We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Volcano House

Volcano House
Ranked #17 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Volcano House is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the heart of Reykjavik. This is the place where one can learn about the Icelandic volcanoes by watching high quality film that were created for the Volcano House. Moreover, there is a great lava stones collection, souvenir shop and the collection of arts from famous Icelandic artists. We pride ourselves with of our multilingual staff many of whom have studied geology and so can add to the understanding of our customers.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We found this interesting place by chance as we walked back to our hotel after dinner. Very interesting displays of volcanoes rocks and dust and lots of impressive pictures documenting two well known eruptions: one took place in 1973 and forced the entire population of an island just off the Iceland coast to flee to the mainland. The other one is the famous 2010 Eyafyattnajokull which much affected the air traffic everywhere in the world. A nice gentleman showed us various items of the exhibition and, even if it was not in the plans, got us watch a documentary about the 2010 eruption. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zephirus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you! Visit Volcano House after dinner and after a nice and adventures day tour in the Icelandic nature is an excellent thing to do in the evening!! We are open untill 22.00 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    593
    229
    53
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to visit near the Old Harbour”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I totally agree with the other reviews - and a great concept - an interesting place to stop for a coffee and be informed about volcanoes, as we drank our coffee watching the two films. Don't confuse the Volcano House with Volcano Tours (they are totally different, independently run companies.)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank juniperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you! It could bee an idea to start your Icelandic experience in Volcano House to qather some geological information of and then take a trip with the guides at Volcano Tour to visit the real volcanos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Coffee shop / mini theater. Worth a stop to view the two films which show two separate volcanic eruptions. One in the 70's and the more recent. You can find the offered souvenirs at a better price elsewhere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your visit and review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unplanned but great!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I had not planned to go learning about volcanos as I was just 'passing through', but when I passed the rounded facade I got curious. I spent around two hours looking at stones, photos, watching documentaries and having a coffee and a sandwich in their cafe. There is a fee for watching the documentaries in their cinema, but I think it was worth it!

It left me with a lot of questions and I really want to learn more - the staff was very helpful on suggesting places to visit to see things live so now I just need a longer stay on Iceland to go exploring. :-)

All in all a good couple of hours - I wouldn't mind if they grow their exhibition but that part was for free so no complaints! :-)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Henning B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano H, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
The idea behind Volcano House is to give guests a glimpse of the reality of life in Iceland, where volcanoes and earthquakes are part of the daily life of inhabitants. So we are very pleased that you find it so interesting. Hope to see you on your next tour to Iceland!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent chance to learn more about the importance of volcanoes to Iceland.”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Ditto on everyone's elses comments except the 2 films last 40 minutes. Spend an hour, take time to speak with the owner. The first film shows the efforts of a town to save their fishing industry when threatened by a major eruption. The 2nd film shows the most recent massive eruption with spectacular photography. Samples of different kinds of ash are in the museum.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BOLDHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano House also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing