We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, my best accomodation in Iceland”
Review of 32 Tungata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
32 Tungata
Ranked #39 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in 4 different accomodations in Reykjavik as we took several excursions from the city. This was without doubt the best cost-quality one. An appartment set up in a former garage but extremely cozy, well-equipped, private, spacious and quiet. Five minutes away on foot from the center. And 30% cheapter than any other comparable place in the city. I would live there happily for longer periods. Owner very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

The basement apartment is well furnished with original retro 60's/70's furniture gracing the living area and IKEA beds and wardrobes. Blackout venetian blinds ensure the long day light hours do not affect your sleep.

Right next to the Finnish Embassy and the city's Catholic Church the apartment is located on the edge of a residential neighbourhood, yet only a 5 minutes walk from the centre of the city. City distances are very misleading and without knowing it we were only staying 2 miles from the Domestic Airport terminal which meant our bus journey to the airport was less than 10 minutes and had it not been for a heavy backpack, walkable too!

The only thing that was a shame was that we were not greated by the people who lived upstairs and looked after the apartment. A casual hello would have been welcome in a city that does not seem to welcome tourists all of the time.

Warning - the flat above has wooden floors and the noise insulation is not brilliant with the patter of a dog's paws into the early hours of the morning were somewhat disturbing.

I would stay there again though as it was a comfortable place and value for money is more ways than hotels and hostels are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at 32 Tungata for a week in april and the location is just great, not once did we have to take a cab or a bus. Its only 5 or 10 minutes from the vivid nightlife.
The apartment it self is excellent and is very well equipped,
Jon the owner was great and very helpful with all our needs. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelllong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 22, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres dans la maison sont certainement plus confortables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesNiouniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,138 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,081 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 32 Tungata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 32 Tungata

Address: Tungata 32, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $148 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 32 Tungata 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 32 Tungata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing