We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Settled, Comfortable, Calm”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Set back a bit, but easily accessible to the bustle of Reykjavik in summer, the Hotel Holt grows on you. At least, it did for us. We spent three nights total. British anglers seem partial to the place and it has the quality of an establishment that has earned its place in the old manner, by actually being well-run. A solid place for grown-ups who do not travel by bus.

Room Tip: Ask for something upstairs on the street if you want any sort of a view, but it may be a little quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CapertonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although this hotel has decor from the last 4 or 5 decades, its location and clean rooms can't be beat. It is in a quite neighborhood a few blocks from the main shopping area and attractions. The elevator is worth a ride at least once. Just make sure the kids watch their fingers. There is no inside door between you and the floors as they glide by. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The breakfast left a bit to be desired. While they provide pastries, eggs, yoghurt etc, the quality was just average at best. I would recommend walking down the block to the bernhoftsbakari and getting a fresh donut or croissant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely relaxing time. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Reykjavik and everything is a quick walk away. The hotel has a free private car park so that was handy too. The breakfast buffet was very tasty. The room was comfortable and clean with all the extras you would want provided including bath robes. The hotel is filled with art work and has lots of lovely rooms to relax in. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel. No problems what-so-ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerJoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am so glad I booked here. It is a little pricey but it is worth it. This Hotel is walking distance to everything and has a wonderful lounge. We had breakfast every morning in there dinning room before heading off to explore and the food was great.

The rooms are very European (smaller then an American hotel room and the queen beds are two single mattresses) but comfy. I have heard complaints about that however this is a European country. my husband and I found the room very comfy.

I love the art every where. The non automatic elevator door took a couple times to get used to. lol though with it only being four flights we mainly just took the stairs.

I do have one tip for those wanting to use the WIFI on an apple device.

you are going to need to change you international settings otherwise you will not be able to connect.

Room Tip: All rooms here are great. We had three rooms on the third floor and they were all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TabibiCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was allocated this hotel as part of a tour and spent a night here at the beginning of my holiday and two at the end. My first night I had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street, from which there was slight noise. For my second stay I went up a floor and overlooked the back which had a more pleasant view of the church and was quieter. The downside was there was a constant hum from an extractor fan at the back of the kitchen and my room was filled with cooking smells in the early morning. The one real downer for this establishment was the lack of black out curtains. Management claimed the existing curtains are blackout but they did little to keep out the summer light.
Room had all the usual toiletries, mini bar, coffee making facilities, comfortable double bed and shower only. Room service was available.
I didn't eat or drink in the hotel as it was only a short walk down the hill to town or past the British
Embassy to the lake.
Breakfast for me was fine with the usual continental selection of breads, cold meats, yoghurt etc with hot bacon, beans and scrambled egg but nothing cooked to order. Tables were shared with your fellow traveller which didn't bother me.
All in all fairly good, ok for a couple of nights but wouldn't set the world on fire.

Room Tip: I would say rooms overlooking the chuch were preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Holt in a single room when my friend missed our flight, and then again at the end of our trip in a double.

I was able to get a single room at the last minute and they let me check in at 11am, which was great considering I just took an overnight flight and needed a nap. Had a single room on the top floor at the front of the hotel. Nice view from here, and the sun shone in the room at 11:30pm. SO if you don't want the sun in your room while trying to sleep in the summer, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

The single was small but had everything you need. The bathroom was nice sized. Free wifi was a plus, but then all of Iceland had free wifi. On the top floor you are able to open the balcony door, which you share with all of the floor, but it also makes the room a little smaller.

The staff was very nice, and mainly saw one guy who was very helpful. Hotel front desk staff seem to work long shifts in Iceland! I'd see the same person morning and evening!

Our double room was on the third floor and somewhat larger than the single. Again, a good sized bathroom and decent closet space.

In both cases, the pillows were not great.

The artwork was EVERYWHERE. Like an art gallery of a hotel. This is not a modern hotel in decor but had lots of interesting rooms on the main floor. The breakfast was the best we had in Iceland with a good selection of what you'd expect from the comp breakfast.

Walk a few blocks out the door and you are in the main part of the city with shopping and restaurants. A few blocks down was a nice pond to get a little exercise. Also nice was FREE parking next to the hotel.

None of this was cheap however. But then Iceland isn't cheap...

Room Tip: Get a room in the front/street side of the hotel if you want to see the sunset in the summer. Top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenbirdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location slightly off centre. Had a room on top floor, very nice view. Evening meal in the dining room was a wonderful experience, albeit food was only OK, and expensive. But breakfast was a disaster: shared tables, limited seating and very poor selection of food. Better off going out for breakfast IMO. Paintings are great, and the bar is lovely. Would stay somewhere else next time. X

Room Tip: Top floor, have dinner once, go out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,125 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,889 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $229 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing