We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Iceland!”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #16 of 465 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Iceland!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We were really in the mood for seafood for our last dinner in Iceland, so when we saw this restaurant we knew we had to try it. We walked in at 1800 without reservations but were seated immediately. We had the grilled fish feast which consisted of a great seafood soup including langoustine, mussels, and tiger prawns. The main course was grilled catfish and ocean perch on risotto and some kind of delicious creamy sauce, broccoli and asparagus. The fish was perfectly cooked and was not overcooked as is very common. Finally the dessert was very interesting including white chocolate mousse, meringue, and a very unusual dill sorbet. Service was very attentive. We would come back here in a flash!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,888
    620
    137
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning in every respect”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After much deliberation and consultation on trip advisor we opted for Sjavargrillid for our gala night out during the current Food & Fun festival in Reykjavic. Each if the participating restaurants invited a guest chef to put together a 4 course meal using local ingredients and at a set price of 7,990 ISK (£40). The multi tattooed Hamilton Johnson from Vidalia in Washington presented:
Starter - Citrus Cured Arctic Char, Parsnip, Radish, Caraway, White Chocolate
Fish Course - Crisp Cod Cheeks & pickled langoustine, Golden Beets, Lemon, Malt, caramel
Main Course - Anise rubbed Lamb Fillet, onion, rutabaga, apple, lamb heart
Dessert - Hazelnut cake, skyr, brown butter, blood orange, caramel
A truly wonderful culinary experience. Chef Johnson came up to see us at the table and made us feel very welcome. A great night. Do not hesitate from visiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steyning25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“imaginative menu”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We happened to come into the restaurant when there was a set menu for the food and wine festival.We were not made aware that there was also an a la carte menu that night, as other people seem to have had, but although it was expensive we did not regret it. The service was attentive and the food was an imaginative mix of flavours.The amuse bouche apparently contained puffin, which I am not sure I approve of, but it was a minute bit.
The four courses were ample and in fact the meat course was too much.It was good cooking with attention to detail and presentation and stood out from the other meals we had in Reykjavic which were generally expensive and mediocre. As tips are not expected in Iceland it makes it cheaper of course.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place :)”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We came here on the first night I think the fish is very good - I had the children's portion of the cat fish and it was fantastic ! Really delicious ! Polite friendly staff, nice atmosphere and reasonably priced (my meal was under 10 pounds due to being kids portion) but was a very good size !!! Definitely go try this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Gemsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food ... Need to book!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fortunately we had a reservation, food was excellent, for the most part, service was good but a little slow but not a fault of the waiters; just seemed to be an over-stressed kitchen! The food was worth waiting for though. A busy restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairlywelltravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing