We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We got this hotel as part of a package deal. It was simple, but nice and clean. Staff was absolutely amazing. Our flight got in from Denver before 6 a.m. and we arrived at the hotel at about 7:15 a.m. and we were allowed to check in. That, for two very tired people, was the best. The hotel's location as central and close to the main shopping areas in downtown. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front, and the noise wasn't as bad as we'd expected, but if you don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Britt29.

Thank you for the kind words. We are certainly very proud of the service team and how they handle our guests at their most annoyed moments. I am glad you were able to check in early and enjoy the whole stay.

I hope to see you soon again.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    400
    75
    14
    8
See reviews for
145
535
103
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We decided to visit Iceland in November. After much searching I settled on Hotel Holt. It is located on a side street minutes from the main downtown shopping street, in my opinion an excellent location. The hotel is a 4 story 1970'ish building. A boring exterior but nice lobby with great art throughout. Room: One in our party had a single room, basic, small but clean. Our friends had a Jr. Suite, it had a small sitting area with dated furniture. We were upgraded to a suite which was nice and roomy. All of the rooms were very clean and functional. The rooms could use new furniture and an updating. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite. Service: Excellent, always a friendly smile and the front desk, staff were excellent assisting with tour arrangements and answering questions. When we arrived early in the morning tired, we were all offered complementary buffet breakfast which was a nice touch.

On one of our tours we picked up passengers at the Hilton, which was located in a business area of Reykjavik outside of the downtown area. We were all happy we choose a downtown hotel. The Holt is located in a much better area for restaurants, nightlife and shopping. A nice bakery was minutes from the hotel. Summary: An excellent hotel choice in a great city.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite and Suites were nice and functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear LMC_Canada.

Thank you for the lovely words on your stay with us. We certainly agree there are no better options than staying with us.

We are working hard at renovating the hotel and will take a big step in January when we close for a few weeks. I hope you will visit and enjoy the changes we will have made by then.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Returned home today after a four night break in Reykjavik staying at the Hotel Holt. Warm, friendly, very helpful (before departure and while here). Cozy bar, happy hour - worth trying the cocktail of the day. We were given a huge room with separate lounge and separate bathroom and toilet with shower facing the front of the hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it always looked very smart. Our room might have been a little dated but was very comfortable, bath robes, tea and coffee making and wifi. I would recommend stating here, a great base to see some of this beautiful country. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear lizzy068.

Thank you for the wonderful review. I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I can cheer you with the news that our renovations will take a big jump during January when we will close for 3 weeks to do as much as we can at once. A family business always takes longer to renovate but we´re getting there.

I hope to see you again at Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel holt for a long weekend. Positives were the friendliness of everyone that worked there (they really go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible), clean, great location and nice breakfast! Negatives were that we had 2 single beds pushed together and a lumpy pillow - nothing that we couldn't handle though!

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lientje_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Lentje_82.

Thank you for the nice review. Our friendly service team would have been happy to find the right pillow fit for you during your stay. We have several kinds. In regards to the two beds together, we are working on a nicer solution for that issue since we do need to have some twin rooms available at all times.

I hope to see you again soon in Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very clean, and nice hotel. Just 4-5 minutes walking to the main centre of Reykjavik. Breakfast was dissapointing. Quiet and spacious rooms. We never tried the resaurante, which is supposed to be very good. The bar was perfect for a drink prior to going out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JarlAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear JarlAndre.

Thank you for the short and sweet review. I would welcome more specific comments from you on what you found disappointing in the breakfast though. We´re always trying to improve.

I look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After reading the reviews of many hotels in Reykjavik I noticed a commonality that you don't want to stay near the main street, especially on weekends, as the noise level can be very high until late in the night. Hotel Holt is about a 5-10 minute walk from most anything in the downtown area of Reykjavik that a tourist would be interested in and it was very quiet on my Saturday night stay. Although the lobby is kind of dark the room had very good light. Very easy to read at night. The only reason I did not give a 5 star review is because the breakfast buffet, included at many hotels, is about $20 here. I know food is expensive here, but that is just a little pricy. I did not look at the buffet and maybe there were fine and expensive items on it, but still more than the food budget should include.

Overall I would consider staying here if I return

Room Tip: Hotels in Europe tend to be small. The up charge to the next tier is not so much and you will be mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mark S.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. We certainly value our location off the most noisy part of downtown but still close enough to walk almost everywhere.

In regards to breakfast, it is certainly pricy but ours is still the most affordable of all high end hotels in the center. You will be pleased to know that from 1st January, the standard room rate will include breakfast although those who will be on a strict budget will be able to negotiate a rate without it.

I hope to see you soon again at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Holt in November 2013. Picked it after reading Tripadvisor reviews. Not disappointed at all. The hotel is a short walk to the town and close by to some very nice eating places. The hotel itself is a delightful gallery of some wonderful paintings and sculptures.
We chose a junior suite (418) with nice views over the rooftops of Reykjavik. The decor was nice, even with the painting of the faceless lady eating the banana.
Nice buffet breakfast was included the package. Loved the soused herrings which stayed with me all day.
The staff on the desk were wonderful and most helpful.
If you want a middle range priced hotel with a upper range taste of quality this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mike M.

Thank you so much for your review. "THis is the place to stay". That´s all we´re trying to say to everyone. Thank you for making it that easy for the Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
998 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,606 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing