We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Volcano House
from $178.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $1,248.60
More Info
Reviews (1,626)
Filter reviews
1,447 results
Traveler rating
558
592
232
51
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
592
232
51
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recent eruptions westman islands volcanic activity volcanic rock small cinema interesting film icelandic fish and chips rock samples icelandic volcanoes fish restaurant on display gift shop worth a visit films ash movie footage
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,447 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

I visited Iceland, Reykjavik and the volcano house first time last week, and the service we received was superb. The gentleman was very friendly, noticed everyone coming in/out, was helpfull with information required.

Thank SnowyOwly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a short film on the destruction of Westmann island volcano of 1973. I had expected more including the more rent eruptions of 2010

Thank celovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to watch this in the evening when it was cold outside and we were the only ones in there which was a shame really because it was a good show. Obviously we loved having the theatre to ourselves and the pick of seats! I think the price could be a little lower if I’m honest but overall I’d recommend it. Seniors don’t get caught out- you’re only a senior if over 65!

Thank Ja553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These documentaries gave great information to begin to understand the country and the constant threat of volcanic activity.

Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The tour started at Volcano house and is led by one of the founders of Volcano House. The history is provided in 2 videos you view there to start the tour and then we were taken in a what turned out to be a private tour of the landscape of Iceland with a lot of insights into this very volcanic island. The spots were not on any of the standard tours and the conversation provided many insights into the status of Iceland and the future of our planet where key plates connecting our planet come together. If you have 4 hours to spare and have an interest in how our world and land masses were formed, this is a great way to spend a part of your day.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting and educational. It was 2 films, each 30 minutes long. Learned much about Iceland as a volcanic island.

Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In combo with Snorkelling Silfra in the morning , we spent the afternoon lava caving . First we watched a movie at the Volcano House ..1 hour , very interesting.
Then our guide , “Gilli”. ,met us. Three in our group . We had an incredible afternoon . It was like a personal photographic tour. He helped with settings , composition and framing. He took us to a lava field, with geosteaming mud bubbling from the ground , a lake in the lava field and then he took us into a lava tube ...off the beaten path .. He had helmets for us with lights . We entered the lava tube and spent over an hour underground. I have to say ....thanks to Gilli , I had an incredible afternoon ...He loves what he does and it shows . I heavily recommend this snorkelling and lava combo ...one of our favourite days !

Thank eddiemac436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear eddimac436.
Thank you so much for your comment - we appreciate it a lot. Yes, these lava caving tours are amazing. We work with tour campanies who take people on a tour like you did - so watching our films and then go on a tour is a great combo.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Iceland

All the best
María Kristín Óskarsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before going inside the Volcano attraction, worth to visit Volcano house the first. As I am keen on knowledge about Volcanoes, it was really good experience to watch 2 documentaries (Heimaey and Grimsvotn) for almost 1 hour. Before or after there is really excellent exhibition of a collection of the rocks and minerals of Iceland. And it was possible even to touch some of them! Good books and souvenirs are available, as well caffeteria. It was cosy, nice and welcomed atmosphere inside the house and I felt I am at home. I really enjoyed it!

Thank heartblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly, small exhibition and shop plus two documentaries about Icelandic volcano eruptions. Quite informative. Visit should take about an hour or so. Films shown in English every hour on the hour.

Thank BillMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Staff here are amazing, super helpful friendly and knowledgeable about the geology of their home. A great place to learn about volcanoes and volcanic landforms that you will see on your visit to Iceland - definelty with visiting at the start of your time - to give you the most out of your stay

Thank barrindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello barrindp.
Thank you for your comment - we appreciate it very much. The staff at Volcano House tries to help every guest as much as they can and inform them about volcanoes and icelandic geological history.

All the best

María Kristín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews