We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must go to restaurant when visiting Reykjavík” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant 73

Restaurant 73
Ranked #49 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A small family owned and operated restaurant known for its fresh fish, juicy steaks, big burgers and fresh salads. Also even though this is not a bar this restaurant carries one of Iceland's biggest selection of local beer on bottle and draft to accompany your meal.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go to restaurant when visiting Reykjavík”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been there many times with my family and it is always a good experience. The food is incredibly good and for a very decent price you can leave with a full stomach and a smile on your face. The service is friendly and I always enjoy chatting with the staff. The atmosphere is relaxing and welcoming and makes you want to stay for a cup of coffee (which is, by the way, very good), not to forget those wonderful little chocolate bites you can get with your cup. The music that is played in there is very good.
They have a large outdoor area where the sun peaks down at you, so you can have a warm sit with a cold beer in your hand (Their beer selection is amazing, recommend the Icelandic beer called Freyja!). Its super clean in there and you can tell that the staff does its best to keep it that way.
This is a place where I see myself going to again and again, when visiting Iceland, and I would say that its one of those "must" places to eat at.
Bon appétit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you dear!
Now try to make a trip soon so we can see you guys again :-D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    313
    65
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good food at a decent price. I had a great fish meal with small potatoes in a delightful sauce. My daughter enjoyed the bread and pasta selection very much. Needed staff to customize a meal to work around my kids dietary restrictions - which they did - but, with a hint of irritation. Over all very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your meal.
I'm sorry if you felt there was a hint of irritation when altering the meal.
If it was my little sister she sometimes does frown when trying to figure out how she is going to put that into the system she sends the orders through as we're unable to type special requirements into the system and are stuck with pre programmed buttons according to our menu.
But thank you very much for giving us 4 stars none the less :-D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food .. poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good selection of beers, very busy but very inflexible when we asked for a plain piece of cod rather than one with the advertised sauce on it ... oh no it could only be served exactly as on the menu and service seemed a bit surly from then on in. Apart from that not a bad place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucyf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Having talked to the waitress in question I saw that there was a misunderstanding right there.
When asked for Fish & Chips (as we sometimes get asked for) we do tell people we don't have that.
The reason being that this particular plate (Fish & Chips) is deep fried fish in a batter.
She did however say that chips could be ordered as a side dish and that was how the order came up in to the kitchen.
We have no problem with altering courses on our menu and have done for the whole time we've been open apart from the fact that we can't deep fry fish here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Busy little restaurant but you must eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here , our burgers were mouth-watering , so tasty & came with chips on the side . Restaurant also has a great list of local Icelandic beers the staff were very friendly but get there early as it is a small restaurant & fills up quickly. You must eat here at least once while in Reykjavik it was the best meal we had while on holiday there. Go & enjoy a great burger & a local beer with a lovely atmosphere ......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burgers - A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place looks a bit unassuming from the outside - and the inside! We absolutely loved it. Service was excellent and the food is divine. We all had the burgers - succulent, moist, juicy and heaven on a plate. Definitely the best burger I have ever had. They also have a great selection of beers - all Icelandic. There is a kids menu too which is also great.
This was one of my favourite meals in Reykjavik.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Fantastic review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 73 also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Restaurant 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing