We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a hostel experience than a hotel experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Studio Apartments
Ranked #82 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Hebburn, Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“More of a hostel experience than a hotel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in small room, shared bathroom down corridor. Room was okay but really cramped, nothing like the photos on the website. I assume this was a different room although to be fair if you click on a single occupancy, shared bathroom option on their website, you see a vastly different room to the one I was put in. Breakfast was a buffet option, basic but edible. Nice coffee. I chose this to be close to the National Football Stadium and it's about 20 mins walk. Plenty of restaurants around the hotel. About a 25-30 min walk to city centre. Staff were helpful. Room was basic, no TV, no phone, just a bed, a wardrobe, a chair and a sink. As I say it's a bit like a hostel rather than a hotel. It's a 2 star clasiification on the wall outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Neat clean warm. Great friendly staff. Basic. Breakfast is available. Bread cheese jams peanut butter and cereals. I left my computer on the transfer and the person on duty offered to drive to the bus and pick it up! Hot water smells of sulphur - but this is all over Iceland. Cold water is the same spring water you buy for a quid back home!

Room Tip: 4 km from downtown but all activities will pick you up and taxi and bus reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

As others have said, this hotel has friendly staff and provides excellent value for money. Rooms are clean and warm. We had a twin room right next to the (shared) bathroom, but I think en suite rooms are also available for extra cost. There was wifi and an internet terminal for free, and a full-size fridge in the room. Reception is staffed 24 hours, though sometimes you have to go and find the staff member on duty, 5 minutes' walk away is a 24-hour supermarket and there are lots of restaurants in the area, though mostly fast-food types. The beds were incredibly comfortable and breakfast was adequate. Location has its pluses and minuses: it's quite a long way from the centre of Reykjavik but there are buses from just outside, which take 10 minutes to get there. The swimming pool is 20 minutes' walk or a bus ride too. On the plus side, it's on the way out of Reykjavik so any airport transfers or tours will pick you up last and drop you off first. Overall, I was very impressed with the service we received for the price, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olives106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I think the only major negative was that hotel 66 was hard to find. The hotel fades into the other stores and restaurants surrounding it. Once inside, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room reminded me of many of the other guesthouse rooms I stayed at in Iceland. It was small but comfortable, with a bed and a sink. There was a shared bathroom nearby that was kept clean. I would recommend the stay for the price. Internet was included, as was a breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I arrived here around 8.15am to a place that appeared to be abandoned. I was there for around 20 minutes before the owner came. It is mostly used by students in the off season and not tourists so there isn't a 24 hour front desk. This is not to scare anyone away from staying here but to let you know that you should let the owner know when you will be arriving so he will be there when you arrive. He told me if someone is from North America, they show up early in the morning and if they are from Denmark, it may be 10pm at night. I had a single room without ensuite booked and was upgraded to a larger room with ensuite and fridge in the room. It was the most comfortable bed during this trip to Iceland. I was allowed to check in immediately which was way before normal check in time so I could sleep off the jet lag. The owner was very helpful in showing me the place and giving advice on Iceland. I went for a swim later at the Laugardalslaug pool which is about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel. There are a couple of supermarkets in easy walking distance plus a Subway restaurant and other restaurants close by. If coming here by bus, I highly recommend Grayline as it took me directly from the airport to Hotel 66 (I was the first one dropped off).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

~We arrived at the hotel and were told they were overbooked so we would have to share the bathroom. They would refund our money if we wanted to leave and they would find us another hotel. We decided to stay based on the wonderful staffs attitudes. The hotel was in the middle of renovations (we stayed September 2011).The renovated rooms look identical to the rooms on their website. There was free internet in the break room and breakfast food. One of the owners gave us a ride in his personal vehicle to downtown (how nice). And another staff member called the tour company and made reservations for us to be picked up to go to The Blue Lagoon later that evening.The hotel is not directly downtown but there is a supermarket, Chinese Restaurant & pub close by. I agree with the previous reviews stating how nice the staff is. ~We would definitely stay there again & highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
2.2 mi away
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Igdlo Guesthouse
Igdlo Guesthouse
#12 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alba Guesthouse
Alba Guesthouse
#37 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#9 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fitjar Guesthouse
Fitjar Guesthouse
#29 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Capital-Inn
The Capital-Inn
#56 of 106 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Apartments

Property: Studio Apartments
Address: Grensasvegur 14, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Hotel 66)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is sited at a very convenient place, close to the Reykjavik Zoo & Family Park, the national soccer stadium, handball hall and the biggest top class Health Center, Gym and open-air swimming pool in Iceland, Laugar Spa.Our aim is of course to make you’re stay with us as nice as possible at affordable price. Please be welcome, we are looking forward to see you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing