We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ... Need to book!”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #16 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food ... Need to book!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fortunately we had a reservation, food was excellent, for the most part, service was good but a little slow but not a fault of the waiters; just seemed to be an over-stressed kitchen! The food was worth waiting for though. A busy restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairlywelltravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,914
    639
    140
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food festival OK”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice meal... Worth the 34,300 isk? Hmmmm... maybe had we not been to the fish company the night before... Which completly blew this place out the water!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank oscarthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambiance and good Food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Another great meal!!! We were told that Iceland had terrible food but they were wrong. I loved the ambiance of the place, friendly staff, and the food was excellent. They took what we thought of as creme brulee and took it to the next level on taste and presentation. The pork belly was to die for however, the pasta dish I ordered was a little too salty for my liken. I would definitely go back and try something else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lhedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Top quality gastronomy”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is an excellent restaurant.

We had the set menu (as part of a city-wide food festival) and its was very ingenious, great mixture of tastes and textures and very good ingredients. Small portions, but there were four courses and an amuse-bouche, so it all mounted up!

Unlike others, we found the service to be very good too.

It is not a large restaurant, but as it is very popular, booking is recommended.

It is not cheap -- as is the case with Iceland generally when it comes to food, but no more thna what one would pay at a high end restaurant in London.

Recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKW5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't sit downstairs without a torch !!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This Restaurant was recommended by one of our group. Sadly, her main meal was not served until everybody else in our party had finished !! The table where we sat was cold, the lighting non-existent above our table so reading the menu was impossible without torches !! (thank heaven for i-phones) !!! The weather was particularly cold on the night we went (I guess it was ICELAND!!) however, there was an icy blast which hurtled down the stairs each time a door upstairs was opened. Good food but service was not good and left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veecomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing