We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely return”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I would definitely return”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We found the hotel to be very convenient with an exceptional staff. Our room was upgraded to a suite which means we probably paid too much to our agent. The rooms in Iceland are quite warm so we had the window open often in spite of the cold weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    392
    73
    14
    8
See reviews for
143
521
102
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

very nice hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff! Rooms were very pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Only downside was the location was away from the center of town, but this was minor as it was a relatively short walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel looks boring from the outside and you are not sure what it will be like. I was very pleased once inside. It has dark panelled walls and antique furniture and leather chairs and sofas in the reception rooms. My hotel room was bright and airy of a good size with a nice comfy bed. A great location to walk to the main shopping and eating areas of the city. The breakfast buffet had a lovely selection. The receptionists couldn't be more helpful and polite than they were. The SkyBus pick up back to the main airport worked like clockwork. On the expensive side but with a real feeling of quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a typical European hotel. It is not updated by US standards. However, our room was nice and the staff very accommodating. It is a short walk to the main areas of the town. I would recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor in the rear of the building. Because the hotel is in residential neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hotel Holt for one night provided all that I could ask for. Cordial, helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, exceptional hotel art collection displayed throughout the hotel and very good restaurant in the lobby. A neat transition between Atlantic Salmon fishing and the flight home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erparf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel staff is most gracious. The guests every need and question immediately brought a response. Location is within a residential neighborhood and only a short walk to old town, wharf and cathedral. Room is perfectly functional, designed in the Scandinavian minimalist style. Can't recommend this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: Rooms are identical. A little more noise facing street if windows are left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy31938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Holt three times now, on an annual fishing expedition, every time i have stayed it has been excellent, the staff are very knowledgeable of all the tourist bits, and the Hotel is ideally located for the main Town without the noise etc, very good Breakfast. nothing any trouble.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Odinsve
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
0.2 mi away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing