We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to recommend this restaurant.”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #16 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Had to recommend this restaurant.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Through our own stupidity we could not find this place at first and when we did, had the presence of mind to book a reservation for later in the day, good job we did!
It was busy when we arrived and got busier, which just added to the great atmosphere. Everything about this lively, vibrant restaurant is good or better. The staff are attentive and enthusiastic. The seafood, especially from the Fish Feast was gorgeous and the dessert of white chocolate mousse and "egg" was a delight. I can't now remember what the wine of the month was, but that too was marvellous.
What made it even better was our lovely waitress accepted a 15% discount voucher from the free guide book we had, although we would happily have paid the full price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tedioustommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,917
    641
    140
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We recently visited Iceland for the first time and this restaurant was recommended by the hotel. It is conveniently situated in the centre of Reykjavik and is quite small, so booking would be good (the hotel booked it for us).

We were warmly welcomed and the menu was explained. We didn't have to wait long for the food (cod the first time we went and the catch of the day the second time). It was very attractively presented and cooked to perfection. The waiter took the time to explain everything on our plates before obligingly taking our photograph.

The cost was less than average for Iceland (which is generally expensive) at 3,750 krona a head (about £20).

Thoroughly recommend this as a reasonable place to buy delicious Icelandic food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fresh and Creative Ingredients ”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided on the restaurant due to the proximity to our hotel, menu, and TripAdvisor reviews. We made a reservation for a Tuesday night to be sure we could get a table at our desired time, and I'm glad we did because the restaurant was full upon arrival. The staff was very friendly and greeted us right away. The ambience and decor of the restaurant were very warm and cozy. The menu features a la carte selections along with some tasting courses. We both decided on the seafood grill tasting menu (6600 ISK / person) which includes the seafood soup, catch of the day fish duo ( ours was Atlantic catfish and Arctic char ), and a white chocolate mousse with accompaniments for dessert. We both very much enjoyed all of our courses. Each was creative and presented very beautifully. All the ingredients tasted very fresh, and flavors had a lot if depth. We even received an amuse bouche and bread with our meal. At times our service was a bit slow, but all the food came out fresh and hot, and we weren't in a hurry so we really didn't mind. They were quick and pleasant when we asked for our check, which is always appreciated. I would recommend this restaurant to fish lovers or those wanting a refined taste of Iceland. I would certainly return on another holiday to Reykjavik.

Helpful?
1 Thank DrZ0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Try the lobster”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This restaurant was a recommendation from the hotel I was staying. Very good indeed.

The atmosphere is good, the service high quality and food tasty.

I tried a combo with starters, mains and desserts. Everything prepared with good care, served in generous portions and very tasty. I don’t know how many different ways of preparing a lobster and langoustine I ate as the main course and all of them worth it. The dessert were another enjoyable gastronomic experience.

Good food, good service and price accordingly. It cost me the equivalent of 75 pounds for 2 people, but worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The food was cooked to perfection and was excellently presented. The service was also very good. I tried the catch of the day and would recommend it every time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve070872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing