We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, no gym currently!”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, no gym currently!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Room was a little bit smaller and more basic than expected but clean. Breakfast was quite reasonable with a good selection. We booked the hotel mainly on the basis that it had a gym. On arrival we were told it was being refurbished but we could use another gym free of charge which was a 30 minute walk away. Seriously?? At least with prior warning we could have booked somewhere else or at least not packed all gym kit. Apart from that I would definitely recommend it for location and helpful staff

Room Tip: 4th floor seemed to have the benefit of balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    392
    73
    14
    8
See reviews for
143
521
102
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spent a few nights here towards the end of March. This hotel is well located about a 5 minute walk from the centre, in a quiet residential area with free car parking, which is ideal for those with a hire car. From outside the hotel looks drab and uninteresting, but once inside it is anything but. The furniture and fittings which are period may not be to everyone's taste but blend in with the wonderful paintings which adorn every free space on the walls. The restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday and so we didn't eat in the hotel, however the breakfast buffet which we did sample was more than adequate.

The staff all speak perfect English and are very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and well maintained (we had a suite with separate sitting area). The only downside was that the fitness room was closed for refurbishment when we were there and so were offered the use of facilities at a local centre but it was 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

There is not much left to praise this superb hotel that hasn't been said already. But it deserves plenty of congratulations. The hotel is well sited near the centre of downtown Reykjavik and has a superb restaurant..The Gallery..The hotel has a unique collection of artworks that cover all rooms and the lobby rooms and is definitely special and lovely. Breakfast is a buffet and ample ,staff are excellent and all speak wonderful English and accommodating, free wifi is fast, rooms are smallish but big enough and all have character that is not to be found in standard American brand hotels. Walk to the Hallgrimskirkja Church and take the lift to the top and marvel at colourful views,visit the new Harpa Concert hall or just get the Grayline tour company to pick you up from the Holt and goto the Blue Lagoon ,Golden Circle amongst many beautiful options. The Holt is great and central..try it..Im going again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I booked a room back in early December for a one night stay in late March. When I double checked my confirmed and paid for room the night before I arrived, I was told they had over booked and I was therefore being moved to another hotel - a lesser grade hotel. It seems from other reviews I am not the only to have been shoved out at the last minute. A great welcome on my first visit to Iceland - I had been looking forward to staying at the Holt but I will not be booking there again. Beware!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank WalmerWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear WalmerWanderer

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your dissatisfaction.

Unfortunately, there was a system oversight on our behalf which caused the overbooking and we are truly sorry for that. It is always sad having to turn people away and we really do try our best to keep the inconvenience to a minimum, for example by letting guests know about it before hand.

As we do not have the details on your case we can’t know at what hotel you stayed at. But if you feel you were not sent to a hotel at the same quality it is because the city had been full, because we always do everything we can to book an accommodation at a compatible or a better grade.

Again, we are sincerely sorry for all inconvenience this caused but hope you had a good time in Iceland. We would love to make this up to you so please contact us directly through our website or live chat, and we are sure that we can figure something out.

Warm regards,
Sigrún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel Holt is not the Ritz but neither is the price tag! It was a very convenient and clean hotel in downtown Reykjavik. Realize, there aren't many hotels in Reykjavik and we were very pleased with this choice.

It is in a prime location....only a 10 min walk to the landmark Hallgrimskirkja church and a 5 min. walk to the touristy shopping street Laugavegur with it's quaint shops and restaurants.

Our stay also included a delicious breakfast buffet each morning. We plan on returning to Iceland because the country was amazing and we will definitely go back to Hotel Holt! The rooms are not very big but it was very clean and it was a terrific buy with the free breakfast!!!!

Room Tip: #1. Chose a room w/o a street view for quiet! #2 Chose double beds... the beds are minuscule and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I liked the greeting, but from there on it was a disappointment. Traveling with my adult son, I was guaranteed a room with two beds. When I arrived, they had only one room left with one queen bed. When I showed them my confirmation, they did apologize and called another hotel to book us a room down the street, but that meant walking to another hotel with luggage in tow, registering at that hotel only to be told that we would be staying in an apartment another few blocks away.

The staff was very nice....but to book a room two months ahead of time, travel to Reykjavik and be told that they did not have a room for us does not make the hotel look very professional.

Again, they did help us get another place. But after a flight to Iceland and a long drive from the airport, the last thing anyone wants to do is find out that our guaranteed room was not available - and then have to haul luggage around town until we finally can get to another room.

To their credit, they did get us a nice apartment through the Odinsve hotel in the heart of everything.

I guess That may be our best option for the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WonderlustTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

First off, Iceland is amazing. This hotel is as well. And its location is absolutely perfect - we walked almost everywhere! Be warned, its amazing location might annoy you on a Friday or Saturday night if you go to bed early (which is a crime in my book, you should be out on Laugavegur! Especially Boston bar with Artur).

But by far the best part of our trip was this hotel - high quality, but very intimate - if you stayed there a week, it felt like family. This was partially due to its small size, partially due to the amazing Galleri restaurant, part due to the great bar and mellow atmosphere around that, but mostly due purely to good old fashioned customer service - Sigrun is a goddess, Sara is as well, and in fact all of the staff were! Im embarrassed but the female names i remember better than the male hehe =)

Many americans look for a massive hotel, practically insulated from all noise/nightlife, with gigantic pools and such that you'll never use anyways. Go to hotel holt immediately, do not pass go. This is where you want to be - in the heart of the action, walking distance, with a staff that knows your name and cares! I hate to single out one all-star among a team of incredibles, but Sigrun is a goddess. Whatever your issue was, she greeted you with a smile, and a solution that exceeded expectations.

If you are not a people person, well the location alone is worth the ticket price - you cant find a better hotel as far as walking to almost everything. If you need a bus (like for the pools or hot springs), walk 4 minutes to not just *a* bus stop, but the mega central bus depot where all lines originate.

We went there "off season" in late feb, early march, and it was hotter than st louis, boston, washington dc, and charlotte all 4 when we landed - it may not get hot, but it also doesnt get that cold either due to the ocean.

Go off season, stay at hotel holt, EAT ONCE AT THE GALLERI restaurant in the hotel, and just have a drink at the bar one night.

Im actually getting depressed typing this - i didnt want to leave haha!

Bless bless,
Matt Paluch

Room Tip: We had a junior suite - it was like having two large rooms. When one of us was tired otr not feelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew_Paluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Odinsve
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
0.2 mi away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing