We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed bar and good food ”
Review of Restaurant 73

Restaurant 73
Ranked #60 of 504 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small family owned and operated restaurant known for its fresh fish, juicy steaks, big burgers and fresh salads. Also even though this is not a bar this restaurant carries one of Iceland's biggest selection of local beer on bottle and draft to accompany your meal.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a late lunch. Fab menu, not just the usual pub grub. Portions are huge and the meals are tasty. Great music too!

Thank weeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks for the kind review :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 632 of 873 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

On a three night break in Reykyavik we ate here twice. The service was excellent as was the food. We enjoyed the background music and the general atmosphere. The "tiny" burgers were huge but really tasty and the chips were excellent. We weren't hurried at all and made for a really nice evening.

Thank MandaB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

The Tiny is only tiny when put next to the Epic ;-)
And of course you can't go wrong with a little blues in the background.
Thanks for the kind review :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Weather in the evening (wet) dictated that we would not be going too far and 73 was entered just before a heavy rain storm.

Table was no problem but it later got full. Menu majored on burgers but had good alternative selection. Cod was had and it was superbly cooked and tasted very fresh. Service was good and friendly without being in your face. Beer list of Icelandic bottled beer was large with some quite strong types.

Recommended for the above type of meal.

Thank nsander219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Glad you liked our fish enough to give us 5 stars :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This small, intimate restaurant was roughly a ten-minute walk from our hotel. Having only just arrived in Reykjavik, we found this first as we walked into the City, and what a great choice it was. Despite it being a Thursday evening, there was a brisk tourist trade, and the ambience was really nice. I had salmon tagliatelle, and my husband had cod. We also had two large Icelandic beers and a coffee each- total cost, approximately 7000 krona. The food was filling and so, so tasty. The staff were very friendly and service was excellent. We tried to return for a second visit on the Saturday night but they were fully booked ( a little tip- most of the restaurants in the main City centre were also fully booked on that evening, and we ended up walking to the outskirts before we were able to find a nice place to eat ). Highly recommended.

Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Great review and I'm so sorry we didn't have space for you on your second night.
This is one of our bigger concerns when we only have a small dining area with 10 tables :-/
Thank you very much for the kind words :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Been looking forward to trying the 73 restaurant. Epic ...it certainly was'nt. Had to send food back to kitchen, don't mind a bit of red but this sucker was bleeding. Do yourself a favour find another place to dine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tonytrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hmmm bleeding? Nope, it really wasn't. Medium Rare (as specified on the menu)? Yes. Very much so as the staff inspected it in the kitchen to see if anything had gone amiss.
And then the waitress returned with a more cooked meal and asked you later on if everything was in order and you claimed it was.
Don't really see the need for such a terrible mark on your behalf but then again some people are just harder to please than others..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 73 also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Restaurant 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing