We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just returned from 4 days stay at Holt Hotel organised by Secret Escapes. Highly recommended, helpful, clean, excellent food in the restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble. If you can reach deep into your pocked then take the Helicopter ride HELO and see some amazing sights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montaguep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Montaguep
Thank you for your kind and direct review.

Glad you like the helpfulness of our reception staff and the cleanliness of our rooms, for which we can thank our great housekeeping staff. We are very proud of all of them!

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Holt as part of a 'Secret Escapes' Package. Although not very attractive from the outside, as soon as you walk in there is a 'gentlemen's club' type feel with leather sofas, wooden panelled walls and lots of art dotted about - My husband felt like he should be sitting down with a cigar and large whiskey!!

The rooms are in a classic style - we usually prefer contemporary but felt this style really suited the hotel. Our room was of a good size although our 'double' bed was actually two single beds pushed together. Saying that, the beds were very comfy. Bathroom was small but adequate, with a very powerful shower which I didn't want to get out of!

We didn't have dinner in the hotel but the buffet breakfast each morning was very nice, with a good selection to suit every taste.

Location was great - down a quiet residential street, it was no more than a 5 min walk to the main shopping street, and everything else, from restaurants, the city centre and the Hallgrímskirkja Church were no more than 10 min walk.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again if we return Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Holidaymad
Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud of our unique art collection and the classic style of the hotel which is turning out to be a rare find here in Reykjavík. Therefore we are glad to hear that the welcoming and unique atmosphere we aim for is appreciated.

Unfortunately we do sometimes have to use two single beds in our Double rooms but we are happy to hear that you got a good night’s sleep in our comfortable beds though.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Holt if you visit Reykjavík again sometime.

Warm regards,
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Efficient, polite check-in. Friendly staff.
On checking out at 0400, whilst waiting for our airport transfer the receptionist offered us juice and coffee which I thought was great service.
Character; the décor whilst possibly not to everyones taste, does give the hotel its own character
Location; quiet, residential back street, yet only a 2 minute walk from shops, restaurants and 10 minute walk from nearby attractions.
For the price, it is excellent value and a great place to explore Reykjavik from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Russell.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you liked the early-bird refreshments, our nightshift staff are very enthusiastic to serve - even in the middle of the night!

Hope you will be able to sleep in next time and enjoy our lovely full buffet-breakfast :)

Warm regards
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights this weekend just gone. What a beautiful hotel! Our room on the 2nd floor was massive! Double bed, separate toilet and a separate bathroom,sofa, 3 leather chairs, 2 tv's 2 desks...Oh could go on! And beautiful art work all over the hotel. Every member of staff we spoke to were very nice and helpful. The hotel is in a excellent position just a short walk into town. We didn't eat here but the food did look delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again:)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and I am very pleased to hear you liked our Suite and the artwork. We say Holt is not just a hotel - it is also an art gallery, housing the largest privately owned art collection in Iceland.

Next time you visit please notify me, I will be happy to give you a guided tour.

Warm regards,
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We think this is the nicest hotel in Reykjavik.

We visited a number of other hotels coming back from tours and decided Hotel Holt is the best located and nicest.

Yes, the rooms are clean, well enough equipped and comfortable. But the staff are delightful; nothing was too much trouble and every thing we asked they seemed keen to help with.

The only hotel that might be equally well located but didn't look as nice was Centre Hotel nearest the concert hall (there are two). Others, i.e. Hilton, were a long way from the city centre.

Room Tip: Try to get a fourth floor room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidStone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear David.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very fortunate to have great team at the hotel who truly enjoy providing good services, a pat on the back gives us boost to strive even harder :)

Hope to see you soon in Reykjavik
Warm regards
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very well located in walking distance of all town centre attractions. Very comfortable room and welcoming staff.

Breakfast is very good and The Gallery Restaurant serves a delicious international Fine Dining menu.

Having walked and driven round Reykjavik and seen the locations of the other hotels, Hotel Holt has got to be one of the best located.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun T, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Christopher,

Thank you very much for giving us your recommendations. Our location gives the advantage of being only a few minutes walk from the city centre and at the same time good nights sleep as we are in a quiet residential area.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Holt.

Warm regards
Sigrún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights on 29th December en route from Seattle to Heathrow. I researched the hotel before hand and booked a great deal through hotwire.
As a solo traveller I had a single room. It was probably one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in but I really liked it. The bed was comfy, the room had everything I needed and a great view of the city was a bonus.
I arrived early in the morning (around 8am) and had emailed ahead to request an early check-in. Although not guaranteed, I was relieved to be able to check-in on arrival and have some breakfast.
Breakfast may seem a little pricey if you are travelling from North America or the UK but Iceland is expensive so it is actually quite a reasonable deal for what you get. I loved having a pot of tea and sitting on a large table enjoying some light conversation with other travellers.
The location is good, quiet but close enough to the main shops and a few local restaurants (try Snaps bistro – 5mins walk away). Overall I had a good stay here and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,797 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,082 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,798 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $228 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 42 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing