We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Kolabrautin

Kolabrautin
Ranked #172 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Kolabrautin Ristorante is located on the fourth floor of the Harpa concert hall. We offer Italian cuisine paired with local ingredients, providing our guests with a taste of Iceland merged with Italian traditions. With spectacular views, in Iceland's most phenomenal building, a trip to our restaurant is a must for anyone that enjoys good food and beautiful surroundings.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went with my family for our traditional Christmas dinner. We have been going to various restaurants for about 20 years. This year was the best ever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank María G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    24
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A sad letdown”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Inexperienced and slow service mixed with bland food that doesn't quite get it right. The starters were delicious, but what followed got worse with every bite. The salmon we had for a main course was bland, tasteless and dull and the desert was straight out of the freezer and barely touched upon.

I was hoping for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Einosig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic view with great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Kolabrautin is located on the top floor of the concert hall at the Reykjavik harbor. The view from the restaurant over the harbor and towards the city center. The interior of the restaurant is very nice. It is very modern and open, but at the same time it has an relaxing ambiance created by the harbor view and the open kitchen. The food was very good as well as the service. I recommend all courses that have an Italian origin as that is the Chef's speciality

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon Pall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quite exceptional - from the venue to the food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros: Exceptional food, beef main was exquisite, venue looks fantastic
Cons: Needed the wine to flow more freely, mish-mash desert didn't work as a whole (great individual pieces though)

If you want to be wowed before you've even sat at a table then this is the place to do it. Located above the Harpa concert hall - and if you've not seen that building then look it up - there's an almost never-ending staircase that gently slopes up the height of the building to the restaurant front.
Impressed before even getting the see the table, we sat close to the glass-walled windows that overlooked the sea. A little dim, but atmospheric, things were set up nicely.
The food took things to the next level though. The salted cod starter was sensationally good. Cold starters tend not to excite my palatte, but this one was a medley of well-matched textures and flavours that, despite its salted cod carpaccio centre piece, wasn't over-seasoned. It was spot on.
The beef main raised the bar yet further. It was up there with the best meat dishes I've ever eaten. The kind of food that when the first forkfull enters you mouth everything else just stops - there was a silence as everyone stopped talking amid various nodding and appreciative noises. Stunningly good.
Even the desert was well made in every part, but the assembly of chocolate, honey, rosewater, vanilla, raspberry and various other things that I forget, just didn't work as a whole. It was the bum note of the dinner for certain, which was a shame. It's not on the current menu either, as I've gone back to have a look. Must've been a "special" for the set menu we had that day.
But the five star review only just scrapes in. It was the lack of free-flowing wine from relatively slow service and the mish-mash desert that were the only real slight let downs.
But if beef can be that good then it's hard to not award the full house to this place. A great spectacle of a venue with equally appealing tasty food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent views, superb food”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Fantastic location, with great views over the harbour; and, during the season, a perfect way to watch the sun never set.

Food superb, both in artistic presentation and quality. Memorable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolabrautin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kolabrautin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing