We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience”

Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill
Ranked #14 of 461 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant was so good! We had the grill feast I believe - 8 or 9 courses of beautifully presented Icelandic cuisine. Have to be a bit adventuresome - there was some whale, and I think they sometimes include puffin, although they had run out when I was there. We just ordered glasses of wine, which come in a little carafe and are a good deal. Spent about 125 euro in total for two- worth it for the quality of the meal. Highly recommend this restaurant based on the presentation of the plates, quality of the ingredients and original combinations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoepetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,862
    605
    137
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a great dinner! Everything was delicious. I have chosen the lagoustine feast and my partner the fish feast. Both marvelous, starters, mains and desserts. Although it was not cheap, it was not expensive as we expected, we thought that the dinner worth what we paid. The service is very friendly and the restaurant had a good atmosphere, with a mix of young and old couples, group of friends, tourists and local people. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita8363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The service is good as other reviews.
What surprise us the most is the dessert. It is good looking and taste better! We ordered the second dessert right after we try the first one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamu_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food and service was excellent! We didn't have a reservation but they fit us into the small bar area which was just fine. Recommend making a reservation. We had the 4 course lamb dinner and mom had the Langostina both were delicious and full of varied flavours. To our delight, servings were larger than we would have expected from a fine dining restaurant. Desserts were also hefty and a great finish to a perfect Icelandic meal! We would definitely go back if we had more time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bitsity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We first went to the Seafood Grill (Monday night) the place was packed and there was a 45 minute wait. Rather than waiting, because we were all so hungry, we decided to make reservations for the following night. When we arrived on Tuesday the staff was very friendly and remembered us from the night before and sat us immediately. They were very quick with their service and provided complementary appetizers. The food, although a little on the pricey side, was AMAZING! I am not a big seafood eater and enjoyed everything that was ordered. It tasted so fresh and was cooked perfectly. It is definitely worth the price!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing