We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable meal in Iceland at its best in ingredients and people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #13 of 454 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Memorable meal in Iceland at its best in ingredients and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely cozy atmosphere with candle lights and dark wood, exceptionally good service, and the food was incredible - the seafood was so tender and fresh and the chef balances both flavor and texture in all of the courses. The batter for the deep fried langoustine could have been a bit lighter but the flavor melded well. The amuse-bouche of shrimp with crunchy roasted barley (?) was perfection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,837
    598
    132
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is definitely in our top ten meals we have ever had. I had the Langoustine starter and the entree of Arctic Char done 2 ways and both were perfect. My husband had the fresh grilled fish 3 course dinner which was cooked perfectly. The creme brûlée dessert was deconstructed and was truly outstanding. All prices for meals are more expensive than in Canada but we thought it was worth it.
We arrived about 6:30 on a Sunday evening prior to the restaurant being busy. Service was great and we were really pleased our hotel gave us this suggestion. After dinner it is nice and close to walk around downtown and enjoy the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seeing-the-globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced Quality...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place comes highly recommended. It is a beautiful restaurant with a smaller menu than I thought they would have.

We shared a starter salad which was a GENEROUS portion. Definitely something two people could share OR one could eat as a entree. [BTW, all the ingredients here are FROM Iceland!]

We also chose the lagoustine pasta. I love those mild, soft and tender bits of lobster, but the pasta was soft and broke apart (not aldente). I was also full from the complimentary bread and butter as well as salad, so I didn't finish my course.

Although this place features seafood - and please note that the items that our neighbors ordered looked DELISH - it is a pricier than I feel it was worth. I realize that Iceland can be expensive, but I also know that there are restaurants that have fantastic food that doesn't cost an arm-or-leg.

Caveat emptor...buyer beware!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank honolulujc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This place was absolutely incredible. Every part of our meal was unique and amazing! One of my best meals ever!! The ambiance was also fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Jenterz0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent food enjoyed by all and beautifully presented too. Very attentive service, modern decor and lovely atmosphere too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing