We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good film, lovely coffee and cake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #20 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good film, lovely coffee and cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

enjoyed a very nice cup of coffee and the hot chocolate was very much enjoyed by my wife and then went into see the film. The film was very informative and was blown away by the volcano erruptions that destroyed the island back in the 70's, its an amazing testament to how Icelanders have to deal with the almighty power or mother nature and work with her to survive. The other film was also well shot and showed some breath taking views. The setting wasnt as nice as cinema No 2 just round the corner and the films were more documentary but still had a good time.

One thing i didnt realise was that i had to pay as there were no signs or information i could see in the building and the door to the cinema was just open to walk into so we did after our drinks and when we left we did feel like we were hoodwinked abit as it is quite pricey to see and if we had known the price im not sure i would have viewed the films. We only found out we had to pay when we were about to walk out of cafe and the lady shouted at us to stop. Was very embarassing as im no criminal and would never try to cheat a business out of money intentionaly. Still happy to reccomend it but just a heads up you have to pay either before or after and its not the cheapest or the best setting to see films about volcanos in Reykjavik. but deffo go for the coffee and cake!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 999christian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank your very much for you comment. It will really help us to improve our service.

In the end the most important goal of the staff and owners of Volcano House are to fulfill all our visitors’ expectations and even surpass them of possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    554
    211
    50
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“informative and cosy attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

It had for a long time been a dream of mine to come to Iceland and a reason for that is that the nature of Iceland fascinates me - the Volcano house was therefore the perfect place to visit when I finally came to Iceland! It was a very good supplement of actually being in the nature, which one is a lot when visiting Iceland. I spent my time there watching a volcano documentary, walking around looking at the beatiful stone collection and after that I had some nice lunch in the trendy but cozy café. I can't do anything else but recommend this place!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for recommending Volcano House! It is one of our most important goal to be a place where people can stop by and gather some informations about the beautiful but yet sublime and overwhelming Icelandic nature and it‘s constant modification due to the volcanic activity of the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A cosy afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great food, fascinating movies. A very cosy and informative afternoon.
When having heard so much about Icelandic volcanoes the last couple of years it was interesting to get some local experts to talk about the subject.

I would definitely recommend people to visit this hidden gem!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andreas_Juul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank for your kind review. It is delightful to know that our gests find our films interesting and that it fulfills there expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We found this interesting place by chance as we walked back to our hotel after dinner. Very interesting displays of volcanoes rocks and dust and lots of impressive pictures documenting two well known eruptions: one took place in 1973 and forced the entire population of an island just off the Iceland coast to flee to the mainland. The other one is the famous 2010 Eyafyattnajokull which much affected the air traffic everywhere in the world. A nice gentleman showed us various items of the exhibition and, even if it was not in the plans, got us watch a documentary about the 2010 eruption. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zephirus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you! Visit Volcano House after dinner and after a nice and adventures day tour in the Icelandic nature is an excellent thing to do in the evening!! We are open untill 22.00 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to visit near the Old Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I totally agree with the other reviews - and a great concept - an interesting place to stop for a coffee and be informed about volcanoes, as we drank our coffee watching the two films. Don't confuse the Volcano House with Volcano Tours (they are totally different, independently run companies.)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank juniperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you! It could bee an idea to start your Icelandic experience in Volcano House to qather some geological information of and then take a trip with the guides at Volcano Tour to visit the real volcanos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing