We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #14 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our favorite restaurant in Reykavik closed so we tried the seafood grill. The food was excellent (some of the best combination of flavors that I've ever had) and the service was lovely. My only complaint is that the restaurant is so popular that it feels a little bit like a factory. But, I would still recommend if you are looking for a special meal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank esussna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,842
    600
    132
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must try restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

In Reykjavik for a few days, then you really should try the Seafood Grill. Excellent food, especially the fish and great friendly service. You need to make a reservation, when we went it was full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Right in the centre of Reykjavik. Nice atmosphere and fresh and tasty local food.
We took the Fish Feast Menu (3 or 4 different menus a part of a la carte menu) and it was delicious. Lobster soup with mussels and shrims foam, fresh fish grilled combo with grilled vegetables and a tasty dessert. All for 6400 Isk which is a reasonable price considering prices in Iceland.
Something negative; we waited 30 min. between the first and the main course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best meals I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was lovely and the service was great. Had to wait 10 minutes for a table as they were so busy but definitely worth it... Delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hettieep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
549 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Great local food choice and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoied the tasting menu which offers an excellent choice of tasty local specialities. While you may wait for the table you can take a seat at the lounge; the staff is very motivated (all of them we had!), fast and professional. Great atmosphere. A baby seat and special welcome was given to our 2-year old son. A reservation is adviced as it is often fully booked. This restaurant is (almost) a must when you are in Reykjavik!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing