We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #43 of 598 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

The food was amazing, I had the lobster tacos and the beef carpaccio for starters, witch was really good. Then i had the beef steak witch was probably the best i ever had. The service was really good as well and the cocktails were delicious. Our table was really roomy and the vibe of the restaurant is really relaxed and cosy, even for a busy Saturday night. I would definitely recommend going there for a night out; good food, good drinks, good service and relaxed vibe.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 3,106 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019

I have been to Sjavargrillid (pronounced shavargrillith) twice now. The drink called Skogafoss left a permanent impression on me the first time I was there. They didn't have it, but recommended the Summer Leftovers which turned out to be amazing with it's hand applied basil oil drops at the table. Our group of girlfriends chose Sjavargrillid for our 50th birthdays this year. We had a variety of food constraints, all of which were accommodated including a special vegan 4 course offering. Our server, Lyfja, went above and beyond to ensure our experience was exceptional.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarrieHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

For a real nice, upscale seafood restaurant, we had dinner at the Seafood Grill. The food was excellent, good ambiance, great service. We had as a starter, Lobster Tacos which were excellent, grilled salmon, mussels, and creme boulee for dessert. I had a glass of Malbec wine and my wife a really good Mojito.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Herb_Silverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

We have a great dinner. Try whale and soup - it's really tasty. Portions are big, so be careful - we ordered cod and salmon for the main course (delicious as well), and wasn't ready for this amount of food:)

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank chipatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

From the outside this place seems like it is nothing special. Inside however, it is amazing! We have the three course menu’s and wow!! The food was delightful...

Many thanks for making our first night in Reykjavík memorable!!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank georgiaolivialangrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing