We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly done documentaries”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #17 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poorly done documentaries”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

For the price, this really is not worth it. The documentaries are poorly done and left more questions than answers for us. It is two different documentaries shown back to back with completely separate introductions. We were hoping for more of an overview of how life in Iceland has been shaped by volcanoes, but instead we got very general, basic info that you could read about online and videos you could look up on YouTube. Really not worth the money...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review about Volcano House. We are sad to hear that the movies were not up to your standars for some reason. Even though not everyone can agree we are very proud to screen these movies, and we pride ourselves of the fact that the second movie of Eyjafjallajökull was nominated for an Emmy award in 2012! We thank that says alot about the quality of the movies themseleves. The first movie was ofcourse recorded during the eruption in 1973 but we´ve put alot of effort into making it into better quality.
We hope you had a nice time in Iceland,

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    590
    228
    53
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see upon arrival in Iceland”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

After a good meal at the Icelandic Fish & Chips (in the same building) we stumbled upon a geological exhibit related to the volcanoes in Iceland with a variety of rocks and ash and salt and other interesting pictures to see and things to touch. Then we noticed that there was a movie about the volcanoes which started momentarily. We purchased the tickets and sat down for about an hour to watch the 2 very interesting professional documentaries (back to back) about the most significant eruptions on the island (1973 and 2010).

This was very useful and a good way to become familiar with one of the big issues in Iceland: the volcanoes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OmbrettaMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello dear friend,

We are so grateful to read these kind and positive words. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and got a deeper understanding of our volcanoes.
We hope to see you again in the future!

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great Movie, but should have closed down during the Reno!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The movies are very interesting if volcanoes are your thing, from the Eyjafjallajökull eruption that shut down air traffic in 2010 to older lesser known yet still devastating ones. It's just too bad they were drilling nearby throughout as it was really loud and distracting. The staff felt bad and gave us a discount off some postcards we bought. They did have some cool stuff there, and the interpretive displays are very interesting and informative. Worth a visit! Just make sure the construction is done!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear friend!

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are sad to hear that constructions had some influence on your movie experience, our friends from Fish and Chips have just opened up their restaurant next to our cinema but now it is all finished and our guests can enjoy a healthy meal or a cup of coffee before seeing our movies.
We hope to see you again some day!

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Close to our hotel so easy to pop in. Very informative, good film and well worth a visit to see this. Pity the restaurant wasn't open

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank drjan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi friend!
Many thanks for those kind words. We´re happy to say that the Fish and Chips restaurant is now open for buisness.

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great movie”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

For 1 hour you get two movies on Volcanos in Iceland. You get to see the total destruction and the sheer power. A must in Iceland

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 101Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Volcano House. We agree it is "a must" when staying in Reykjavik :)

All our best,
Volcano House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing