We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and nice and quite”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrencetown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice and quite”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed the last night of our trip to Iceland. Perfect location. It is on a quite street very near downtown so within walking distance of everything you would wnat. Park the car and forget about it. Room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great art collection and takes you back in time to a slower pace, but, also has wifi in your room so you can stay connected if youy have to. Had a fabulous meal in the hotel restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCD6875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    388
    71
    14
    8
See reviews for
139
518
100
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our holiday in Iceland. Our room rates, which included an excellent buffet breakfast, were very reasonable for a city hotel.

For the first stay we were upgraded to a junior suite. This was in fact two small bedrooms opened up to make one room, and still had the two small bathrooms, one of which had room only for a bath. On our return we were given an ordinary room, which was small, but adequate, and a small bathroom which was a bit too small, with room just for one basin, a toilet and a shower. On the positive side the beds were comfortable, and there were lots of hangers, but on the negative side in the bathrooms the toiletries were limited and there was no space to put sponge bags etc. The windows in both rooms were very dirty, although the rooms themselves were perfectly clean. Light sleepers should be aware that when it is warm enough to open windows, there can be noise at night at the front of the hotel. There is lots of parking space in front and at the side of the hotel.

The many lounges, the bar, the public areas, and the restaurant were very comfortable, although the profusion of not very good artwork of all kinds covering every bit of wall space was a bit overwhelming! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Food in the restaurant was good, and Marco our waiter was a gem. He also makes a superb mojito!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worlwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Holt Hotel is wonderfully situated in a quiet residential neighborhood but close to everything in Reykjavik. The guest rooms are large and well appointed and the hotel is full of charm everywhere - from the lobby to the hotel bar to the restaurant to the three rooms in which we were staying. The breakfast was more than satisfying and we enjoyed a dinner we had there; the food and service were both excellent. More than anything else, the hotel staff is friendly, welcoming, and 100% focused on making each guest's stay as pleasant and satisfying as possible. We have stayed in a number of hotels over the years - large and small - and none has been better.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AandAinActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed at Hotel Holt for a couple of days of R&R after a business trip in the Nordic area. The pros: location is key - very quiet, even on a Saturday night (save for some singing revelers at 3 AM) and only a short walk (5 mins) to the main walking area. The staff was extremely hospitable and welcoming and gave great advice about what to see and what to avoid. The hotel is on the list for the airport shuttle so that was also a great help in getting to and out of the city. In addition, the price was quite good (approx $150 USD) and we booked on Orbitz (I think).

The cons: the decor is extremely outdated. Giant leather sofas and wood paneling in the lobby and bar make it look like an old world Howard Johnsons. This is not an "elegant" hotel. Our room and bathroom could have also used a major makeover but it was VERY clean and I'll take clean and unfashionable any day over stylish but skeevy.

As a base for a short visit if you're not going to spend any time in the hotel, I think it's good value for the money but it does not give the vibe of an exclusive and elegant property.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citrouille10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel Holt and found it it to be an excellent choice. The staff were very friendly, dinner was exceptional and the bar was a great place for a pre or post dinner drink. Add to this a fantastic art collection throughout the hotel and you couldn't really wish for more. It is in a good location within a short walk to the town centre and all the sights. Restaurants in Reykjavik are much better than expected and the reception staff were very helpful in choosing and booking. If you get the chance though, do try the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My wife and I spent from April 28 to May 5 at the Hotel Holt. Deciding where to stay in Reykjavik took several months. In retrospect, we made the right choice. How so? Well! Hospitality is a hallmark of the management and staff. They made us feel welcome and did everything in their collective power to make us feel comfortable. We chose the Hotel Holt because it is located on a quiet street in an older section of Reykjavik. It is only a short distance from the center of the capital. A major expressway was only a few speed bumps and one roundabout away from us. The hotel had a parking lot for our compact rental car. And it was free!

The accommodations we had at the hotel were more than adequate to meet our needs. The room we had was clean and the surroundings were quiet. Since we were on the go throughout our stay, the surroundings were conducive for uninterrupted sleep. The only meal we had each day at the Hotel Holt was a complimentary breakfast. The wide variety of food was GOOD!

Before I forget, the hotel had two computers on the ground floor. My wife found this perk to be enjoyable. Each day we were able to obtain complimentary guest passes at the World Class Iceland facility (Laugar). Wow! This was an experience we will never forget. This world class workout center is must for every person who is into physical fitness. Thanks Hotel Holt!

Let me leave you with the following thought --- Try the Hotel Holt, you'll like it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

On arriving at the Hotel Holt in the early hours of the morning, our first reaction was "Oh God, this must be miles away from the centre of town" because it's in a very quiet residential street in between private houses. How wrong we were - the Holt is so close to the action, but with all the benefits of peace and quiet at night! The next morning, we headed out of the hotel, turned right and within 3 minutes, we were right in the heart of Reykjavik. The hotel itself is oldie-worldie, but in an elegant and charming way, and it's reminiscent of a Scottish private hotel lodge. If you're looking for a hotel with a fitness suite and rooms with 90" plasma TVs, you'll be disappointed - stay at the Marriot! But if, like us, you value traditional old-fashioned customer service and hotels that take a pride in doing things right, the Holt is for you! Reception and restaurant staff could not be more welcoming or helpful (especially a Norwegian lady named Anna who was a darling!). Also, check out the superb local bakery down the street for the freshest bread you will ever eat!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Horrified-of-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing