We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals I've had!”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #14 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best meals I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was lovely and the service was great. Had to wait 10 minutes for a table as they were so busy but definitely worth it... Delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hettieep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,863
    605
    137
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
551 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Great local food choice and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoied the tasting menu which offers an excellent choice of tasty local specialities. While you may wait for the table you can take a seat at the lounge; the staff is very motivated (all of them we had!), fast and professional. Great atmosphere. A baby seat and special welcome was given to our 2-year old son. A reservation is adviced as it is often fully booked. This restaurant is (almost) a must when you are in Reykjavik!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

With the vast number of reviews on this restaurant, I am only going to reiterate how good the food is. We were a group of six and were handled with efficiency and finesse. The food and service were both very good. The menu selections offered every diner something from which to choose. The name Seafood Grill does not do it justice. There are many non-seafood selections for diners perferring meat. I do recommend this place which is convenient to the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel to other travelers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is wonderful. It is expensive, but so is everything else in Iceland. I made a reservation, which I would highly recommend and you can do through the restaurant website. When we arrived, people were walking in off the street and were told that it would be at least an hour and a half wait. Even with a reservation we had to wait for a little bit, which was not a problem for us, and the very friendly hostess offered us a drink from the bar on the house, so that was nice. I had the Taste of Iceland menu and my husband had the Lobster Feast. Both were delicious. The plating was beautiful, but unlike some gourmet restaurants they gave you enough food to be full by the end of the meal. The restaurant is not huge, but the atmosphere is great. I would highly recommend Sjavargrillid for a special dinner in Iceland. In fact I would say that it is a must do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laquila_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice menu and well faceted arrangement of grilled fish and seafood on the plate. Even the dessert was very well faceted. All very tasty. Almost too tasty, like the brain got confused of all the good taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreasB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing