We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arctic charr”
Review of Restaurant 73

Restaurant 73
Ranked #49 of 465 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A small family owned and operated restaurant known for its fresh fish, juicy steaks, big burgers and fresh salads. Also even though this is not a bar this restaurant carries one of Iceland's biggest selection of local beer on bottle and draft to accompany your meal.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Arctic charr”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Went for something had never tried the Arctic charr which is fish. We were in a rush, waited minutes to be seated as restaurant was full. Very quick meal to a good standard washed down with wine that was reasonable in price. Had pecan pie for dessert which was fab.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for the kind review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    325
    66
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not good burgers and expensive”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Went with couple of friends, not tasty burgers and very expensive food, we got the 300gr one and the meat was bad and souce was not good, we did not finish our food :(

Helpful?
Thank Gunnlaugur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hah. Knowing exactly who you are I'm not at all surprised to find this review here.
Having talked to the staff in question they said that your friends who dined with you finished all their food and when asked really liked it. How's about that!
You on the other hand got all mad when you had to pay for the items you ordered after you received the food. Did you expect items you order after the initial order to be free? How naive..
If you think this is expensive then I recommend you stick to fast food style places that serve you half the amount of food we do for about the same price.
Feel free not to return. You won't be missed ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reykjavik Iceland visit finds excellent food that was not just Seafood”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

While touring downtown Reykjavic, Icelnad, I had the pleasure of stumbling into a restaurant that turned out to have the best food I ate during my entire stay in Iceland. The Iceland beef with pepper sauce was superb, perfectly done! I had a wonderful house salad with loads of tomatoes and a great sweet house dressing. The homemade dessert, chocolate cake, topped off a perfect meal. By the way, the service was excellent as well!
Bob Grottenthaler,
Boston, MA

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review Bob from Boston :-D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good honest food, great beer, great staff”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When I turned up at this busy, small restaurant, on my own, there were no tables available so I sat at the bar. Specialises in burgers, which are big and tasty. And an incredible range of Icelandic bottled beers with a couple on draft. The staff are really friendly and knowledgeable about the beers.
Visited a second time with colleagues and had an equally good experience of great food and hospitable staff in this warm but unpretentious eatery.
Located on one of the two main, but very pleasant, shopping streets in Reykjavik

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The bar is the best spot in the house to get seated as we've heard from so many people who have dined there. You get the best view of the whole beer selection and both the waiters within an arms reach every couple of minutes to chat with you about different beers.
Thanks for the kind review ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does the job :-)”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate here after a long day doing the golden circle tour and was grateful for an available table seconds later and we would have been turned away! The two front of house staff worked their socks off and could have really done with an extra pair of hands. Non the less service was good and the main meals delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mewitotherhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hah yes. That's the restaurant industry for ya. It never seems we have enough hands on deck when the evening rush hits :-P
I myself (the chef and part waiter) would love having a couple of extra arms myself as the working area for us is too small to fit a lot of people without everybody bumping into the next person :-)
Thanks for the kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 73 also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Restaurant 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing