We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you can, try and upgrade to a suite! The views from the balcony were amazing. Great for seeing the beauty of Reykjavik and enjoying the view. Could not have asked for a better location. Easy to walk to downtown and get a taste of what it is like living in the neighborhood's of Reykjavik. Very quite in the evenings. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxs717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Jaxs717

Thank you for your kind review.

We agree, the view from the balconies is great and especially with the midnight sun! Thank you for pointing that out for our future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    384
    70
    14
    7
See reviews for
134
508
99
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here in November 2012 for my boyfriends 40th birthday. Such a great little find. Lovely rooms, comfy beds, cosy bar area and welcoming staff. As requested, there was a bottle of champagne on ice when we arrived, and they also left a birthday cake in our room on the day of my boyfriends birthday, which was a really lovely surprise. Location was perfect, walking distance to the main street. I hope to go back here on day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sarah M

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to celebrate your boyfriends birthday at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that we could make your visit special and hopefully it will be a birthday you will never forget.
We look forward to welcoming you back again someday.

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

You cannot ask for a better location and friendlier staff. Within walking distance from the main attractions, yet away from all the noise. Any tours that you need organised was done quickly and efficiently. Received lots of great recommendations for restaurants. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadan0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Canadan0rth

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very lucky with our location and very happy that you enjoyed it and your stay in general.

We look forward to see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon, and loved it. The rooms are beautiful and the bedroom and bathroom were much larger than other hotel rooms we had stayed in at comparable prices. The hotel staff was also extremely helpful (we also used the messaging functioning, which was a great way of finding out information before we landed). The hotel is a very quick walk to the harbor and downtown (it took us no more than ten minutes), and most importantly a 3 minute walk from one of the best bakeries we have been to in our lives! Because it is a little removed from the city, the area is very quiet and we didn't have trouble sleeping at all. The paintings and art work in the room and the halls also added something extra. It is like spending the night in a beautiful museum! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street on the 4th floor, which afforded us a lovely view of the large stone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Sarah T
Thank you for your very kind review.

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and it is nice to hear that our staff could help you out. Also, we agree, it does sometimes feel like we're at an art museum and we are very proud of our art collection. It makes us very happy to hear that it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Hotel Holt is small 4* hotel in Reykjavik, only about 200m away from the main street and close to attractions.
Hotel has small, bright, clean and nicely furnished rooms. Room has 2 windows which you can open. You can also regulate 2 radiators.
Staff is very friendly and helpfully.
Breakfast was good, but there was not much to choose from. They make their own bred which was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank popotnik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear popotnik2013

Thank you for your nice review.
We´re glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in March 2014 and, not only did we have a wonderful time in Iceland, the Hotel Holt is the best hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. It is ideally positioned a short walk from the centre of Reykjavik, in a quiet area of the city. Our room was spacious and the beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The en suite bathroom was small, but more than adequate, with a large, powerful shower. The view from the balcony of our 4th floor room, across the roof tops to the sea and mountains beyond, was spectacular.

The staff were all exceptionally polite and helpful and the whole hotel was beautifully clean and elegant, with an extraordinary collection of original Icelandic artwork The Manager was even kind enough to give us a private guided tour of the artwork, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Chambermaids did a wonderful job of keeping our room immaculately clean in a quiet and unobtrusive manner (none of the shouting at each other outside the bedrooms while guests are still trying to sleep that we've encountered elsewhere).

We found the live chat available through the hotel website very useful and used it to ask several questions in the weeks leading up to our trip. We were given lots of very useful advice and links to help us plan our itinerary. Once in Iceland, staff helped us book trips, print our return airline boarding documents and they even gave us complimentary tickets to some local attractions (ask at reception if you would like to go up the church tower, visit a swimming pool or go to a museum).

One slight word of warning - in all the hotels we have stayed in throughout the world any items (e.g. water and biscuits) placed on the tray of complimentary tea and coffee are also free. However, in the Hotel Holt the tray of complimentary tea and coffee in the room had a couple of bottles of water and two packets of crisps on it (replenished daily if consumed) and we found to our cost that they are chargeable in the same way as items from the minibar in the fridge. As these were rather expensive (like all drinks and snacks throughout Iceland) we unintentionally added several pounds to our bill which we didn't realise until check out. To be honest, given the immense professionalism of the staff and their emphasis on customer service, I think if we had made a fuss about this then they would probably have dealt with this fairly. However, we were so impressed with the standard of care and comfort we received throughout our stay that we decided not to even mention it as, despite this, we felt we had received more than our money's worth overall. I'm only mentioning it here so that others do not make the same mistake as we did and can budget in advance for these items if they wish. There are a couple of small supermarkets within a 10 minute walk of the hotel where you can buy these sort of items cheaper too.

Since returning home to the UK, we've told all our family and friends that they must go and stay in the Hotel Holt if they are ever lucky enough to go to Iceland! We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was spacious and had a balcony with a spectacular view over the city rooftops to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nenen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Nenen
Wow, thank you so much for your generous review. We are extremely honoured by your kind words and tremendously happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Holt.

We are so proud of our reception and housekeeping staff and it is very nice to hear that their work is appreciated. We will make sure that your praise will be carried on.

Regarding the snacks and water bottles placed on the coffee trey. I can see how that might cause some misunderstanding and we thank you for pointing that out for us. We are always looking for ways to improve and we will look into this and see if we can make it better. Also, thank you for the tips you are giving our future guests, I am sure they are appreciated.

Hopefully we will see you again and be able to hold the title for “the best hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world” ;)

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

From the very first contact by email when I had an immediate response from Sigrun, the manager, we have been really impressed by the very friendly, efficient, manner that all of the staff have displayed when dealing with anything that they were presented with - from checking a trip time, to advising on possible locations for seeing the Northern Lights, to suggesting places to visit in our hire car etc. This made our entire holiday very relaxed and enjoyable. We found the room and bed to be comfortable and the art work was a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keithmiddleton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear keithmiddleton1

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

It really is great to hear that we have helped you enjoy our beautiful country and we are grateful for the praise you give our staff.

If you’re ever back in Reykjavík we hope we´ll see you again.

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing