We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Holt
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great option in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

From outside the hotel might be a little scary. It's in a very desert street although it's near the city centre and the building is old and ugly.

From inside it's a nice surprise, the bedroom is very spacious, with comfortable beds and pillows, very nice bathroom and shower. The only negative point about our bedroom is that there were many windows and the courtains couldn't dark our room enough in summer.

The breakfast is OK and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are free parking and free high speed internet wi-fi.

It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    383
    70
    14
    7
See reviews for
134
507
98
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We just got home from our first trip to Iceland.
We arrived at the Hotel Holt at 1 AM. I have to admit my initial impression was negative. Our room was small with dated furnishings. The bathroom was better.. After 24 hrs my impressions began to change. Two things prompted this. First the hotel is VERY clean. It is staffed by the best staff I've ever seen in my travels. They were friendly, courteous, and extremely helpfull. This was also true with our contact with them before our visit. They arranged for tickets for a concert at the Harpa (a must see), airport transfers, and distilled water for my CPAP machine. Special cudos to Arite.
The art collection was amazing.
The buffet breakfast was OK but nothing special.
The bartender was fantastic.
Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding.
We left Iceland with a warm feeling for the country, it's people, and the Hotel Holt.
The only negative was the furnishings of the guest-room.
4 star +

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, General Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
I am glad we were able to impress you with our service and quality thereof. While we do continually try to update our furnishings, to do so in one fell swoop would mean putting the room rates through the roof. We would rather take it step by step in a self sustainable way while respecting our roots.

Some furnishings may be considered old but all of them are well maintained and functional. As long as that remains true, we will focus on updating the most important items in the rooms. For example, this month, we are finishing updating the television system. By the end of July, all our guest rooms will be equipped with Sharp flat screen tv´s with USB connectivity to portable devices.

We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Holt again and again in the future.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second visit to Reykjavik and last time we stayed a little bit too far from the city center. So this visit we tried the Hotel Holt, located near the city center. We loved the location. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, The hotel is 5 to 7 blocks from many major attractions, close enough to walk but far enough to not hear any of the all-night revelers that fill the bars and pubs on the weekend.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The hotel itself is filled with wonderful paintings and statues made by local artists and the atmosphere is quite pleasant.

The best thing about our stay was the service! From the moment we checked 'til we returned home, the hotel staff was wonderful. They were polite, friendly, efficient, and attentive. When we asked for an iron and ironing board in the room, it was brought to us in a few minutes. When we called to inquire about getting some ice for drinks we brought to our room, it was hand carried to the door by the desk staff in an attractive container within two minutes. The airline had lost some of our luggage, and when it arrived a few days later, it was brought promptly to our room and the staff inquired after us to make sure we received everything in good order.

We rented a car during our stay. The hotel has its own free parking lot. We never had any trouble finding a place to park.During our stay, we ate one breakfast in the hotel (preferring to explore) and found there to be a fine selection of hot and cold foods. Everything was fresh and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Holt in would both recommend it and return to it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Don't expect anything trendy; it is an oldfashioned, lovely place we enjoy coming back to. This was our second stay and we love the location (5 min walk to everywhere!), the calmness and the very kind staff.
Rooms might be small, we were lucky and got upgraded to a lovely suite. Did not eat at the restaurant this time - but a year ago it was very very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Its was a good experience staying there, every thing you can expect from a 4 star.
OK breakfast but nothing amazing... receptionist and staff very helpful. location very central and close to harbour.
sleep quality is good. comfortable beds. over all it was a good experience staying there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westernsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

First and foremost, anytime one travels abroad, he or she is SO dependent on the help of the locals. The front desk staff was truly accommodating and helpful, no matter how silly a request seemed (such as explaining what key I need to hit to get the @ symbol in an email address). They helped me check on tours and arrange travel to the airport, and recommended great restaurants and assisted me with reservations. Anytime I was leaving the hotel on foot, they were happy to provide walking directions and painstakingly point things out on a map.

Beyond that, the room was nicely appointed and comfortable. It is an older hotel, so the elevator was a riot, but I really appreciated the sophisticated decor and collection of artwork.

The location of the hotel is ideal, as well. You are walking distance to just about everything, and perfectly situated for the day tours... meaning you're neither the first or last one picked up.

I also splurged and got a massage while I was there. They have an option of going to one of the local spas/pools, but I opted for the on-site option. The masseuse was amazing, and it was nice to simply walk a floor up to a small, austere room. It is very functional, so don't expect a full spa at the hotel... it really is just a massage room. But for true R & R for your body, 100% worth it!

My other indulgence: eating in the hotel's restaurant, which lived up to the hype. Wonderful French cooking, and when a complimentary amuse bouche arrived at the table that contained lobster (to which I am allergic), the waiter whisked it away and the chef made me another bite. Kudos!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lo60435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The art collection and artifacts in this hotel are wonderful...it's definitely old-school, but if you're into history and like the feel of being transported a little back in time, it's a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the suites...definitely spacious enough for three. Breakfast was standard. The best part: it was super quiet, yet we were so close to the nightlife...a huge plus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepyplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Property: Hotel Holt
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing