason for only one stop on the way. Google maps gives you the wrong route towards Landmannalaugar for buses because they take another route that is at least 3 and half hours. We do have private trips to Landmannalaugar on super jeeps that may take the route you mention but that is of course a totally different price. This day trip you went on is almost the same price as just the bus trip without a guide with other bus companies.
Thank you again for informing us about your trip, it is greatly appreciated and if there is anything you would like to add here is my email address: kristjank@adventures.is.

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I booked several tours with Arctic Adventures, Including: Lava caving, Snorkelling in Silfra, Rafting in Gulfoss, Ice Climbing at Solheimajokull Glacier, and the classic Golden Circle. Each excursion was amazing - equipped with knowledgeable and friendly local and international staff. My favourite was Snorkelling in Silfra (between the tectonic plates) - I've never seen water so clear and clean before. Better than bottled.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank hannah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kristján Karl B, Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Hello,

Thanks for rating us and choosing to join us on all of these adventures! You sure know how to pick them and those are the perfect day tours with pick up from Reykjavík to do during the summer. We pride ourselves of having a diverse staff, finding the most qualified from around the country and abroad. Snorkelling in Silfra is truly something unique in this world and can totally understand why that was the highlight of the bunch.

Thanks again for your kind words!

All the best,
Kristján
Content Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We did this as a private tour with a youth group, aged 10-14. They had a brilliant time. Our Guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The cave floor was uneven and there was some climbing and stooping involved, so you need to be fairly fit.
It was also interesting to visit the cave that people lived in and to hear some of the history involved.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 4tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My two teenage sons and I did the snorkeling tour at Silfra. We met the group on location. There was a bit of confusion at first because we were told to meet at the Pingvellir Visitors Center but the correct location was the Pingvellir information Center which was a short drive away. This confusion was probably due to our hotel where we booked the tour however and not the fault of this operator. The snorkeling was incredible - not like anywhere I have ever been especially because the water is only 33 degrees Fahrenheit. The guides were professional and helpful throughout. The only disappointment was that there was a long wait (close to 45 minutes) to enter the water as the site gets quite crowded. Consider doing it early or late in the day rather than at 1 pm in August as we did.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Trek14984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews