We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Five Star Establishment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Five Star Establishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although we have not stayed over night at the Hotel, we have dined here many times. This is by far the best, most romantic and quietly elegant restaurant in town. Each time we have dined in their beautiful restaurant, our experience was grand. The service and quality is magnificent! The atmosphere is what keeps bringing us back, then add the good attentive service. No doubt that this Hotel will be on our return list when coming back to see family here in Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Joan A.

Thank you for the review. We love that you enjoyed the dining part of the hotel and hope we keep up on the accommodation part as much as we can.
I know the folks running the Gallery Restaurant would greatly appreciate a separate review to help their Tripadvisor rating if you have a minute or two.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    313
    62
    12
    3
See reviews for
104
399
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is so much to say: Long before we arrived, Snorri, the Holt's manager, provided helpful answers to our many questions via email. He was always so responsive.

When we arrived 6 hours before check-in, exhausted from a long red-eye flight, the Holt's staff were very kind and almost imediately provided a wonderful large suite.The suite was very comfortable, with lots of amenities, including a coffee/tea pot, extra coffee and tea bags, and an espresso maker!

The lobby and restaurant are beautifully decorated with a variety of wonderful Icelandic paintings- also the hallways, and our room had lovely paintings.

the buffet breakfast was absolutely scrumptious!- the largest and best we have had in Iceland.

Snorri and his wonderful staff have been incredibly gracious and helpful in so many ways- including recommendations for travel around Iceland. We are now here for a second night at the end of our stay, and we feel very much at home.

We will only stay at the Holt for our future trips to Reykjavik - that is for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear houdi.

I am blushing. Thank you for the kind words about our efforts. It is truly a pleasure to help our guests plan a perfect visit to Reykjavík and guests like you are the reason why hospitality is such a rewarding career :).

We look forward to welcoming you again this winter for the Northern Lights!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 5 nights, bed & breakfast. Hotel was very clean and it was in a great location just a short walk away from town centre.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Nice hotel overall and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SusieLW1987.

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time and I am pleased to see the stay is still fresh in your memory 6 months later :)

We look forward to seeing you soon again!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed hert with the wife fór a week end this winter and suffice to say, Hotel Holt still has it. Fantastic reception service, old but ample room with fine amenities and of course the classical food of Gallery restaurant. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vabychoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear vabychoices.

Thank you for visiting us again at Hotel Holt. I am pleased to see we are not missing a step when it comes to upholding our standards and hopefully we will see you many more times when you are in town.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My family had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Holt! It began before our trip when the staff on the on-line chat corrected a registration mistake made by Travelocity. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms were very nice and very clean. The location was perfect and there was ample free parking. I would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building get the morning light. Stay in the front of the building if you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear lisa p.

Thank you so much for your lovely words. It is our pleasure to help our guests plan and get the maximum enjoyment out of their visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Hotel Holt yet but I used the online chat feature on the hotel's website to ask the guest service agent about various questions about tours, airport pickup, amenities, etc. My agent Anne could not have been any more courteous, professional, and helpful. It was very late in Iceland and I greatly appreciate Anne's help.

All in all, this was an extremely useful feature with fantastic service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kimberly G.

Thank you so much for sharing your satisfaction. We are proud to offer 24 hour service to potential guests as well as guests who have arrived or left. And we are always especially proud to see our team members mentioned for their outstanding service mentality.

We look forward to welcoming you and making your stay memorable.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Brilliant hotel and staff, nothing was too much trouble they even held the shuttle bus back to the airport for us so we could grab an early breakfast. Reception staff helped us choose excursions and gave us helpful local advice. Very well placed for centre of city and close to whale watching and bus excursion locations.
Rooms were spotless and service in the gallery restaurant was excellent
We had a fantastic trip to a brilliant city can't recommend it highly enough
Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter054manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear peter054manchester.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, services and restaurant. I know the Gallery team would love a separate review if you have the time. That would help them with their rating.

We will have our doors open for your next visit to Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,849 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing