We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intresting”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #16 of 183 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was very informative. Amazing footage of the Volcanos and shows a lot of the history. It was a bit expensive, about $20.00 cdn per person, but I would still recommend it.

Thank dkuester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear dkuester, thank you for your nice review and you visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Regarding the price, we are unable to keep it lower as the Volcano House is open 13 hours a day, 7 days a week and we pay regular fees to the film makers. I have explained before that the films are made solely for the Volcano House and cannot be seen anywhere else and quality productions for small markets tend to be more expensive than mass production for bigger markets. Best regards, The Volcano Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 929 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

They have a movie about the Volcano's but to me it seemed very expensive so we just had a browse around the shop, had coffee and some really nice cake.

Thank South63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear South63. Our films are the pride of the Volcano House, so we believe you missed quite a lot by not seeing them. However it is good to hear you enjoyed the cake :-) Best regards, The Volcano Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Two excellent films - I found out more about volcanos than I thought I'd ever need to know. But they are just films, so the entrance fee is a bit pricey. Nice exhibition and coffee shop. Worth a visit.

Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear soul_man_dave. Thank you very much for your visit and your nice review. We are happy to hear you learned a lot about the volcanoes in Iceland. That is our goal. Best regards, the Volcano Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stopped in here for a cup of coffee,and were not disappointed as it was delicious!Unfortunately we weren't hungry as the cakes on offer looked great;another time!Nice position near the harbour,great atmosphere.

Thank margueritelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear margueritelaura,
thank you very much for your positive review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Best regards, the Volcano House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived in Reykjavik very early in the morning and were looking for a place to eat breakfast and found the Volcano House. We had to wait until 10 for the kitchen to open but while we were waiting we toured the volcano exhibit there and the gentleman who worked there told us about the volcano eruptions over the years and showed us photos. They have a movie about he volcano history and activity if you want to purchase a ticket. The breakfast was very good and the atmosphere relaxing with couches and large windows that look out to the harbor.

Thank Wyldecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Public Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Wyldecamp
thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to hear you enojoyed the visit.
Best regards, the Volcano House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing