We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Preferred Hotel in Reykjvik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Preferred Hotel in Reykjvik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The Holt was a very nice hotel. The staff was warm and helpful, and the overnight price included a standard Euro style continental breakfast. The room was smallish, but clean and bright. The lobby was impressive, with several rooms of dark paneled wood or modern wall designs full of leather sofas and chairs. Great place to hang out and drink coffee and write postcards after breakfast as the weather cleared. Amazing art and sculpture throughout the hotel. Easy walk to the downtown area; much quieter than the Borg. Choose the Borg if you want the bigger room, but we liked the Holt better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    376
    69
    14
    7
See reviews for
132
495
96
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just completed a 3 night stay at this well located hotel, just a block from the the German and British Embassies. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The breakfast was great (fruit, fresh eggs, local fish, amazing selection of breads, and strong, hot coffee!!
Needed to work so appreciated the free, password-protected WiFi.
This is not glitzy hotel (still has dark wood panels and an quaint 2 person elevator)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

With anticipation and after reading comments about the Hotel Holt we arrived and were totally
discouraged by our supposed Junior Suite We arrived on a Saturday and were shown what was to be our room. First problem, the bags are not brought to your room. You are left to your own divices (small elevator)! Once in the room the first thing was that the TV did not work. The young man at the desk came up and said, "Oh, I will have the repairman come in on Monday!" NOTE, THAT WAS TWO DAYS AWAY! Next, the light in the entry was out. It, too, was a forward
and undetermined replacement day. Now, Junior Suite had one bathroom on one side of the
room, a bathtub with no lavatory. On the opposite side of the room, a shower, toilet and the smallest sink possible as this area was closet sized. Complaints noted, we were moved into another room where nothing improved. We managed through one night needing rest from our travels and decided this would only be a bad memory of Iceland as a whole.
The lower floors, wood paneled areas, magnificent art are now at a profound disadvantage given the upper floors dedicated to the rest and relaxation of its guests!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 37Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel based largely on the reviews found here. I'm not sure where the gushing reviewers stayed but that certainly wasn't the hotel we stayed at.

Their reservation form asked if there was a special occasion and since it was our anniversary we indicated as such. Not sure why they bothered putting this on the form, as it went entirely unrecognized.

Our room was clean but otherwise entirely unexceptional. We obtained a password for an intermittent wifi signal that was down far more than it was up. If you like to have internet access in your hotel, this is definitely not the place for you.

The staff was pleasant, with the exception of the overnight attendant who was unhelpful bordering on rude.

Based on speaking to other tourists we met, you should be able to find a nicer hotel at a better price.

Go to Iceland, it's magnificent. However stay somewhere else and you might even enjoy your accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Happy_Travels_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you can, try and upgrade to a suite! The views from the balcony were amazing. Great for seeing the beauty of Reykjavik and enjoying the view. Could not have asked for a better location. Easy to walk to downtown and get a taste of what it is like living in the neighborhood's of Reykjavik. Very quite in the evenings. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxs717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Jaxs717

Thank you for your kind review.

We agree, the view from the balconies is great and especially with the midnight sun! Thank you for pointing that out for our future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here in November 2012 for my boyfriends 40th birthday. Such a great little find. Lovely rooms, comfy beds, cosy bar area and welcoming staff. As requested, there was a bottle of champagne on ice when we arrived, and they also left a birthday cake in our room on the day of my boyfriends birthday, which was a really lovely surprise. Location was perfect, walking distance to the main street. I hope to go back here on day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sarah M

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to celebrate your boyfriends birthday at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that we could make your visit special and hopefully it will be a birthday you will never forget.
We look forward to welcoming you back again someday.

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

You cannot ask for a better location and friendlier staff. Within walking distance from the main attractions, yet away from all the noise. Any tours that you need organised was done quickly and efficiently. Received lots of great recommendations for restaurants. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadan0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Canadan0rth

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very lucky with our location and very happy that you enjoyed it and your stay in general.

We look forward to see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing