We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here one night at the end of our holiday in Iceland. It is on Bergstadastraeti which runs into the main shopping street in the center of town. It is about a 3 minute walk over to the main street. The hotel has nice rooms, not luxurious or anything but nice, clean, and relatively spacious. It was very quiet. We were in room 405 which is at the back of the hotel, away from the street and we kept the windows open all night and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, too. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again as I liked the hotel and I loved the location. The staff were very nice and they has a locked room for suitcases for the next day after we had checked out but needed to store our stuff before going to the airport.

Room Tip: I liked the room we stayed in - 405 - the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    400
    75
    14
    8
See reviews for
145
535
103
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great find! Lovely bright rooms, smartly laid out, with a great view out west over the city. Very nice king bed -- a relief after ten days of single beds of varying quality in other parts of Iceland.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was equally fine, with all the breakfast fixings we'd come to expect in Iceland. That includes hot house tomatoes & greens, always a nice addition to a meal. One delightful reminder of where we are -- the cod liver oil, together with little shot glasses, right by the orange juice dispenser.
It's a bit odd that the main floor, which includes the dining room, is so very dark, with no windows at all. The hotel makes up for it by having the most amazing art collection anywhere in Iceland. I'd go back for that alone.

Room Tip: Don't know what the views are like from the east facing rooms. If you can ask for a west facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbionPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel Holt is not your average soulless 4 star house; as soon as you step in, one can feel the history and the special atmosphere of the house. The hotel was built by an icelandic art lover family in the 1960's, and it is still run by the same family. They have a great art collection in this hotel, it's worth coming just for that. However, it's not the unusual settings which makes this place special: this is also a place that knows how to offer excellent customer service. The staff is committed and very pleasant. The rooms are of great quality and spotless, the bed was very comfortableand there were nice amenities in the bath room. The price was also very good. The restaurant in Hotel Holt is excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you think you've seen it all, you're wrong. This is a GREAT city, a great country and, more conveniently , a GREAT hotel.

If you're planning to go to Reykjavik, stay here.
If you're not, then please change your mind and GO !!

Enjoy
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

A perfect location off the noisy main streets. The rooms are very comfortable with decent closet and drawer space. Breakfast is good and the restaurant at the hotel is Fabulous. Only negative is they need blackout curtains - especially in the summer when it never gets dark. Wouldn't need them in the winter!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank catjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quaint would be the best way to describe this hotel. The common areas are replete with dark paneling and furnishings while the rooms are small and simply furnished (yet very clean). The bar is small and requires the ringing of a bell to get service from staff in another room but is well appointed with scrumptious leather furniture and interesting art. The appeal of this hotel lies not with it's proximity to town but primarily to the staff...they are friendly and accommodating making it a true pleasure to interact. The rooms are quiet except during the traditional rúntur (weekend pub crawl) but hey, when in Iceland...... All in all, this is a great local hotel, close to the city center, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel in the perfect location, staffed with awesome personnel, and a fantastic breakfast.

The Holt was the perfect hotel for our first few nights in the city. The central location makes it easy to to walk almost anywhere!

The room was comfortable - perfect size for our family of three. We had a jr suite.

I loved the daily breakfast, nice options and plenty of food.

I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kmenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
997 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,601 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing